We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what u pay 4”
Review of Oceanview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oceanview Motel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You get what u pay 4”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

good points-bed,location,price,towels,minimally clean,good parking,

bad points-light didn't work above sink,flat screen too small,bathroom clean but tiny,traffic noise when u open window,hard to find,

Room Tip: close to seal beach,charge for checkout after 11 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbluedog65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    14
    13
    44
See reviews for
12
32
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was reading information on Hotels.com, Expedia.com etc regarding this Motel. I called the Motel directly to inquire about "Mandatory" Cleaning Fees $300 listed on the booking websites. Front office person was rude, argumentative, continuously cut me off, and would not listen to my questions. I finally asked her if she wanted me to just book and stay somewhere else instead of discussing it further. She claims I was looking at One (1) bad review, I stated I was not looking at a review but looking at the actual reservation booking sites of Hotels.com and Expedia.com fine print. One bad review does not bother me, it could have been a bad day for that person. However, exhorbitant "Mandatory" fees listed on the reservation booking websites does bother me. Please be cautious about booking this motel. I have stayed here in the past in 2013 with no issues or problems, but if things have changed then I will reconsider and maybe stay elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

Lexington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I booked at the last minute on Travelocity noting this was a 3 star hotel with an Ocean View. This place is a dump. The room smelled terrible, the orange "spa" (in the bathroom that had only 1 dim light bulb working) was something out of the mid seventies. I wore my flip flops to shower, but would no more sit in that bacteria ridden jacuzzi than I would in a sewer. The furniture was broken and there was a gap in the door that could allow all sorts of creepy crawlers in. Ocean View? Hardly.

Just don't.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Littleodelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary. Good place to stay if your not expected extravagant. The people who checked us in/out were nice. The do how ever need a new maid, the shower had dirty spots. Other then that it was okay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Horrible staff, stay away, rude and unprofessional. When i quoted lady the hotel room price she asked for how many people, I replied 2, but she didn't believe me and went to look at the car I was driving. Really? I look up the price online and it was cheaper than what they quoted me in person, so I said it's ok I'll just book it online. They say go ahead and try. While I was booking it on smart phone they have increased it online as well. I mean they have changed it right in front of me, like I couldn't see what they were doing.
So I stayed at the hotel next door.
Too bad for them.

Room Tip: at the other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitri85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek
Level Contributor
151 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wow...what a poor excuse for lodging. They, of course, put a hold on our charge card when we checked in for "incidentals". Except there are no "incidentals." No pay channels on the tv, no in-room bar...nothing extra is offered, yet they take the money and hold it. There was a little dish holding a few dubious-appearing candies in our room and I made certain to photograph it upon arrival in the event they claimed we took any of them.
The room was Spartan. The toilet paper was...get this...MADE IN CHINA. That about sums it up here...except for the fact that it is not a short walk to the beach.
The first place you can cross the Pacific Highway is over .35 miles away and another .4 miles to the beach.
The elevator was out of service and the husband-owner had pieces and tools all over the second floor landing and appeared very frustrated, not to mention unfriendly.
His kids offered to help us with our baggage and then asked for FIFTY DOLLARS. Geesh!
This is the THIRD WORST hotel/motel I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcusCaveCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights, was a bit noisy cuz right by the highway but quite clean and well maintained.
There is an elevator, which is nice when you have a big suitcase and your room is on the 3rd floor!
No oceanview! But at least it's only a quick drive to the laundromat or a grocery store, which is always nice for travelers. On another hand it's pretty far from LA.
In general it was pretty ok, you don't expect a 4 stars when you book a motel but it was pretty good and fair, the microwave coffee maker and fridge come really handy too

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Harbour Inn & Suites
Best Western Harbour Inn & Suite...
#7 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Pacific Inn
The Pacific Inn
#2 of 3 in Seal Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
6.4 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Motel

Property: Oceanview Motel
Address: 16196 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92649-1808
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Oceanview Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Oceanview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanview Motel Huntington Beach
Oceanview Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing