We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best times!”
Review of Surf City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf City Hostel
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Last summer I stayed two weeks at Surf city Hostel and it was one of the best time in my life. It´s so close to the beach and a lot of bars and pubs that changes into nightclubs at the later evening are right there. If you want to surf Manhattan Beach has good waves in summer and fall, it´s next to Hermosa Beach. For small waves Hermosa is good as well. Hermosa Beach is my favourite place in Los Angeles, the lifestyle, nightlife and people are the best. Especially the other travellers I´ve met there are so laid back and awesome, we had an awesome time and I found some new friends. Staff is nice as well and there are some people who really live in the hostel.The Hostel is over the bars so it´s not good for guys who want some rest, but it´s perfect for young people who want to have a good time. I´m coming back home soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacky_flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had the best time at this hostel, it was my favourite hostel experience I've ever had. The location is as good as it gets, basically on the beach and right beside good nightlife. Everybody who stayed here was always down to go to the beach or go out for dinner and drinks. There was a great family environment and I met some life long friends. The hostel is basic but has all the necessities. When all you do is sleep there(because you are busy at the beach and out with new friends) this place is great. There was free breakfast in the morning and two large fridges to store your own food. Mom(the wonderful French lady who runs the place) is amazing, she is always looking out for people and makes sure you are comfortable and are having fun. You can rent bikes for $15/day from the hostel and bike out to Santa Monica(~2hrs) or just ride around Hermosa. I will no doubt be back to hopefully reunite with old friends and meet new ones.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have a view of the ocean! Rooms on the 1st floor have WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I rented a private room with shared baths. THe bathrooms were clean. Everyone was nice. Only thing is it attracts a young party crowd. If you don't mind noise while you sleep you should be fine. I did not see ac in the room, but the night was pretty chilly so I did not need it. Linens were clean and fresh. You are steps to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vilasini108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you want a cheap room right near the beach this is the place to stay. It is not the best hostel in the world however it is an absolute fantastic location at Hermosa Beach (which can make it a bit noisy at night if you are a light sleeper) and far cheaper than any other alternatives in this area so obviously you are not going to get the same quality as a more expensive hotel. The positives other than the location (to the beach, restaurants and bars) were free breakfast, free wifi (which I could get in our room), cheap bike hire (we rode all the way up to Santa Monica and back), clean shared bathrooms and friendly staff. The negatives were a really squeaky bed, noise from the street (which we were expecting due to the location) and only a tiny hang out area - not great for meeting other guests. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I think the higher floors would have less noise (but may not get the wifi).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stop at the location being great everything else was below standard. Shower had a roach in it sink flooded then they had a go at us even though it wasn't either of us that did it. If you're into Latinos the bars down stairs have you covered. Wasn't our sorted place though. Found really good pub up the road straight up pier ave too left if looking for good DJ's and beer's. Standard greatly increased there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I went for my 25th birthday by myself. First hostel experience I've ever had and let me tell you, I had the time of my life. The staff was amazing...I'll forever remember Fab, they did a wonderful job making sure everyone was having a good time and was included. I'll always remember the people I met there. Such a solid group of people. And honestly can't beat the location. Right on the beach, great places to eat or drink. I had the best time and hopefully will be back soon. Thanks you guys for being awesome!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is seriously the WORST hostel i've ever stayed in. The room smelled like a public bathroom, with old sheets and no closet, chair or table. The people working there were really unfriendly, except for the French lady owner. There was no decent place to sit down to meet other travellers, except a little room full of drunk kids and old dudes. By the way, there is two REALLY LOUD BARS on the first floor that makes it impossible to sleep before 02:00 AM. My advice; DON'T GO!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Annabanana20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
337 reviews
1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf City Hostel

Address: 26 Pier Ave, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3760
Region: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: £29 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Surf City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf City Hotel Hermosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing