We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect base for wine country travels”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A perfect base for wine country travels”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

There doesn't seem much point to adding to the universal chorus of raves for the Raford, but we'd like to thank Dane and Rita again for another lovely stay. Our first was in December a couple of years ago when things were grayer and wetter out, so we were looking forward to a spring visit and some green on the vines. The weather was perfect for all four days, so we enjoyed time on the porch, reading with morning coffee and chatting with the other guests at wine and cheese time in the late afternoon. The Raford enjoys a central location in the Russian River valley, just off River Road and is near many excellent wineries. The inn has 6 rooms, 2 with king beds, all uniquely decorated. The website conveniently shows each room's availability when reserving. We stayed in the Blueberry room again, which is spacious and comfortably furnished, with a 4-poster queen bed, fireplace and spotless bathroom. One of the highlights, of course, are the creative and filling breakfasts, served at 9am, a great start for a day of touring and tasting. Dane and Rita are knowledgeable and helpful with recommendations and reservations for dinner restaurants. Most are 10-20 minutes away, and they will even provide Mapquest directions. If you're in Healdsburg for dinner (try Scopa!), we suggest driving back via 101 and River Road, as the scenic Westside Road is curvy and dark at night. And if you have to miss the sit-down breakfast on your getaway day due to flight schedules, as we did, you will be kindly provided with coffee and goodies to go! We greatly appreciate Dane and Rita's desire to share this beautiful and historic home with their guests. If you like the Russian River wine country, the Raford is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escargo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
351
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
535 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

It truly was like going home...on our second visit to Raford Inn. The location, about 20 minutes from Healdsburg & Dry Creek Valley, is incredible...the inn sits up on a hill facing 100's of acres of vineyards. The owners Dane & Rita really make you feel welcome. The rooms are spacious & very clean with lots of nice touches. The inn's magic draws very interesting guests, who really get to know each other at breakfast and the wine & cheese hour on the porch every evening. The inn is very attentive to special diets, e.g., home-baked gluten free scones at breakfast. Be sure to eat at some of the nearby "country" gourmet restaurants (such as Corks at The Russian River Winery) as well as the retaurants in Healdsburg (Dry Creek, Barndiva). If you like to bike, rent a bike in Healdsburg at Wine Country Cycling and bike through Dry Creek Valley (anywhere from 15-25 miles). Just be sure to keep well-hydrated in the dry heat...and with the winetastings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I just for back from a weekend getaway at the Raford Inn and I feel more more relaxed and happy than I have in years!! Dane and Rita were like stayin with family, really awesome family you never want to leave! They are so friendly an welcoming that they bring out those same qualities in their guests, so morning breakfast becomes social hour and the evening wine and cheese (not I be missed!) becomes a gathering with friends. And do not miss Dane's tour ! Also, I had a massage in the spa room and was transformed for the next 24 hours. The entire experience at the Raford was heavenly - I can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaiteaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Raford Inn and loved every minute of it. Driving up, we realized we would love the location as it was beautiful-- very peaceful, on a vineyard, etc. We walked in during the afternoon wine and cheese reception and were immediately welcomed by Dane and Rita as well as the other guests. Dane and Rita went out of their way to make sure our stay was everything we wanted--- from making sure we had dinner reservations to giving advice about attractions in the area, and even finding me the emergency room with the shortest wait time in the area when I had an urgent medical issue! They clearly went out of their way for us. Breakfast was spectacular as well, and prices were affordable. I would stay here again and recommend it highly to anyone else visiting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brookeville,md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Rita and Dane are simply the best combination of B & B owners around. I cannot find one negative thing to say about the Inn. Riat and Dane asked us before we left if there were any suggestions for improvements and we could not come up with any. Dan loves his vineyard and even though we visited in early spring before any growth had occurred he still gave us a a vineyard tour, demonstrated his wine making process, and let us sample hsi award winning wines. Rita's breakfasts were superb, including the early morning brown bag departure breakfast. And the happy hour was also outstanding. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loftbrookeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunny west coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Inn is a quiet oasis in a spectacular setting. All of the rooms are very beautiful ( Angelica is our favourite with a wood burning fireplace and private entry and deck). The home made breakfasts are incredible.But what separates this inn from any other is the genuine warmth with which they deliver excellent service! We found ourselves hurrying back from wineries so not miss a minute of their social hour where we all chat about the day!! Rita kept us organized and Dane kept us entertained. They both work very hard to ensure the visit is perfect in every way and yet still have time to get to know every guest! It is impossible to give this inn undeserved accolades.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookeville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just got back from San Francisco and Sonoma County. It was a fantastic trip! We really wanted to stay away from the traditional hotel. We thought it would be a lot if fun to stay at an Inn. After reading everyones review of the Raford Inn we decided to try it out. The reviews were right on. We loved it. Rita and Dane and staff are great! We loved everything about the stay. We especially loved the 5:30 wine and cheese. If you visit it's a must. It was nice meeting the other guest and hearing what they did that day. It also helps on deciding where to have dinner. We learned a lot while sipping great wine. The breakfast was awesome. Everyday was something different. Thanks again Rita and Dane for making this a trip we will never forget. Mary and Larry

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brinkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
8.8 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
8.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
7.7 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg
The Raford Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing