We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite spot marred by comically inept service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
278 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Exquisite spot marred by comically inept service”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Healdsburg, the charming town at the heart of Sonoma, has surprisingly few upscale inns to choose from and two of the finest are in the village center. Madrona Manor is a mile and a half from town on a quiet hill with beautiful views over the vineyards. Our room in the Carriage House (503) was gorgeous with an amazingly comfortable kingsize bed with a stained glass headboard, fireplace and huge terrace. The orchards and gardens were filled with fresh fruits and vegetables for the dining room (which sadly was closed for a wedding party). The rooms and cottages are furnished with fine antiques. All should have been sublime... Until the untrained and amateurish service kicked in. A shampoo container with a thimbleful of lovely champagne...A continental breakfast that would have made a holiday inn blush with embarrassment ... A sink that would not drain... A shower barely big enough for one. Breakfast Sunday morning consisted of a bowl of eggs and stale tortillas that tasted like cardboard. The popover rolls were stale and there were none of the pastries found the morning before. Saturday morning had a delicious quiche, cheese, and some fruit and granola. Not great for the 20 pct that are lactose intolerant. We learned that housekeeping runs the breakfast service - perhaps this explains the clattering ruckus when dishes were cleared from the tables (when they were which was infrequent). When we asked for shampoo we were told the bottles were supposed to have been replaced with larger bottles. A couple nice young women rushed up with 2 shampoos and a bottle of wine ... But no conditioner. We never were told in advance the dining room was closed for the wedding party. Clearly somebody has invested heavily in this place but he or she is not detail oriented and perhaps should spend a couple nights as a guest. They will definitely enjoy the view! In all fairness, we are rooting for this place to succeed -- it is a tarnished jewel that requires a little polish.

Room Tip: Room 503 of the Carriage House has a beautiful terrace with an unobstructed view of the hill behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    58
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
26
190
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just returned from a weekend away at Madrona Manor where we attended the wedding of a very, very dear friend. The grounds at the Inn were amazing and made for a beautiful setting for the wedding and reception. The service at the reception was friendly and professional and the menu, selected by the bride and groom, was first rate. Our major concern was the interior of the Inn. It needs a major refurbishment. The breakfast area was depressing as was the bar area. Our suite was in an outside cottage which was filled with a mix of tired furniture ranging from victorian to early 20th century. The major piece of furniture in the suite was a victorian day bed in our living room which was so large that there was little room for any thing else in the room. There is no way that this Inn should command the prices it charges.Will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllisHillsborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Madrona is a beautiful Inn. We stayed in the main house which was lovely . The grounds were so peaceful and perfect. We read and relaxed on the front porch both days for two hours which was a perfect way to unwind. We loved the location (close to wineries, Healdsburg and Armstrong Woods). I cant wait to return!!!!!

Room Tip: It would be nice to ask for a room that has its own balcony or porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukiah california, usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Quiet, out of the way Inn just a mile from the charming wine country destination town of Healdsburg. It reminds me of being in Europe. The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable, and the grounds are beautiful. There are lovely places to walk and there is even a small swimming pool. I've stayed here a number of times and always found it a lovely place to stay. I have even been given an excellent walk-in rate several times. The breakfast that is included also reminds me of a traditional European experience. The fresh from the oven popovers are quite the treat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leia8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on the first leg of our 10 year anniversary trip to CA. Comparatively speaking, the manor was the best, by far. Old world, Victorian charm without being tired or feeling old. Grounds are kept immaculate and the staff is very client focused. If you're looking for a place to unwind and get away from the hustle and bustle, then this is the place for you. As an added bonus, the wineries near by and the town if Healdsburg are great.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattnamyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is our 4th stay at Madrona Manor, and it was as good as ever. We have stayed in the main house as well as one of the Schoolhouse suites. A perfect way to escape our crazy lives. No noise (no TV), beautiful scenery, fantastic food. What is not to love? Drive the mile to Healdsburg or beyond, but then come back here after your day's journey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MookieHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Set on 8 wooded acres this inviting Victorian Inn exemplifies the luxurious wine country ambience with antique furnishings, cozy fireplaces and comfy king size beds.We were allocated a cottage separate to the main home and it was super quiet and private. If you love to watch TV be warned that they are not in any of the rooms - this did not bother us as we were only there one night. The cottages also have large decks with really inviting furniture - perfect for reading, relaxing or having an afternoon snooze.
The breakfast was generous and there was plenty of it - cereal, fruit, pastries, boiled eggs, juices. The breakfast muffins were all hot and fresh baked from the oven - yum!

Room Tip: Our cottage was lovely but a little dark inside - we had to have lamps on during the day. So it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.5 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.9 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
10.3 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant

Property: Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Address: 1001 Westside Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world-class destination for guests seeking gracious service and luxurious accommodations in the heart of wine country. Nestled in the hills above the Dry Creek Valley of Sonoma County, Madrona Manor is an exceptionally lovely Victorian estate surrounded by eight acres of wooded and landscaped grounds. The Mansion, built in 1881, has been a destination for discerning guests seeking a holiday in the gracious wine country of northern California since 1981. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing