We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here everytime we go to LA area.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hermosa Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Sea Sprite is perfect for us. We like being on the beach. The view of the sunset, beach and ocean are the best. Many bars/restaurants are in walking distance. Like the beach activities we can watch and enjoy renting and riding bikes on the strand. Plus you can smoke in the room and on the property. The rooms are clean. They either have a full kitchen or at least microwave and fridge. The staff friendly and accommodating. If you are thinking the Hilton it may not be for you. If you are thinking beach cottage you will love it. And location, location, location makes this our favorite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSlikesAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stay at this hotel annually for my friend's birthday pub crawl. While the rooms are modest, it's really the location that makes this hotel shine. It is literally right on the boardwalk. Its location just blocks away from the Hermosa Pier makes it a great, low cost location to stay when visiting the bars and restaurants of the area as you can simply walk back to your hotel when you are done. Keep in mind the hotel is definitely a "value" hotel. The amenities, linens and furniture have some deferred maintenance, but the hotel is always clean. Parking can be difficult, as there is not a lot of space, but the hotel has dedicated parking spaces as well as a nearby, offsite lot. Overall, if you plan on staying in the Hermosa/Manhattan area and want a low cost location to stay, this is your place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenshiroking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have been guests at the Sea Sprite for over 10 years and I must say that each year the motel gets better. The rooms have been remodeled - brand new carpets and bathrooms - and yes they have bath tubs.

The front desk team members are so friendly, helpful and accommodating - BEST service in the South Bay! Their management team is always there to listen to your suggestions and does their best to make you feel at home.

The motel is right on the beach - great ocean views, great location and MOST of all great service - from the housekeeping staff to the front desk staff.

Thanks so much Sea Sprite for making our stay a pleasant one - we are guests for life!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Fantastic location, extremely friendly beautiful sunsets from patio.eats,drinks & shops
5 min.walk away.if the rooms were any closer to the water we would be blowing bubbles.
we will come back again &again & again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have been visiting the Sea Sprite for 25 years. Not a 5 star hotel, but it is clean with daily maid service, you are actually 10 steps to the sand, no other hotel in southern cal can offer that. You get free parking which other hotels charge for, also the layout of the rooms have prevented any burgleries. we just park our car for the week and never drive anywhere, you can walk to vons grocery store and there are 22 resturaunts with in a 50 yard walk. Want a vacation without sight seeing and just chill, this is the place.YOU ARE ON THE BEACH!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank carmen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Awesome views, awesome location, and great staff. If you want to live the California dream then Hermosa Beach and the Sea Sprite are the perfect places to go. The hotel is in the most perfect location, with front ocean views. Perfect to walk next door at the Pier, dinner, surf or just lay on the beach. Hotel has a great staff and made sure my family was taken care off. Love this place. Can't wait to return and enjoy the California Sun.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for all the discounts for the near by restaurants and attractions. great deals. Super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

So I rented an ocean front room for one night, The room is clean and has a LCD flat screen. Other than that im not really impressed. I wasn't expecting much and the one night was just fine. I wouldn't stay here for a week in this room. Some of the other rooms are better and the apartments seem to be nicer. The place has no AC so this would be a problem if I was staying longer. I enjoyed sitting in my room watching the ocean. I would stay again but only for a night then off to a nicer place

Room Tip: get the apartments on the north side they seem nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryannkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
885 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
184 reviews
1 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
0.2 mi away
Grandview Inn
Grandview Inn
#6 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments

Address: 1016 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3734
Region: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: £86 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel has been family owned and operated since 1964. We are located just 5 miles from LAX and about 30 minutes away from all major Southern California destinations such as Universal Studios, Disneyland and Hollywood. We welcome your family to come enjoy the beach with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel And Apartments Hotel Hermosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing