We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic greeting & Cottage to match, best ever.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bodorgan, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

K L
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic greeting & Cottage to match, best ever.”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Right from the moment we arrived we knew we were going to enjoy our stay at Carreg Rhys . We were given such a wonderful warm welcome from Fiona and Peter, two of the nicest owners we have ever met. They are very busy working people but they always found time to make us feel welcome and help with any questions.

The cottage is definitely one of the best we have stayed in. There was a wonderful welcome hamper filled with treats and luxuries. Everything was clean and beautifully decorated with lots of homely touches, even vases of fresh flowers. There was a well equipped kitchen with a dishwasher and washing machine, a beautiful bathroom with a huge roll top bath and plenty of hot water. The bedroom was light and airy with a very comfortable king size bed and lots of storage space for our clothes. There was even a flat screen television in the bedroom. This was also our first holiday cottage with a hot tub in the private garden – dressing gowns provided. And what a huge bonus to have a good wi-fi connection.

The cottage is in a quiet location with beautiful views from all the windows, however it is within easy reach of the A55 and several large supermarkets for easy shopping. The village of Malltraeth was within walking distance, (or a quick drive) with an excellent village shop, which not only sold all the basics but also very good fish and chips! There was also a very friendly pub.

The location was perfect for exploring Anglesey with many incredibly beautiful places to visit within a few miles of the cottage. A perfect place for couples, especially dog owners as there are so many good places to walk. Pets are made very welcome and the family have their own very friendly dogs and cat.

This was a truly five star holiday cottage – we will definitely like to return.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A comfortable, homely cottage with the added bonus of being dog friendly and a terrific hot-tub to use after walks along Anglesey's stunning coastal path.

The cottage has everything to make your stay a great one, a well appointed kitchen, a homely log burner and other little details that make it welcoming, not forgetting the thoughtful welcome basket of treats.

A warm welcome from Fiona helped to us to quickly settle in. The cottage is a great base to explore Anglesey and North Wales. Aware that the cottage was in a rural location, we set off early to walk and explore, then had some terrific lunches in great locations such as Rhosneigr, Red Wharf Bay and Treaddur Bay. So many pubs welcome dogs and walkers with muddy boots.

Returning to the cottage to settle in for the evening for wine (would highly recommend the wine shop on the hight street in Conwy), cheese and pate before relaxing in the tub. A great way to unwind from the stresses of everyday life.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, hot-tub and log burner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trickileg...
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Peaceful, but remote.....”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Pet friendly, homely little cottage with fab hot tub. Around 3 mile drive down single track lane with hair pin bends, not for the faint hearted, we really only wanted to brave this once a day, luckily never had to reverse back for oncoming cars, not good for nervous drivers. We ordered a tesco food delivery & even the driver ( who was local to Anglesey) got lost/couldn't find us.

There is really nowhere at all to walk from the cottage, pub/shop/chippy/beach all too far. Maltraeth (local village, but still too far to walk) is a bit dead, nothing there, very residential, in fact, most of this side of Anglesey is very residential, limited pubs/restaurants/shops/anything.

Newborough forest/beach & island is nice on a sunny day, £4 to park, we parked in Newborough village once & walked through the forest, but, be warned, you can get lost so easily in this massive forest as we did & ended up walking for about ten miles!. Caernarfon castle & town nice day out. Snowdon/Llanberris great day out. South stack, great walks.

Cottage itself is very quaint, nice log burner, dining area but very dark downstairs, left the lamps on even during the day. There are no shelves in the fridge so milk often spilled from lying parallel & had to finish the Cava (no hardship) as no upright storage once the bottle is open. NB, there was no freezer compartment in the fridge. There is an eight place dishwasher but still needed to wash up as not enough plates/cutlery really to fill it & we don't particularly like to run an half-empty dishwasher.

There were nice touches like snuggly, warm robes, plenty of towels, scented candles & tealights, even a nice hamper ic milk, cake, biscuits, muffins, bath creme, wine, crisps. There is enough logs/kindling/coal for a couple of nights, The hot tub is lovely & chillaxing after long walks/days out.

Lovely bedroom, king size bed, comfortable/good nights sleep. Nice roll top bath but not able to shower really as no shower curtain. Couldn't get any wifi, I did knock on for help at the main house, but no reply, also a bit hit & miss getting a 4g or phone signal in this rural area, in fact, poor signal on most of the island for O2 network.

Nice to be able to take our well behaved dog, made very welcome by the owners but you won't see much of them as they are at work.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: too remote
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N1082PAka...
Merseyside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A little piece of heaven. Such a gorgeous cottage in a perfect and tranquil setting. The owners. Pete. Fiona (and family) were so welcoming and went the extra mile to make us feel so welcome., even leaving a hamper for our arrival. We both had an amazing time even our grumpy British Bulldog George!! If you are looking for a 'getaway' from it all luxury break (with hot tub) then this is the place. Thank you and we will be back soon, love Karen, John & George Daniels.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davec1961
Hucknall, Notts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“the best cottage we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a very relaxing time at Carreg Rhys. This was greatly enhanced by the warm welcome we received from Fiona and Peter, nothing was too much for them. The generous welcome basket and roaring log fire made a great start to the holiday.
The cottage was lovely with a large lounge with dining area overlooking view of garden, kitchen with all amenities you could ask for, large bedroom with very comfortable king size bed and large bathroom with lovely bath and heated towel rail. There are 2 TVs in the cottage and games, DVDs are provided just in the case the weather is not so good. The views from the cottage grounds were stunning and you had full use of the grounds, great for exercising the dog. The hot tub is a large one, which is great for a couple as there is plenty of room for both of you to lie in there and relax completely and use heat/jets as you wish. The cottage was within easy reach of many lovely places to visit on Anglesey and less than a hour from Llandudno and Snowdonia. We found great beaches at Rhosneigr , Red Wharf Bay and Treaddur Bay. Angelsey is very dog friendly and we found several pubs and cafes where dogs were allowed. We would definitely stay here again the next time we are in the area.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warm welcome from Fiona and Peter, the lovely homely cottage, the stunning views from the grounds and the hot tub
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janette o
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place we've ever rented”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

From the minute we arrived to a fabulous welcome from the great hosts (and finding the log burner beautifully aflame) to the time we left we could find no fault in this cosy, well furnished and thoughtfully equipped cottage. The area is beautiful and we took our dog for some great walks on the beach which was only a short drive away.
My favourite thing was the gorgeous hot tub (huge for 2) and my least favourite was driving away at the end of the break

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind review of Carreg Rhys. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay (we too love the hot tub)! We would be happy to welcome you back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed in this little cottage , took our dog bentley, was lovely , hot tub and log burner made it extra special , it was home from home , owners were lovely couldnt do enough for us , peter even came in his dressing gown to change a light bulb at ten at night , and welcome basket had everything and more , wine beer and radox , thanks fiona ,will definitely be back , if we can get a booking in ! Just loved it could do with going back tomorrow , thanks guys x

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub and location for doggie , even had dog bowls set out , and so clean and looked after
Liked least: not long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. It sounds like you had a brilliant time, we hope Bentley had as nice as time as you did! It's fantastic when the owner is there to help you out and it can make your holiday that bit more relaxing. Hopefully we can find some availability and get you booked in soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.