We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE”
Review of Oceanview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceanview Motel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We also booked on Priceline and did not even get into the room. No office staff for 20 minutes, then when we spoke w/office staff they were rude. Was not given a refund either. Be smart and do not stay here. the scenery is not what you think......shame on you Oceanview Motel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank frances b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    14
    13
    44
See reviews for
12
32
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver,Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here based on suggestions from family members. When we arrived they had just purchased a new key system and had not learned how to make keys so they finally got us a key that worked. The phones did not work and we were not able to contact the other family members staying at the hotel. We were put on a bottom floor with a view of the street. The room smelled of smoke and there was a microwave thrown onto a chair in the corner of the room. The hotel is right on a very busy street and the noise lasted all night. There were no views of the ocean from any floor and it was 2 blocks to the beach across the busy highway. It was within walking distance of some restaurants but they did not look very inviting. The hotel was a long way from Huntington Beach and in fact was on the edge of sunset beach. At 1AM 6 people checked in to the room next to ours and the stereo was cranked all night and rocked the walls. There were people streaming in and out of the room all night and yelling outside of our window despite several request to keep it down. We called the front desk and they did nothing. All 6 were smoking inside and outside of the room. We had reserved 3 nights and only lasted 1. We will not return and could not recommend this to any friends.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one but try to get 3rd floor and at least the noise will not echo off the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scryan7371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Very rude staff, had an emergency trying to reach some family staying here and staff wouldnt even give us their room # so had to drive 2 hrs to get to them instead of just calling and having them head home. Very disappointed and upset with the staff!!!!!!!! Very RUDE PEOPLE

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yolomags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Kind of loud from traffic found a bug in our bedding a cockroach i think and our room was cleaned late like 4 pm and after funding that bug done cleaning and setting up new bedding at 8 pm with no discount or anything. I wont stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Showed up an hour early, was told if I wanted to check in there was a 25,00 fee. I asked what the fee would be to cancel the reservation and the rude lady said full price! Hairs all over the bath tub, door broken off the frame, bugs in the bed. Spend a little extra money and don't stay here

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afailla78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

First, this dump is found in Sunset Beach, it might be in the HB zipcode but plan to go to the water tower in Sunset and you will find it. I called for directions to find a surly woman from a call center who was no wiser until I told her I was passing the water tower (local landmark).
The premises are old and although they are trying hard, it shows. It is cheap, as other people have mentioned, but the inability to sleep (PCH is steps from your door) makes it no bargain.

If you are focused on the beach, it's a fair price for the proximity. Remember however that fellow partyers will make life tough on you late at night as the walls are thin.
Something that creeped me out also was the way that my toiletries were moved out of the shower every day. I got the feeling that my things were examined and to top it off, every evening I came back to find that they had unplugged the fridge even though I had things (beer, juices etc) in there.
The wifi was fast, the room was ok but I will pay more somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: the "ocean view" on the 3rd floor is a "peekaboo" at best. The second floor migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hammer997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Me and my boyfriend were on a road trip through the west coast. We've stayed there for two nights, because of our friends wedding. It was cheap, clean, and close to the beach (and to the wedding :). But I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay. Every morning about 9-11 a.m. the lady who was a manager was walking around the motel and staring through the windows. When I asked her why does she do it - she told me she was checking if there are people in the room, beacuse she wanted to know if they checked out already. It was very stupid - you have the check-in and check-out time - so you don't have to spy on people! That's why I think it was good only for a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#10 of 21 in Huntington Beach
542 reviews
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Huntington Beach
Extended Stay America - Orange C...
#12 of 21 in Huntington Beach
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Harbour Inn & Suites
Best Western Harbour Inn & Suite...
#8 of 21 in Huntington Beach
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
540 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,354 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Motel

Property: Oceanview Motel
Address: 16196 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92649-1808
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Oceanview Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oceanview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanview Motel Huntington Beach
Oceanview Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing