We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Stay in Healdsburg!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay in Healdsburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My sister and I are currently traveling through wine country together and we are having a great time so far! We started along the coast and then headed inland to Healdsburg at which point we checked into The Raford Inn B+B. Upon approaching the property we were in awe of the location - it overlooks a 120 acre vineyard! The landscaping is lovely and is carefully maintained. The house itself has been refurbished but it maintains a classic and historic appearance.

Once we got inside, we couldn't wait to get to our room and get cozy! After meeting with the Innkeepers and getting briefed on the logistics, we went to our room, The Lavender Room, and promptly plopped onto the bed! This room is located downstairs and is a bit more private. It's super clean, cozy and inviting. The bathroom is quite large and the shower is wonderful. Suffice it to say, we really liked our room.

The breakfasts served at The Raford are really fresh, creative and delicious! We enjoyed two breakfasts and the first included coffee, juice, a frittata, fruit and yogurt, sausage and a gluten free muffin. The second included coffee, juice, fruit, a frittata, potatoes, sausage and a salad!

The complimentary wine and cheese gathering, hosted every day from 5:30p-7p, was also lovely. The various wines were delightful, as were the snacks. It was nice to meet the other guests staying at the inn!

I highly recommend this B+B!! If you are considering a trip to Healdsburg this is the place to stay, hands down!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lavender room and really enjoyed it! It was located downstairs and was as a result...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
350
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Raford Inn 2 nights staying in 2 different rooms because there was no one room available for both nights. By the way, if you check availability on the inn's website, it may say there is no availability because there is not one room available the entire time. However, if you try checking availability separately for each night you may see that there really is availability as long as you're willing to switch rooms. The staff were very helpful transferring our luggage and we were so glad we did not let the room switch affect our plans to stay at the inn.

As you will have learned in earlier reviews, Dane and Rita are lovely, warm and welcoming hosts. They made a big difference in our experience at the Inn. The breakfasts were wonderful, I especially liked the raspberry scone with raspberries from the Inn's gardens and the delicious morning glorious muffins.

We stayed in the Blueberry room and Angelica Room. Both were lovely and of course we especially enjoyed Angelica's extra privacy and French doors out onto its own private terrace.

But each room at the inn is beautifully done and it really doesn't matter which one one stays in. My favorite feature of the Inn was the marvelous large porch (with great views) with many options for seating, including the porch swing. It's fun to sit and look out at the vineyards and watch the hummingbirds come to the many hummingbird feeders. In addition, there are some great lawn chairs out on the lawn. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests at happy hour. It was fun comparing notes with interesting folks from around the country and Canada.

The Inn is a good distance from the main road, although two other roads meet in front of the inn so there is some traffic noise. However, there such a great feeling of being out in the countryside that this did not interfere with our experience.

I especially appreciate the ambience both at the Inn and at the superb restaurants the staff recommended when I compare this to the feeling in Napa and the town of Sonoma. The Raford Inn just feels more countryside, more down to earth, more friendly and authentic, and less touristy than the busier parts of Napa and Somona.

We had a delightful time and highly recommend the Raford Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms are all lovely. We didn't spend much time in the room as the porch with views was so invi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol from Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We found the Raford 5 years ago online and chose to get married here. It was quiet and quaint, with an amazing front porch view. We recently returned for our 5 year anniversary. It was refreshing to stay at a place with personality, history and warm, caring innkeepers. It's a great place to stay if you want to avoid Napa and instead visit boutique wineries. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erickaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had the best time at Raford!
We enjoyed the room, (Angelica), the private veranda, and the food was excellent.
The host, Rita and Dane were great too, we also took their private wine tour which was very informative and fun.
We will defiantly return!
Susan & Bryan-Livermore, CA

Room Tip: We stayed in Angelica which I think was their best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Raford Inn in late April for 2 nights as we were visiting family in the Bay area of San Francisco and wanted to spend some time in Wine Country. We have found that we like the Sonoma area the best and love the area of Healdsburg. This was our first visit to the Raford Inn and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Rita and Dane truly make you feel like family from the moment you arrive. All the rooms are beautiful and you will find everything that you need in your room. Wine and cheese time on the front porch each day was such a pleasure. We met some wonderful people staying at The Raford - many of whom have stayed there before. The breakfast both mornings was delicious and we never had to eat lunch as it is indeed plentiful. We just ate a piece of fruit in late afternoon and that held us over until Wine and Cheese on the porch followed by dinner out. Our reservations for dinner were taken care of by staff at The Raford Inn. Jennifer planned our entire day for wine tasting and shared with us her favorite wineries to go to in an area less traveled and the views at some of the wineries were breathtaking. The staff at The Raford Inn are passionate about their jobs. They are not just going through the motions. They are great assets to Rita and Dane as they are as passionate as Rita and Dane about the Inn. Don't miss Dane's tour of his vineyards on checkout day. It is very informative and he lets you taste his wines right from the barrel in their various stages. If you want a great experience and are looking to stay at a B&B in the Healdsburg area, this is the place as it is not to be missed!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely. We were in Sage and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank favoritespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Raford Inn in May with our best friends all celebrating our 60th birthdays. I chose the Inn and wasn't disappointed at all it was just how I imagined it would be. We sat on the front porch each morning and had our coffee and watched the humming birds fly around. Then went into the dinning room for a fabulous breakfast. Each evening wine and cheese was served at 5:30 it was the most relaxful time everyone who was staying at the Inn gathered there and we shared our adventures of the day. Then we all went on our own way to one of the great restaurants in Sonoma Valley. The Inn Keepers Rita & Dane made you feel right at home. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJ1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Raford and found it a very enjoyable introduction to the Russian River Valley. Hosts Rita and Dane and the team there go out of their way to make you welcome and make your stay as pleasant as possible whatever your interests. We stayed in the Angelica room which was beautifully appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and Dane's personal vineyard tour was great fun and interesting too. It was lovely to see hummingbirds and orioles while you enjoy a glass of wine on the veranda chatting with the hosts and other guests.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murphy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
8.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
7.7 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Inn b&b
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing