We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort and Setting - Horrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Among the worst customer service experience I've ever had. Front Desk staff is unprofessional and failed to perform even basic tasks. Management failed to respond to any of our concerns. The management team responsible for guest customer service should be sacked.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieIn407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Resort. We apologize for not providing you the level of customer service that is indicative of Hyatt. We were certainly pleased to hear you enjoyed the property itself and hope you will reconsider staying with us at some point in the future. I would love to speak with you directly regarding your experience, so please feel free to reach out to me at any time.

With my best regards,

Eron Hodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,818 - 2,824 of 3,654 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt for a quick anniversary weekend. The location of the hotel is great, right across the street from the beach with a walking bridge to connect you across the road. We checked in early and were upgraded to a partial ocean view if we waited a little bit for a room to open up. This worked great for us as we had some lunch and then our room was ready. The room was very nice and the bed super comfortable. I loved to sit out on the balcony and watch the sunset each night. The hotel has two pool areas, one for the kids with a slide and a more quiet one for the adults. The pool has some seats that look out over the ocean, so nice to not have to get sandy if you don't want to. The hotel offers a shuttle to take you to main street for the shops and restaurants or you can walk. We did both, probably about a half mile each way. We booked a package through the hotel that included breakfast and the valet/resort fees. Those can be a little pricey so this package worked best for us. The second night we were surprised with an amenity, chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. What a nice gesture, we were really impressed with the staff at the Hyatt and plan on traveling to this hotel chain more often based on this experience.

Room Tip: Book a higher floor to have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Last week I stayed here for a night with my friends even though i live only 20 mins away from this resort, I had a venue party here and decided to spend the night for fun, I literally didn't sleep all night cause it was such an awesome and huge resort, it's right in front of the beach and has tons of pools to choose from, the service and area is huge and great, very friendly upbeat staff.. Security is strict to violators too so it's safe around. I overall loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Awesome location just across PCH from Huntington Beach. There is a foot bridge that connects the property to the beach, so no worries about crossing PCH traffic. Service is impeccable. Grounds are lovely. Room was clean, and though I saw many families, it was very quiet at night. It is pricey but worth it. No offsite parking, so $29/day valet is your only option. Nonetheless, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We needed a little water fun to cool off from the heat, so we ventured locally to the Hyatt in HB.
Beautiful property with lots to do with the kids. The water slides were a hit with the kids (and parents) - and the service at the pool cabana was great. Everyone was friendly and accomodating. We ordered food at the pool which was your simple snack food selection, but very good.
We stayed in the Governers Suite which was amazing - right across the street from the beach, and a full blown view of a california sunset from our patio.
Th room was spacious and the bed was big and very comfortable.

All in all - a great local getaway - and the kids had a blast!

Room Tip: Must have an ocean facing room! Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorindaFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and I recently returned from a wonderful vacation in Orange County. We had the opportunity to stay at all 3 O.C. Hyatt Regency properties and the beautiful Hyatt Resort in Huntington Beach was a fantastic and relaxing experience. Being empty nesters we stayed mid week the last week of September and could not have enjoyed our stay more! The pools were terrific relaxing not at all crowded and very quiet, exactly what we were looking for out of this trip.

We had lunch at the pool bar and it was terrific. The pool bar staff is wonderful, very knowledgable and engaging in conversation. The grounds are impeccable, and well maintained. There is a beautiful oceanfront view of Huntington Beach and a pedestrian walkway over PCH takes you right there. I redeemed Hyatt Goldpassport points for our stay. It is always encouraging that when redeeming points it seems that Hyatt goes out of their way to make certain the room is top notch and not awarding a broom closet room, next to the ice machine. I would recommend upgrading, if possible, to their Regency Club floor. The breakfast was fantastic, with hot food, assorted meats, pastries juices etc, and an excellent selection in the evening as well. In the long run, it's a money saver. If you're looking for a first class, beautifully landscaped and large retreat, this is the place. The staff overall is first rate, very professional and very helpful. They exemplify what my wife and I, over the decades, have come to expect at Hyatt properties....first class!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We searched and searched for a hotel along the Califoria coast. We finally settled on the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa and we were not disappointed. We were there with another couple, both celebrating wedding anniversaries and they treated us like royalty. When we checked in, they announced that we had both been upgraded to their premium suites at no additional charge. The rooms were amazing! One morning we saw dolphins swimming in the ocean from our balcony and although all the hotels in this area are on the East side of the main highway from the beach, we still had excellent views of the ocean. The food was pricey but very good and their breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever seen.

Perhaps the best part of the experience is the overall feel of the resort. They have tiki lamps and beautiful grounds. We spent a couple nights in one of their many outdoor hot tubs and were the only ones there. It was an amazing trip and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverJDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
354 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,705 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
596 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,581 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: £192 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing