We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eureka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

The Raford House is really a wonderful place to stay with a lot of history to tell. The owners (Dane and Rita) were very kind and vibrant people. Once you meet them they are instantly your friends. The last stay I had like this was in a nice B&B in northern England (which I would also highly recommend). I enjoyed talking with the owners at the evening wine social, and each morning during breakfast. Which brings me to breakfast….it was wonderful and most days I ate so much I was not hungry for lunch. Dane and Rita made great suggestions on places to visit, and even called in my dinner reservations.
My wife and I stayed in the Angelica Room, and loved it! We enjoyed a fire each night, and the calming atmosphere of the inn. We were so busy visiting wineries and hiking, that we never utilized the spa treatments available….but we will during our next visit.
I highly recommend this inn to anyone who enjoys a good B&B!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestWinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
347
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

I had an interesting experience here. Showed up early, got to see our room, and someone else's as well, not invited by them, but at the insistence of the innkeeper - and our room was well decorated, not contemporary, but that was to be expected. The house was older than I thought it would be, but also, something to be expected from a B&B.

However, when we showed up (early again) for the wine tasting, there were only two nearly finished bottles of wine with an improbable number of people to have accomplished this, and a very congenial innkeeper who could not stop telling stories about the miraculous event of an innkeeper in the past taking wandering travelers into his manger.

Nevertheless, it wouldn't affect my decision to stay here, but I would be a bit wary of judging this place based on the merits of all the other reviews that prominently mention the Innkeepers and their names. Have you ever remembered the names of your hosts at a B&B?? I can't, but a surprising number of people here can.

It is what it is - an older home with a very nice view, located within walking distance of the best restaurant in Sonoma, with very outdated (read: Granny) styling and a home that could use more attention to fixing up than wine tasting.

I'd have to say, I still would recommend it, and we did have a good stay, just with reservations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zamsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

It's hard to top the recent 5.0 reviews, which are accurate and well-deserved. I have stayed at 25+ inns and B&Bs in California and New England, and Dane and Rita are the best innkeepers yet. They are warm, engaging people who delight in sharing the Inn and its history. The location is outstanding, within 5 to 15 minutes of great wineries, excellent restaurants and Russain River recreational amenities. The country setting in the middle of vineyards is a winelover's delight. The rooms are warm and inviting, as are the common areas and the home-cooked breakfasts are wonderful -- even the home-made Zinfandel was surprisingly good. Dane and Rita take great pride in Raford Inn, and they have much to be proud of. Everything about our stay was special.

  • Liked — the innkeepers, the friendly atmosphere and the location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanford-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

Now THIS is how a B&B is supposed to be run.
Dane and Rita are superb hosts provided a "home away from home" feeling. Incredible hospitality, Dane and Rita can help you with dinner reservations and recommend local wineries. The breakfast is outstanding using the finest organic ingredients some from their own property – we were really spoiled. Every room is very unique. There is a beautiful patio overlooks their vineyard, a very peaceful and quiet place to spend an evening drinking some of the finest wines Healdsburg has to offer…especially Dane’s finest estate Zinfandel, which we got to taste as an added bonus - yummy. Dane and Rita really make you feel like you are part of their family. We enjoyed meeting their wonderful staff. Kristin’s amazing Jazz vocal solo on the day we departed. Thank you Kristen! You are one talented lady.
We cannot recommend Raford Inn B&B enough and look forward to more stays as we really loved our stay there. I still can’t stop talking about the place.
Thank you, Dane and Rita, for making our stay simply incredible! I couldn’t have asked for anything more on my birthday.
Lydia & Dave Vernon

  • Liked — The hospitality - Dane and Rita really made us feel very welcomed
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gobez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

My husband and I booked three nights at The Raford for our anniversary and couldn't have asked for a better trip. The views of the vineyard are remarkable and the inn is very centrally located so was perfect for vineyard tours and great restaurants. Dane and Rita made you feel like family the second you walked in the door and are a great resource for things to do in the area. I would recommend anyone stay here for an experience they will never forget.

  • Liked — Very good location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mnm1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

My wife and I stayed for three nights in December 2008 at the Raford Inn. We were welcomed and treated as old friends the moment we stepped in. Dane and Rita went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

I had to make an urgent phone call to Singapore and Dane graciously let me use his phone . Even though I spoke on the phone for 15 minutes and offered to pay for it, Dane refused to accept payment.

The breakfasts conjured up by Dane and Rita were amazing- truly gourmet cuisine. It was great starting every day having breakfast with the other guests. We would then visit a few wineries and return back to Raford Inn by late afternoon. We spent many nice moments in the living room enjoying the fireplace, snacks and drinks. Do ask Dane and Rita if they can let you taste their own Raford Inn Zinfandel- quite amazing !

I would highly recommend the Raford Inn for anyone who values exceptional service and warmth in a vacation getaway.

  • Liked — The warmth and attention shown by the Innkeepers
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2008

We are members of a wine club from San Diego. In Dec 2007, our wine club booked almost the entire house for our first annual trip. We had so much fun and enjoyed the Raford Inn, Dane and Rita, and the surroundings so much, that we immediately booked the entire house for our December 2008 trip. This is now our annual trip. Dane and Rita are great hosts, the home is warm and cozy, the food is delicious, and the setting is sublime. My husband and I have stayed in the Rosemary Room and the Angelica Room. The Rosemary Room is cozy, and The Angelica room is fabulous ... the largest room with a fireplace and wonderful view across the vineyards. This B&B is among the best B&B's we've have ever stayed in, and a great value too!

  • Liked — The setting in the vineyards, hosts, cleanliness, cozy, comfortable, ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrazTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
7.7 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
8.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
6.4 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Inn b&b
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing