We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
San Mateo, CA
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have stayed here on various trips to Healdsburg. When we saw a voucher for $99 for a tuscan room we purchased it. However, when we went to book it, they said they could not honor it even thou it had NOT expired. I talked with the reservation manager and he said they had issues with the voucher company and they not longer accepted them. Period the end. Take it up with them. Period the end. So just a warning to folks buying discounted vouchers for the inn.....you may be sleeping in the parking lot. Disappointed in their customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKtravelers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aarondci, Owner at Best Western Dry Creek Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Readers::

Thank you for taking the time read the above persons review.

This person writing the review was never a guest at our hotel. She is attempting to bad mouth our hotel over a financial arrangement made with a third party vendor.

Our hotel sold rooms at a discounted rate to a third party vendor named Viewpon. Who in turn resold our rooms to interested parties at a greater rate, in order to make a profit. All financial terms made by the purchasers are with Viewpon and not our hotel. This is very similar to offers being made by other companies like Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookings.com, Groupon, Living Social, Travelzoo, ect.

Unfortunately, Viewpon did not honor there contract with the hotel and we were never paid. Therefore, we are unable to accept Viewpon vouchers that they sold to their consumers.

It was suggested several times to the person writing the review that they needed to contact Viewpon for a full refund in this regard, as their financial relationship is with them and not our hotel. We did not collect any money from the person writing the review. So, we are unable to further assist her any further at our level.

We too are extremely disappointed with these events However, until we are paid in full for rooms we sold to Viewpon. We are unable to accept any of the vouchers they sold to their customers.

This is an unfortunate situation whereas there are no winners.

Once the matter is resolved with Viewpon, we will be more than happy to start taking these vouchers again and accommodate all their customers who purchased vouchers from them.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to read our hotel's response.

Sincerely,

Aaron Krug
President and General Manager
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    742
    353
    155
    97
See reviews for
313
1,066
61
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

be sure to ask if your room has a bathroom door. some do not and you could end up surprised. tuscan rooms are more premium, but bathooms lack privacy and are separated from main room with just wooden blinds. other building rooms are a bit run down, but very clean. staff is pleasant and has recommendations for wineries. breakfast is standard best western - eggs (terrible) and basic cereals.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Noreen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aarondci, Owner at Best Western Dry Creek Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Past Guest:

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (707) 433-0300.


Sincerely,

Aaron S. Krug
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Didn't really expect much when we booked it was close to some of my favorite wineries in Sonoma so I took a chance. Stayed in the Tuscany side which had recently been remodeled and had a view over the pool and fire pit area. Wouldn't say that either was awesome but they were both nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a very good experience. Would book again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Crimson1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel was ok. Room was nice, with good recliner chair. Breakfast was very good. Location was nice and convenient to wineries. Pool was frigid, even though said to be heated. Hot Tub was broken. Healdsburg was nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane,New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Close to the freeway but some distance from the centre so travel by car or taxi required,Rooms well provided for-3 chairs and a table in a confined space.Most of the units look out to a covered way which make them gloomy particularly as the lighting inside is only adequate.Nice area outside to have a meal or drinks and a nice swimming pool area.Adequate breakfast but those ghastly plastic utensils and paper cups which most American motels have are not enjoyable to New Zealanders who are used to full kitchens and proper china

Room Tip: look for the rooms in the Toscana wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Good location for exploring Healdsburg. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. There was a nice courtyard with a fire pit where you could eat breakfast outside. However, the property was a bit shabby and in need of a facelift. The maid service was not very timely -- on one day we got back to our room in the late afternoon and the room was still not made up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aarondci, Owner at Best Western Dry Creek Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer:

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I will pass your comments along to our Executive Housekeeper in order for her to make the necessary time adjustments. It should be noted that the Housekeeping staff is here each day until 4pm or later. On sold out evenings, the maids have until 4pm to clean a stay over room. Therefore, having your room cleaned in the late afternoon is not unusual.

Even though you disliked the timeliness of our Housekeeping service. It sounds like you did enjoy your stay on several levels. Therefore, the low ranking of 2 seems a bit low under the circumstances and is a bit confusing.

If I can be of assistance in the future or you are willing to discuss the low ranking, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete your review. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and Best Western.

We hope to see you again soon.


Sincerely,

Aaron S. Krug
President and General Manager
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We reserved our 2 queen bed room several weeks ago in anticipation of our trip to wine country. We got room 110 on first floor by soda machine. Ok - that's fine (kids wanted 1st floor since one hates elevators). The hotel knew, in advance, that we were both Best Western "preferred" members and that there would be 4 people in the room. The room had 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels. The worst part, however, was the carpet embedded with so much dirt and grime that within minutes of getting out of the shower, my kids' feet were actually black. When we later discussed this with maintenance, they said they wash 10-12 room carpets a day but hadn't gotten to that room yet, but that the hotel is always fully booked. (Which means this review will likely be meaningless!) Other problems: when we turned on the HVAC system it sent out odors of mold and something that smelled like urine. Luckily, the weather was cool and we could leave the window open. (Which also meant we were all awakened by the Harley outside our window at 5:30 am. Nice guy.) The pool, at the height of the afternoon heat, had no towels and none of the dirty towels appeared to have been picked up all day. We realize this is just a low-end hotel chain and are expectations aren't as high as they would be for the Ritz! But one does at least expect cleanliness and enough towels for the registered number of guests. Upon checkout, we received an $18 credit. (Our room cost $117 with AAA). Later, after our review on the Best Western site, we were also given 2500 Best Western points. While that's a nice gesture, neither actually recoups us for the crummy night - our 1 vacation day we've taken as a family this summer! (And, BTW, shouldn't those bored hotel desk clerks who stand around all day w/ very little to do use some of that time to check their guest list to see if anyone is a member of Trip Advisor? Don't you think they might do their hotel a favor and ensure those guests have a decent room?) The hotel does have a new building behind the main building that seems to be much nicer. Try to get a room there!

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, don't be on the first floor and/or ask for a room in the new buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVMarinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aarondci, Manager at Best Western Dry Creek Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor readers:

We previously responded to this guest via our Best Western survey site (see below).


Dear Ms. xxxxxx:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I will forward your comments onto bot our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer, so they may take the appreciate action to ensure these incidents do not happen again.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (707) 433-0300.

Sincerely,

Aaron S. Krug
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn

All matters were addressed at the time of check out and via e-mail responses with Management the following day.

With respect to the dirty carpet the guest is correct and her comments are right on. We do our best to get to all the carpets that need daily attention. However, this sometimes is impossible to do our high level of occupancy. The guests comments were addressed with the Executive Housekeeper and immediately attended too.

Our maids are trained to put 3 sets of towels in each room with two beds. Since, our average room with two beds is occupied by 2 or 3 guests. Unfortunately, a mistake was made and the guest only received two sets of towels in your room, even though the guest would have needed an additional set to accommodate a fourth person. I am sorry by calling the Housekeeper to receive two additional sets of towels, this guest felt inconvenienced in any way. However, it is my understanding the additional sets were delivered to the room promptly.

There is no excuse for the pool area not be cleaned on a regular basis. I have already discussed this unacceptable situation with our Chief Engineer and he will be addressing the situation immediately with his staff.

Unfortunately, due to the location of some of our guest rooms, we unable to control noise being generated from the parking lot, as other guests are departing the hotel.

Due to these inconveniences the guest experienced, our hotel offered the guest and additional 10% discount of her already AAA discounted room rate and 2,500 Best Western Reward points which amounted to a 50% discount. Which we feel is fair under the circumstances.

In closing. the guest writing this review implied that my staff should be treating Trip Advisor guests differently than our other guests. I am respectfully disagree with that statement made by the guest. The staff is trained to treat all guests equally under all circumstances. No special treatment is given to any one individual or individual's staying at our hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to read my response. I am more than happy to discuss this and any other concern you might have with respect to this guests comments. Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Sincerely,


Aaron Krug
President and General Manager
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
285 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dry Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dry Creek Inn

Property: Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Address: 198 Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dry Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Dry Creek Inn is the heart of California's famous Wine Country in the beautiful town of Healdsburg CA, just 15 minutes from Santa Rosa. Five minutes from our hotel is the popular Healdsburg’s Town Square, home to many award-winning fine dining and family restaurants and boutique and antique shopping. Over 150 of the renowned Dry Creek, Russian River, and Alexander Valley wineries and River Rock Casino are within 20 minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dry Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dry Creek Hotel Healdsburg
Best Western Healdsburg
Healdsburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing