We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good- but not beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good- but not beachfront”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

To call this hotel "beachfront" is quite a stretch. You can SEE the ocean from the fitness center, but not from our "oceanview" suite. The suite was large with plenty of room, and very clean. The breakfast was lackluster, but the woman working it was working very hard and was extremelly friendly. The walk to the beach was about 10 minutes, which is beautiful once you get there. The hotel itself was very nice, but don't be fooled into thinking it is on the beach!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    164
    45
    13
    10
See reviews for
93
101
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have stayed at this Quality Inn several times, including the weekend my daughter was married. As usual, the accommodation s were great, the staff helpful, and it was easy to get what we needed. It is a great location--we walked to the beach everyday and there are restaurants, grocery stores and other shops nearby. On previous trips we used the local buses and convenient bus stops area in the area. This spot is a winner for us.

Room Tip: We had a handicapped room which was recently redone and very spacious. Despite being near the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kpkdrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Staff very helpful.We have stayed there many times because it is close to everything we need.
The breakfast could be improved. They used to have waffles but no longer. Also the eggs were not appetizing. They could used real scrambled eggs like you find in other hotels or breakfast sandwiches.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 495Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent 3 nights here and was disappointed after reading good reviews on here.
We arrived around 10pm very tired and our welcome from a lady who did not introduce herself was 'cool' at best. I signed a contract to pay a large cleaning fee if I smoked in the room.......on opening the door of room 122 we were met with the stench of stale smoke. I went down stairs and reported this and was met with 'ambiguity'. she said she would make a note so we wouldn't be charged. Oh thanks !
Some light fittings in the room did not work and there was staining and damage to walls and doors but the room and bedding was clean. The location of the hotel is good, easy walking distance to Hermosa and conveniently located for all manner of conveniences. The breakfast was very basic with not much choice but there was a nice outdoor area to sit out on whilst eating.
Overall if you are on a budget and you can get this hotel at a low price then it is adequate but if you find other hotels similarly priced I would try elswhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulevans1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management H, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Evo63,
Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for taking the time to comment. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced; I can imagine your frustration and we will be using your review to implement improvements to ensure we are offering the best service and accommodations to our guests in the future; however I would love to speak with you personally about your experience. Please contact me directly at 310-374-2666.
Kind Regards, Amanda Fulton/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
642 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

While visiting LA, I wanted to be near a nice beach, not too crowded. I chose Hermosa Beach and found that this hotel had a good location, cost within my budget.

The good is that rooms are very, very large. Some have balconies and even ocean views. I asked high floor, ocean view. Fantastic. The only concern is that it was facing street, and you can hear car traffic most night long.

Hotel is located 10-15 minute walk from beach. I actually enjoyed the walk. It is adjacent to a strip mall, there is a supermaket, restaurant, strabucks. Across the road there is a McDonalds, cvs, vons, etc. Walk towards the beach and there are many, many restaurant options.

Internet was free, just ok, slow speed.

Breakfast was basic continental, it was free, so not picky here. Fresh fruit, bagels and yogurt. Eggs did look rubbery precooked, so I stayed away.

Parking is also free.

Rooms have minifridge, flatscreen tv. AC worked fine, not too loud, struggled a little during afternoon, but after sunset, it cooled down. Elevators are ok. Front desk staff is not too friendly, but they do their job well.

The only down side to this basic hotel is that it is a little bit worn down, old, dated. But it is clean. Also, they have to stay off the strong ammonia smelling cleaners, very potent in the lobby.

Basic, great location, large rooms free internet, parking, breakfast. I will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, ocean view. If you are light sleeper, stay off road side since traffic can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I'm a former resident of Hermosa and the location for me is perfect. Because I stay there often I am treated like an old friend when I check in. Some tips: the odd numbered rooms face away from Aviation Blvd so you are likely to have a quieter evening---Hermosa can be really noisy at night. But if you care about something of an ocean view then go with the even numbered ones. But I'm one of those people who goes to bed early and get's up early.
The breakfast is your standard Choice Hotels spread; salty bacon, pre-cooked eggs and that damn waffle maker that screams when your waffle is done. It's better to walk down Pier Avenue to the Source which opens at 7:00 a.m. But the Ocean Diner is practically next door on Aviation.
Anyway, this is my first choice when I return home.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pasquino b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management H, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Pasquino,
On behalf of the entire team, thank you! We are so pleased to be your first choice when coming home to Hermosa and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Very best wishes,
Amanda Fulton/General Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

+ Large comfortable room on a 10-15 min walk from the beach.
We booked the suite, with a nice whirlpool bath (no bubbles). Bathroom is also large with very nice shower. Airco was not noisy.
+ Personnel was nice and helpfull. Tips to eat are Peruvian restaurant when leaving hotel on your right and 50's restaurant on the left.
+ Small pool available
+/- Breakfast is a bit limited, mostly because of limited things to put on your bread.
- No refrigerator in room, while description said it would be.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
0.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 901 Aviation Blvd, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-4019 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites is centrally located in Hermosa Beach, just six miles south of LAX Airport. Our hotel offers spacious, newly renovated guest rooms with an array of amenities from complimentary breakfast to free guest parking. Our friendly staff is knowledgeable of the area and takes pride in offering exceptional customer service. Whether you're taking a family vacation or traveling for business, we offer a variety of room types that are sure to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Quality Inn And Suites Hermosa Beach
Quality Inn Hermosa Beach
Hermosa Beach Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing