We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want close the beach and something reasonable, stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun 'n' Sands Motel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you want close the beach and something reasonable, stay here!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

It's very difficult to find something reasonable in Huntington Beach that is close to the beach. Cross the street and your on the beach, a few minute walk to the pier. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. We called the place at 11:30 am, asked how soon they could get us in, they got us in our room at 12. The room was definitely a outdated but was clean, and for the price and location in Huntington Beach... can't beat it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoyageurPourToujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
31
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What's good: It's right across from that beautiful beach, and it's near the pier. There's a little table with chairs for a simple meal, plus fridge and microwave. It's cheap, for Huntington Beach.

What's not: Of all the places we stayed on this trip to California and Las Vegas, this was our least favourite. It certainly wasn't the cheapest. The bathroom is very cramped and you have to ask for a hair dryer. The wifi only works if you walk over to the tacky little office. The decor is dated and the bedding smelled musty and slightly smoky. "Breakfast" was coffee with powdered creamer, and a choice of cookies that looked like fig newtons or cream filled sugar sandwiches. Nothing nutritious there. Some people arrived at midnight and talked loudly right outside our window (meaning, in the parking lot). To let a breeze through, you have to leave curtains open in the bedroom and bath, so light pours in from the parking lot and the side street.

In such a great town we only really needed towels, sheets and a pillow, but you wouldn't want to spend much time in the room. Perhaps we're just getting old and picky (we were young when the Beach Boys got started) but we were glad to move on to Vegas, where our room on the Strip was unbelievably luxurious, and cost less.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenpaddler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

regina
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My wife and I have really enjoyed our stay at this motel. The staff were always ready and willing to assist us with any questions or concerns, and when your from out of town you really feel welcome. This quaint motel offers great location,really good service and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This place was a 3 minute walk to the water. The lady at the front desk gave our children buckets and shovels for the sand, our room had a microwave and they had food right in the office everything was reasonably priced they had surfboards and boogie boards for rent at 1/4th the price at zachs the local board rental shop They had our room reserved the night after we stayed there so we had to move to a diffrent room the second day. She moved our stuff for us all we had to do was pack up. I would give this motel a 8 out of ten only because they didnt have A/C It was nice out but when you close the window and curtain it got hot fast. although it was easily remedeed with one of the two fans they provide all we did was open the door and put the fan on the door frame and the room was cooled down in less than ten minutes. All in all it was a good trip and staying at that hotel made it allot better.

Room Tip: I would stick with the room with the futon if your sleeping on the bed it has a tub not just a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wes l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This place was great. We were going for a quick overnight stay, and last minute. This was the only place that had rooms left, and when we called the lady- Carrie was extremely nice and helpful. I was a bit unsure because of the reviews I had seen, but I figured we aren't going to be in the room much, so what did it matter?

The price of the hotel could not be beat. Literally right across the street from the beach,and the hotel closest to it in price comparison was the best Western, which is right next to it basically. The Best Western was about $35 more though. As far as the room goes, it's not THAT outdated. I didn't find the decor to be 70's or anything like that, it was like any other budget hotel you stay in. It was clean! The bathroom was clean, we just had a tile shower stall, and it was perfect. We had enough room for 2 adults and 2 kids. You also do not need to drive anywhere when you are staying. The Pier is just a few walks down the road. My four year old walked all over just fine, we had the stroller for the 2 year old.

The nice lady at the front desk let us park in the parking lot when we arrived in the morning (we got there at 9AM way before check in) that way we didn't have to pay to park. She was kind enough to call our cellphone and let us know when our room was ready to be checked into. They provide a hose at the front of the property to hose the sand off before you get to your room. I am very thankful for that, the line for the showers was LONG! There are resident cats hanging out in the office which the kids absolutely loved, and there were coffee and pastries in the morning. :)

The one downfall was that there was no air conditioning, we also happened to be there when there was a high heat warning in effect, so that normally wouldn't have been an issue. They do provide fans in the room though, and the windows open, and have screens!

I would definitely stay here again, you can't beat it for the price, location, and the friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

If you are looking for a fancy hotel room with a lot of ammenities, this is probably not the best option for you! The rooms are good size and clean. It is an older motel, there is no air conditioning and you have an actual key for the door. The location is AMAZING. You can walk to the beach which is across the street (literally) and to Main st (just a few blocks away). They have free internet and there is a refridgerator in the room. Make sure to have a quarter for the ice machine as it isn't free. No coffee maker but there are plenty of coffee shops on Main st.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy_SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Nothing fancy but a good room for the price - found the front desk to be helpful. We would stay here again if we were visiting Huntington Beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Huntington Beach Inn
#12 of 21 in Huntington Beach
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
543 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#10 of 21 in Huntington Beach
546 reviews
4.2 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun 'n' Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'n' Sands Motel

Property: Sun 'n' Sands Motel
Address: 1102 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-4817
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun 'n' Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sun 'n' Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun `n` Sands Hotel Huntington Beach
Sun n Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing