We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand view hermosa”
Review of Grandview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandview Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Reviewed 3 November 2011

really nice place, great service, great price, and great location. I don't think you can find a better deal this close to LAX and one of the best areas to relax, the south bay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel after driving to Hermosa Beach during a mini road trip and first chose to inquire because of the location. We were pleasantly surprised with the great value this hotel offers. The employees (seem to all be family) are very nice and accommodating. The rooms are modern, clean, a great size, and all have balconies. The hotel is steps from the Strand and within walking distance to the busy area in Hermosa Beach. They also don't charge for parking. We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. I didn't think the mattress was very comfortable (kind of soft), but it was not bad.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We never planned on staying in Hermosa Beach. We had no accomodation booked for this night, and our only plan was we did not want to be too far from the LA Galaxy stadium that we had tickets for that Saturday night.

We had planned on staying in Santa Monica, but after stopping at a few hotels and asking prices, it became apparent our budget was not going to get us the level of accomodatin we required, so we decided to carry on along Highway 1 for another 40 mins, and then get any accomodation we could.

There was nothing that took our fancy, and my wife spotted a hotel sign on the map we had on a little road off of the 1. We arrived in Hermosa beach. We drove down the road and spotted the Inn sign down the side road, so I reversed and went to see if they had any accomodation for the night. They did, it was around our budget and the room was huge, nicely decorated, and very modern, and they had covered parking. We decided to stay.

The location for access to the Galaxy is superb. Took us 30 mins to drive to the stadium, and 20 mins to drive home. Perfectly positioned for the following morning for a 15 min drive to get on the I5 we needed for our destination the following day.

The suprise of Hermosa was at night time. A proper little party town. A young crowd - say 18 to 35, but it was a lot of fun. Another suprise little town, which we really loved.

Note we did notice the same as other posters have written, we actually stayed in the room next door to the reception where the family, and workers seem to all be located. However there was no noise to trouble us.

Also someone else mentioned the smell of SEA food in the rooms. We also noticed this, but as the hotel is run by SEA people that should come as no suprise, and we love SEA food, so our only problem was it was making us hungry!

The only strange reaction we got was when we stated there was not an iron in the room, and the response was to tell us where it was located, rather than provide it immediately. However I think it was lost in translation, as the morning after we were offered an iron that was obviously not there!

Would definitely recommend staying here for the budget, and for what you got in the room, and how close it was to all of the things to do.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fats25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Grandview Inn was great!!!

I was supposed to go to Mexico with my friends, but due to a spontaneous collapsed lung I couldn't fly. So, I spent my labor day weekend at the Grandview Inn in Hermosa Beach....All alone.

The Hotel:
Hotel is privately owned and operated... so, that means you can probably bargain with the owner and get a lower price!!! No joke. The rooms are great!! Clean new modern look. Very elegant and simplistic. Metallic floors, huge LCD TV with Direct TV, and the mattress was one of those memory foam mattresses. It was the BEST mattress i have EVER slept on!!! The entire hotel was completely renovated so all the rooms have brand new mattresses.

These rooms looked GREAT! The owners put great shampoo and soaps, and even a Gillette razor in every bathroom.

The Area:
The hotel is literally 20 steps from the beach. The parking is underneath the hotel, so its nice a cool and next door is a rental shop (bikes, surf boards, etc) and next to that is a restaurant. The Hotel is in the happening part of Hermosa Beach. The street next to the hotel has a bunch of bars and restaurants. Starbucks around the corner, market around the corner, beach 20 steps away, surf shop next door.... i was barefoot for 4 days. I walked around barefoot from morning to night.

The Beach:
The beach is great! The women at the beach are ever greater! :) I had never seen so many beautiful single women at the beach before. It was strange, there was probably a 5:1 ratio of girls to guys. The population there is primarily younger, singleish, people.

Overall:
Great hotel, clean, comfortable, VERY big rooms, balcony, great mattress, cool staff, on the beach, next to all the shops and restaurants you need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor to get ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Hotel must have been completely refurbished because some of the older reviews don't coincide. Hotel is very up to date big flat screen, tempurpedic beds, just a very contemporary style to it. FREE PARKING which is very hard to come by in southern California. The beach is right across the street and if you are looking for a little night life action it's only a couple blocks away. Next time I go to Hermosa beach I will hands down stay at the Grandview Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank NYA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I stayed at the GV a couple of weeks ago.
We didnt book this hotel, we just walked straight in and asked if there were any available rooms.
They let us check the rooms first which i suppose is standard practise, as soon as we saw the rooms, we asked thier rates which were very reasonable, and we checked in without any problems, we were only meant to be there for one night, we enjoyed ourselves that much we booked another night.
Rooms are clean, and decorated to a v good standard, could'nt believe they even spent money on Sony Bravia HDTV's in the rooms, Free Wi-FI, Fridge & Microwave in the room also.
Bars, Pubs, Shops, Restaurants all walking distance, highly recommed this place

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalpesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

recently redone. comfortable beds. Clean & nice hot showers. Can't see the beach, but pretty much right on the beach. Great breakfast place around the corner (Good Stuff). Lots of restaurants near by. Beach walk. Free Parking. Great location for a base to work in the LA and surrounding area. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodsman331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.0 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Inn

Address: 55 14th St, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3508
Region: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: £134 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandview Inn is superbly located 70 feet from the beach in the classic Californian beach town of Hermosa Beach in Los Angeles. Miles of sandy beach, safe, friendly community is the perfect place to stay when you visit the Los Angeles area. And The Grandview Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Hermosa Beach. all rooms are non smoking We're in a cozy neighborhood where a quiet street walk meets a charming avenue of shops and restaurants. Almost anything you could need is literally just around the corner: nightclubs, restaurants, dry cleaners, laundry, beauty salon, grocery store and fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grandview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Hermosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing