We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal beach stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal beach stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Beach House at Hermosa is a great choice for staying at SoCal beaches. Well located and just steps off the beach. The staff is very friendly. Hermosa beach is a nice area with many volleyballers, surfers etc. The Beach House is one block from Pier Avenue which is the prime restaurant/bar street. My only complaint is the WiFi could use some upgrading. It would require many log-ons and it could be slow.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms allow you to sleep to ocean sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    197
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
260
315
43
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We wanted a quick and stylish 2 day getaway in Hermosa and the Beach House delivered! We loved watching people go by on the strand, walked to restaurants and bars to meet friends, enjoyed a comfortable beach experience! This was really a treat! The Beach House really made our vacation special!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our first trip to CA since we took our kids to Disneyland years ago. Visiting son and young grand kids nearby for the first time.

Hotel, on the 'strand, "fits." Doesn't have lounge, restaurant or pool like a destination resort; doesn't need such (there are dozens of bars and restaurants at the PIER [a couple of steps away] and the beach on the Pacific is in front of you (and 19 miles long). If you don't want to go to a bar for a drink, the front desk has a full beer inventory and wine by the bottle very reasonably priced.

The rooms, all identical, feel like a two room suite and the bathroom is large and well thought out. There is a built-in desk divider between the bedroom and the living room, which has a gas fireplace, large high quality HDTV (as does the bedroom), sink, refrigerator, microwave, cooking surface, etc. Also, something very seldom experienced, the cabinets were filled with glasses and stemware that was sealed/wrapped. So was the flatware. NICE touch.

For our week ending 5/10/14 we enjoyed the beachfront in 305. Although we were there primarily at night as we were visiting my son's family, it felt like 'going home at the end of the day. And starting each day with a quaint, simple complimentary breakfast in a corner ground room with outdoor patio was perfect; followed by a 10-20 bike ride on the 'strand to get ready to go visit the little ones.

The staff, from the valet to the reservation desk and the manager (Marje) were incredibly friendly. The service, including the daily room care, was excellent. The room was spotless when we arrived, and every day upon our return. Really a nice stay.

It is a bit pricey depending on the bookings for small corporate conferences and related special events, and we are told July and August are top dollar. We will be visiting 3-4 weeks per year for the foreseeable future (all off-season for the Beach House) and hope we can reserve each stay at this property.

Again, simply great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve03247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, MA USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

One of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in, tho' it wasn't your cheap Econo-Lodge. Everything white and spotless, huge bathroom, shower and tub, king bed, nice desk for computer, small kitchenette with microwave, burner, frig, utensils, fireplace, two TVs, luxurious sitting area. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We were in the area a few weeks before our reservation, and a front desk person pleasantly took time to show us some rooms. It's right on the beach. We rented bikes next door, wonderful little hole-in-the-wall restaurant Good Stuff was right next door. The breakfast was a rather standard continental breakfast, but it was free. We loved Hermosa Beach - bike path along the beach, beautiful sunsets. Also had an excellent dinner at Zanes, a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: Water views were very expensive - we were happy with our balcony and alley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeagullInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The property and position on Hermosa beach are fantastic. I was very disappointed with the service and the attitude of some of the staff. Firstly at check in where the lady was very abrupt and seemed not to have any customer care skills.
Also the lack of a bar or proper on site food options was again a negative. Finally the option at breakfast for a basic DIY continental breakfast was a surprise as you would expect full service options when you are paying top dollar for the stay. Also the valet parking is quite punchy. I would look for other options next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The beach and ocean are gorgeous! And the location of the Beach House is perfect; plenty of restaurants and shops you can easily walk to. Beach bike rentals too! The pier is right by the hotel.

I stayed in an oceanfront suite and while the view was very nice I didn't feel comfortable leaving my patio door open at night; the boardwalk is literally right outside the door. I was on the first floor. I did sit out on the balcony a couple of times. It was nice and honestly the people walking/biking/roller blading by were super friendly but there were a lot of ants on the patio so I didn't stay out there.

I highly recommend the Beach House for its great location. Also it was very clean inside and the accommodations inside the rooms are great. I do not recommend staying on the first floor. If you do have to stay on the first floor try to steer clear of the rooms just outside the lobby. There is a LOT of noise from the lobby (even the front desk workers can be heard inside your room). I used a white noise generator on my iPad to drown it all out and that did the trick but it could really be bothersome if you have no way to obscure the racket. There is another building too ... And there are NO ocean views (or any view) from those rooms so be careful about where your room is located if an ocean view is important to you.

Again, I would totally stay here again and do recommend it; just be sure you know what you are getting ;)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room; avoid first floor especially first floor close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
237 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent hotel and location was great. The ocean front room/suite was excellent. The location of the hotel is right on the beach. The balcony was one of the best parts of the room. We would definitely come back to this hotel in the futue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brr4346AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grandview Inn
Grandview Inn
#6 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Property: Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing