We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION 👍👍”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun 'n' Sands Motel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Menifee, California
1 review
“GREAT LOCATION 👍👍”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend it was clean,quiet, & the manager was very friendly. The view of the ocean was beautiful at sunset from the balcony. The location was very convenient we walked to the Huntington pier and shops in less than five minutes. Plenty of restaurants,bars,and clothing stores within walking distance we had a great time and are looking forward to returning next year

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssluvsvms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
31
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich/Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Sun 'n' Sands Motel is conveniently located across the street from the beach and within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The noise from the highway (and other guests) could be bothersome for some travellers (I travel with earplugs). The lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful, and we liked the resident kitties. As for the room, it was a basic room (with a comfortable bed) but the motel is well maintained (wifi was weak though). We appreciated the fresh coffee and little pastries in the morning. The downside was a musty smell in the room, but all in all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

If you are in search for a luxury hotel, move right along, this is not it.
However, if you are looking for a clean, basic motel with a friendly service and free car parking, on the beach-front, within walking distance from the pier and all the shops and restaurants - look no further.
I would stay here again. It was cute. :-)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MSSFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Well we had a great time at this property. Those of you who have tried will know that getting reasonably priced accommodation near the beach, near the centre of Huntington Beach, (Or Newport beach for that matter) particularly on the Pacific Coast Highway itself is impossible!
Therefore the Sun n Sands motel is ideal. If you are looking for a luxury hotel please look elsewhere! However, if you are on a road trip and are looking for somewhere in a ideal location, with access to the beach across the road and Huntington pier and restaurants a short walk away, a place to rest your head with a clean bed and shower then look no further. Carrie was very helpful and there was free wifi and free coffee in the morning, what more do you need?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We seen reviews and thought it could be old but as long as its clean it would be okay for a night or two.
What a dirty dump they advertised for $129 per night, we ended up being charged for $179 night, it was worth $29.00 at the most .
It Is indeed across from the ocean but pretty much everything is in HB within walking distance. I'm not picky as long as its clean, unfortunately the room was dirty & gross, I pulled off the bedspread and the mattress cover had blood stains, the pillows resembled pancakes, the chairs were dirty I don't think they've e been wiped down, the AC was two old fans one that was broken, the TV from the 1977 didn't work the bed was like a inside out hammock in fact our truck was looking more appealing by the minute, we were in room 9 noisy hot and smelly so trying to sleep with an open window was a thought but security non existent . Even the roach motel in the bathroom seemed to be in better condition. My advice is keep moving even it is is only one night.

Room Tip: The parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lordes LakeHawk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Yes, this place is across the street from the water, BUT, the rooms smell & have run down old furniture. NO air conditioning....We were offered a couple different rooms but were able to get a refund & cancel our reservation on the day of check in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karri59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

I love this motel...it is right across from the beach and and 8 minute walk to the pier and down town. The gal at the desk couldnt have been nicer. The rooms were quaint and beachy and very clean.This is the best value in HB. Will definitely stay again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandit0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#12 of 21 in Huntington Beach
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
543 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#10 of 21 in Huntington Beach
546 reviews
4.2 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun 'n' Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'n' Sands Motel

Property: Sun 'n' Sands Motel
Address: 1102 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-4817
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun 'n' Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sun 'n' Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun `n` Sands Hotel Huntington Beach
Sun n Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing