We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious food, good service”
Review of Cantina Real

Cantina Real
Ranked #85 of 133 Restaurants in Hermosa Beach
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Upland, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“delicious food, good service”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our service was excellent and the food was delicious. With 8 people at our table, we all really enjoyed our meals. This is a restaurant which values customer service. We had a group of 10 and we nicely accommodated. Wait staff was attentive enough and we received drinks and food in a timely manner. I will definately return to Cantina Real!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank uplcmnm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Light Mexican Fare”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Bottomless chips & salsa! Great start! We ordered the chicken fajitas -- they don't serve fajitas for two, but there was enough to share! A friend ordered the enchiladas -- one bean, one cheese -- and said they were excellent! Good prices, good food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great location for people watching”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Food was good but don't be fooled by 'Happy hour ' prices as this is not what you pay, even so the prices were very good compared to UK prices. Several customers had dogs tied up outside. The waitress made a huge fuss of them patting and playing with them, not sure how hygienic this is......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne_M_H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have frequented this eatery 4 times now. The first three visits were good to the very good. My last visit, however, was memorable in a way you do not want. I ordered the "Special"which was Carnitas, which the server recommended. When the meal came, the Carnitas were dry and old, like they had been cooked the day before and had been sitting out overnight. Anyone just viewing the entree would be able to see the carnitas were uneatable. The plate should have never made it to my table. I took a bite just to see if it tasted as bad as it looked....Yup! Had my daughter taste as well. She took it out of her mouth it was so bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mauisron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
596 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“One of the best crab enchiladas!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This place sits right at the end of Pier Street. I sat outside watching the sun go down. Restaurant looks pretty average but don't be fooled. Food is well prepared with large portions. The crab enchiladas were one of the best I've had. Not loaded with a bunch of cheese but instead loaded with fresh crab. Would recommend. Decent happy hour. $6 top shelf Cadillac margaritas. Will be back next time in Hermosa Beach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina Real also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing