We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn with Wonderful Owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Queenstown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn with Wonderful Owners”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Raford while visiting wineries in the Healdsburg area based on a recommendation from our daughter, who had stayed there previously. Very friendly innkeeper, Tawny, and the owners Dane and Rita made all the guests feel at home. Awesome breakfast made by Tawny and served to all the guests together.

After breakfast, Dane is usually around to give you a tour of his personal vineyard and wine making facility. While you may have had tours at the big places… nothing compares to getting the 'cooks' tour from someone who does it for the love of producing his own wines for himself.

We're looking forward to being back and spending more time in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
358
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Yesterday was my 70th birthday. After a wonderful weekend with kids and grands, we made a last-minute decision to extend my birthday weekend one day longer and found Raford Inn on TripAdvisor, making a reservation for the next night. I was welcomed with a happy birthday wish, a little chocolate cake and a split of champagne. We were offered local wines and delicious cheeses. A few restaurants were suggested, they made reservations at the one we chose. It was perfect. We came home to cookies and fudge. Throughout, we had fun conversations with the innkeepers, Rita and Dane, and staff. This morning, we had a really yummy breakfast (if it were closer, I'd make a habit of their California Benedict), then Dane took us to meet his grapevines. He clearly loves making wine. We learned a lot and got to taste some of his wines. Very special, very fun. The Blueberry Room was spacious, had a fireplace, fridge, beautiful furniture, view of the vineyards in the valley. It was perfect, we left with smiles, a recipe for the lemon-rosemary cookies, and a coupon good for free wine tasting and recommendations for wineries along our route.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The other reviews are correct. You will be very lucky to find another place as good as this -- and you will *never find one better* in my opinion.

Dane and Rita welcome you and introduce you to the refined and peaceful atmosphere of this historic haven. The proprietors and the staff simply could not be nicer or do more for you. Expect to find other refined and interesting guests to stay with and, like we did, expect to extend your planned stay. The wine and cheese, breakfast and conversation are superb. Don't miss Dane's winery (with award winning wine) tour -- I learned more about wine here than at any big winery tour before and I also learned something about the philosophy of life too (yes, really). Note: You have to be checked out, or not yet checked in, to taste the free wine samples.
Dane and Rita can help you find the perfect dining experience and direct you to the (less well-known) local Redwoods and (I suspect) anything else you may need. these are refined, generous and caring hosts.
If all the above does not resonate with you then don't go -- it does, then do not miss it. In the late summer call and ask if you can help with grape harvest.

Room Tip: Each room is historic and unique. Prices vary but any room in the house will be a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staysintheshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stopped in Sonoma for a night on our way to Napa. We felt very welcome when we first arrived and were offered refreshments and then promptly shown to our room. The room wasn't huge but it was all we needed for our stay. The only problem was that the iron they had provided was old and got a little bit of black soot of some kind on my boyfriends shirt. It wasn't a big deal bc it wasn't a big spot and might even come out in the wash. Other than the room was just fine. After we had settled in, we went upstairs for the wine and cheese hour provided by Dane and Rita. We had a glass of wine and a bit of cheese while Dane, Rita and a few of the other guests all chatted about where we were from and what our plans were for the trip. Dane gave us an excellent dinner recommendation for the evening and called to get us a table (even printed out the MapQuest directions for us!).
The next day we checked out and Dane took us on a great tour of the facility and walked us through his wine making operation at the Raford Inn. It was such a great time! This being our first trip to wine country, we found it very neat to learn all about the wine making process. This was a real highlight to our trip!

My only disappointment with the trip was that we didn't stay longer at the Raford Inn! I cannot wait to go back and spend a few more days in Sonoma!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinED919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We enjoyed this beautiful place for one night. Dane and Rita are wonderful friendly people and the perfect hosts. The rooms are huge and decorated nicely, and the view is spectacular. We particularly enjoyed Danes after breakfast wine tour. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommieSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We recently spent a night here and plan to return next year. Rita & Dane and their staff are very welcoming hosts. The breakfast was delicious as well as the wine & cheese offered before dinner. The blueberry room was very comfortable and spacious and full of lovely antiques. The views from this lovely old home were breathtaking and it is very conveniently located to Healdsburg and the dry creek wineries. A highlight of our stay was Dane's post breakfast tour of his vineyard and wine making. We learned so much about how wine is made. I will highly recommend this B & B to my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freeborn, MN
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Raford Inn in the spacious lovely Angelica room. We arrived late and Dane & Rita were there to graciously welcome us. The breakfasts were very tasty and the presentation was beautiful. Everything is exceptionally well maintained and kept up. For us it was a treat to stay in a place that is on the historic registers and, yet be so completely comfortable. Each day Dane, Rita, and the young people who worked for them gave us such good advice about what to do, where to go, have our meals. I know we would have missed opportunities if they weren't there to make recommendations, reservations and directions. Dane did all this for us so we didn't have to spend time taking care of these things ~ we just went and enjoyed. BTW, all their advice was spot on and fabulous. This B&B has a vineyard right out the front door. How nice to see that from the big front porch where we had wine and hors d'oeuvres every evening during happy hour while visiting with the other guests. Dane himself makes wine the old-fashioned way without chemicals, and he took us on a tour of his winery and explained the process. It was a delight listening to him and his philosophy. Also, we took a trip to Armstrong Redwoods State Park and would highly recommend that ~ old, huge, majestic trees. If we come back to wine country, we know we will stay again at the Raford Inn. Thank you again, Dane & Rita, for your wonderful hospitality and sharing your beautiful home with us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlemesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
7.7 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
486 reviews
8.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
7.8 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
570 reviews
7.7 mi away
Haydon Street Inn B & B
Haydon Street Inn B & B
#10 of 16 in Healdsburg
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9418
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Inn b&b
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing