We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as everyone said.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“As good as everyone said.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This place did not disappoint. We went for a family trip with our 3 and 4 year olds. They loves the easy direct access to the beach, the water slides, and feeding the coys in front of the spa.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear foodie007,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and the activities we offer.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,056
    717
    188
    71
    50
See reviews for
1,260
637
63
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Beautiful grounds, excellent service. Walk to beach or Main Street for food, drinks, entertainment. Weekend Brunch offers optional unlimited Bloody Mary Bar or unlimited Mimosas. Great pool/waterslide for kids.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yKuehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear yKuehn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our service, weekend brunch and activities for children.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I live in LA and spend plenty of time at the beach so the location itself didn't wow me. I am sure for a visitor coming from the heartland this will be a stunning location to be at. My review will focus just on the resort itself.

I have stayed at three Hyatt Resorts and have found them overall similar in amenities. This one impressed me by the service. There is an attention to detail that comes from experienced management that this place gets. For example, I asked for a newspaper in the morning and it was delivered to my door within five minutes. When we checked out, the lady asked us if we would also like for her to call for our car to be brought out of valet. As we left the fellow asked us if we needed directions anywhere. These are the proactive attention to detail behavior that marks a well run hotel. I found this among all the employees I dealt with and it was obvious that they had been well trained in this approach. The other nice thing was that everyone seemed genuinely happy to be serving us. A cheery demeanor goes a long way in dealing with guests.

The biggest drawback that I found was unfortunately the bed and pillows. My preference is not a soft bed and pillows that I drown in like a waterbed. I kept on waking up as my body contorted into strange shapes to fit the bed's fickle nature. I am not sure if this is indicative of the hotel but I found an earlier review describing a similar experience. The other negative was this strange rumbling sound that occurred in the middle of the night almost every hour that sounded like an ice machine going off. Regretfully I did not sleep well at all while we were there.

As my wife and I left we asked ourselves if this was a place where we would come back to for another weekend getaway and the answer was to the affirmative. I suppose that is as good a vote of confidence as any.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblindave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear ramblindave,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you mentioning our dedication to service. Our staff truly cares about the comfort and happiness of each individual guest.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Great hotel, a few blocks outside of Huntigton Beach Downtown but still in walking distance.

The hotel is located at the Pacific Highway, but this is not disturbing. The hotel offers a very nice resort layout with multiple pools, a small shopping arcade and a bridge that directly connects directly to the beach.

My room had certainly 5 star standard and was spotless clean. Only difficulty is due to the size to find you way around the first time.

I experienced the staff as very professional and extremly friendly.

Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a Room facing to the pool and not the the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed in an ocean view room with my 5 year old son and other half for 4 nights. We have a lovely stay, relaxing, quiet and welcomed by the very friendly staff. As we didn't want a huge breakfast everyday the on-site cafe and grocery store was perfect, serving hot drinks, a wide range of cereals for my son that he never gets at home (froot loops, cheerios) and granola and yoghurt for his dad. There is also free 2 hour wifi service there. Also the complimentary pack of 'smores was very charming. There are lots of little nooks with fire-places always lit and fire pits to sit around. Our boy loved the kids swimming pool and also wanted to go in the "bubbles" bath - the outdoor hot-tub with us. At the weekend there were two weddings and one huge conference during the week but the resort is so well-designed that all the big events go on without disturbing you. The location is great. Not too far away to walk to the shops and restaurants for us but we are English and used to walking - 1/2 mile at the most. The beach is just over the PCH on the bridge. The car valets are always helpful and there is always someone opening the front door for you and greets you with a smile. Its a big resort but very well-thought out. Nothing critical to say at all. And we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cockneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa for our Seacret conference and it was lovely. I can't say enough about the stay here. When I arrived, everyone was very friendly and helpful. My room was upgraded for free and the view was WONDERFUL!!!! Our conference room was lovely and well stocked. There were plenty of signs so that we all knew where to go. Room service was the fastest I have seen in any hotel. The food was wonderful and we can tell that there is love in the kitchen. I would happily recommend this hotel to others and stay there again!

Room Tip: When you arrive, ask if they have an upgrade available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed here for two days/nights in September. Having driven by this property so many times living this area, I came upon an actual need for a hotel/resort and quickly thought of this property. If you're thinking of a well maintained hotel with a high-end touch, think no more than the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach.

We booked a standard view room with the internet/parking/breakfast package and were happily granted an upgrade to a partial ocean view room by the pool. You often worry about rooms close to the pool and the noise but the dual paned sliders and sealing kept out any unwanted noises from the pool area or PCH. The room was top notch Hyatt quality - bedding, furnishing, bathroom, shampoo and soaps. The room was well cleaned and maintained daily and I even complimented the female lead of the maintainence team for the excellent service and touch up.

We utilized the pools and numerous hot tubs, water slides, and beach cruiser rentals. The walkway over PCH from the resort to immediate beach access was extremely convenient. And the buffet breakfast each morning couldn't have been more easy or satisfying. Overall, this is an extremely pleasant place to spend a few days truly right at the beach.

Room Tip: Always ask for a free upgrade. You might be very pleasantly surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mashatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A H...
#3 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing