We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveller rating
847
333
67
35
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
847
333
67
35
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour across the street shore break ping pong boutique hotel dog friendly hotel laid back perfect location walk in shower ocean view front desk staff shopping and restaurants loved this hotel s mores valet parking main st self park
Filter
Updating list...
898 - 903 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at the Shorebreak on one of the "Snique Away" promotions. The hotel lived up to it's billing with a very Surf-vibe. The staff were wonderful and the evening wine-hour was great as well. Would stay there again if I ever return to the area.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Huntington Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear andyillinois,

We appreciate the review you submitted to this website. Snique Away is a large provider of business for us here at the Shorebreak. Hopefully you were able to also give them some positive feedback regarding your stay here. Thank you so much for giving us some praise and we hope to see you out here on the west coast again really soon.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect and you couldn't get any closer to the beach unless you actually slept on the beach.
This is a very cool hotel with a total surf vibe which makes you feel like surfing, even if you don't :)
Valet drivers were very helpful with directions and always welcomed us back. Front desk staff worked to get us a good upgrade at a nominal price, which was worth it. Get the room with views of the beach since that is why you're staying there.
Cocktail hour from 5p-6p daily which was very enjoyable. Didn't go to the restaurant/bar but it was very busy so next time we'll go for sure.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emelie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This was a great location and our room had a nice big verandah to watch the sunset from. The free glass of wine each night was also a nice touch. The lack of free wifi was a let down. Especially as we used wifi to book the room. Car parking was also not included. For the price it was a little disappointing.

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Coctailqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Huntington Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Coctailqueen,

Just wanted to send a quick thank you for your short review of the hotel. We appreciate the feedback. I will be sure to let the staff know about your wonderful comments.

I do apologize for the issues with charging for the internet and parking. The wifi and parking fees are right in line with the comparable hotels in the area and we do our best to match or offer a lower price to draw guests to stay with us. We do our best to post this on our website and on all publications. It is also attached to our comfirmation, which is sent to every guest who books directly through our website.

Sincere apologies,

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We booked the Shorebreak over the internet because it touted a great location in Huntington Beach, Ca overlooking the pier. We actually had trouble driving up to it because the entrance is kind of tucked away which ended up adding to it's privacy. Valet parking was the first thing we encountered but other reviews had convinced me to accept this as part of the package in southern California. What helped me with the price was how courteous and professional the valet system was at the Shorebreak. I never had to wait for my car and it one of the very few systems I felt was worth the money. The hotel is a stylish upscale surfer motif. Our room had a nice HD flat screen TV next to a cloth covered bean bag chair! Front desk was always accessible and very friendly, housekeeping was outstanding, security good. Location was perfect for shopping, dining and there is even a brand name pharmacy around the corner. And the pier/beach was across the street, it doesn't get anymore convenient than that. But when it is all said and done, I think it the service, all aspects of service, is what I'll remember and recommend it for.

Room tip: Ocean view is the way to go, nice balcony, but a longer walk from the elevator.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Huntington Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

To jackie049,

A sincere thank you from the staff and valet for your awesome comments about the staff here at Shorebreak. We try so hard every day to building relationships with our guests and it seems we have won you over. AWESOME! Deepest gratitude for the high praises of the staff here at the hotel and in valet. I will be spreading the joy.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This place has it all. The staff at check in were so nice and helpful. The hotel is decorated in young, surfer motif and accents. There is photographic art everywhere, which we loved. There are so many little touches that make this place fun and cool, like the pictures of surfers in a bubble frame with sand inside on every door. We had a room with a balcony view of the ocean. Our bathroom was the best part of the room. It has a large walk-in shower (no door - just a glass half-wall), super huge garden tub, sleek stream lined facilities. We had a large screen TV in our room with HD cable. There is a happy hour in the lobby. The restaurant / bar that is part of the hotel has really great, first-class food. We loved sitting in the outdoor lounge in the center of the hotel that had fire pits and sandy areas. Very cool. The hotel is perfectly placed across from the main pier. There is shopping and restaurants and sushi bars all along the street of the hotel. We loved this hotel and will definitely be back. The only problem of sorts that we had was the parking. On the day that we arrived it was raining, so the hotel valet had moved below the hotel in general parking. We arrived at about midnight with our rental car and parked as we thought we were supposed to do in general parking below the hotel. I guess what we were really supposed to do was to valet park it below with the valet who had moved their operation below (although the valet folks didn't say anything and we didn't understand the procedure). When we went to leave in the car, we were charged for two days (arriving shortly before midnight and leaving at 9 a.m the next morning) which was $40. We worked it out and were reimbursed, but it was not a good surprise.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3skippingtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Huntington Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear 3skippingtown,

What an awesome review of the hotel, minus the parking. I just wanted to thank you for posting a review of your travels to Shorebreak. It appears you had a great time, including at Zimzala the hotel restaurant, which by the way I would agree that it has first class food. I will be sure to post your comments for all the restaurant employees to see.

I do apologize for the parking challenges. It was nice to know we were able to take care of you immediately.

Thanks again,

Paul J, Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews