We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was amazing. All of the staff from the front desk, bell service, concierge, restaurant staff were all very accommodating and pleasant. The grounds were beautiful and the restaurants were great. Also, very hard to beat the view of the ocean from almost any place on the hotel grounds. We will definitely return to this hotel and we highly recommend it for families and for a quick get away! Hotel is also centrally located and close to several great restaurants.

Room Tip: Ocean front is always the best. Also, if traveling with children, be sure and ask about the family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,256
    762
    213
    80
    53
See reviews for
1,426
680
65
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed at many Hyatts over the past few years and most of them have been great. This property was one of the best I have been to and my only gripe is that my family and I were only there for one night. It was my wife's birthday weekend so we decided to get away with our two little ones for a night away. When we got to the hotel, we couldn't believe how huge the hotel was! It is definitely a "resort" . Check-in was smooth and when we went up to the room we knew we made a great decision by staying in the Governors suite. The Governors suite was HUGE - almost 1300 square feet, separate bedroom area, living/dining area and 1.5 bathrooms. The room had a great ocean view. Even though the room is overlooking PCH, it was really well soundproofed and we all slept really well. There are 2 main pool areas (one geared more to kids) and a spa grotto! There are also many fire pits around the resort , and we got a smores kit from the onsite store. The hotel also had some excellent restaurants. We at Dinner and Lunch at Pete's restaurant, where we had some of the best fish tacos and wraps that we have had before! We also ate breakfast at the water table, which was equally delicious. There are tons of families at this resort and many told us they were there for 7-10 days!! I now understand why! We will be back and really appreciate the notable staff at the resort, especially Kristine, Venus and Alex making our stay amazing!

Room Tip: Stay in the Governors suite if you're a family of 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CATravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although only staying one night here before our beach house rental was ready, it was very nice. Location is perfect, wonderful view (we had a king ocean view room). Guests were both couples and families. Clean and well appointed. Price good for the area. This is a solid choice for your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live-n-theMoment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful room and views. Very large, spread out property with low-rise 4 story buildings. We stayed on a Regency floor with a well appointed lounge during the appropriate times of the day. Great pools and hot tub. We focused on the main "adult" pool but there are other kid's pools that have multiple slides, etc. Pools close at 10 with multiple fire pits to socialize and warm in the early evening. Did not eat on property so can't comment on food. Only negative - $34 a night valet parking rate on top of the resort charge. There was no option for self park as an overnight guest so this is essentially an additional profit item on top of a $385 hotel room. I don't think it's justified with rack rates already quite high. Still, a nice property with a great Pacific coast location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurnee_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I chose this place based on the reviews and it doesn't disappoint! The hotel is beautiful but beyond that the staff was so friendly and accommodating. If you are looking for a place to get away and enjoy, this is the place. I would recommend not going on weekends if you want peace and quite bc it is very kid friendly. On the other hand, if you have kids this is a great place to go. I can't say enough good things about this place, definitely check out the pool. Will definitely be back later this summer!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel the 2nd week of June.And loved every minute. We loved how close the hotel is from the ocean and the hotel and surrounding areas have so much to do that you don't need a car to get what you need. The staff is very professional and helpful and they keep the hotel clean and beautiful. We can't wait to go back next year...this was our second year in a row going and we highly recommend the hotel for singles as well as families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel the end of June. We were in a deluxe king room with a balcony on the third floor directly facing the ocean across the road. The hotel itself is beautiful with luxurious rooms, lush well landscaped grounds, clean pools and top quality furniture and furnishings. Our room was very spacious and had a mini-fridge (that was empty) and available for our use, efficient air conditioning, a coffee maker with Starbucks coffee, plenty of towels and linens and a large bathroom with a good variety of toiletries plus bathrobes to use. The room was quiet and the housekeeping service was thorough and timely.

We had room service deliver breakfast one morning and the food arrived quickly- sooner than promised- and was hot and tasty.

The pool was clean and heated to a comfortable 82 degrees. There was plenty of wait staff to take food and drink orders, and we enjoyed lunch pool-side.

The hotel is situated directly across from Huntington State Beach, which is a wide and clean stretch of beach. The location is away from downtown and probably too far to walk comfortably under strong midday sun, although there is a $3 shuttle to downtown Huntington Beach.

Where the hotel fell short is in the entire parking arrangement. Parking is valet only (unlimited in/out) and the charge is $34 per day. The process is chaotic, uncoordinated and a complete fiasco. You are hassled the minute you arrive to get out of the car and get moving! We were not even allowed to unload or go into the lobby to check in. On top of this you have no access to your vehicle (or anything in it) after you turn it over to the valet and are forced to cool your heels while they retrieve it for you. Supposedly you can call down and have it waiting for you, but when we did so on the morning of check out a recording simply said they were not accepting calls and to appear in person. There is street parking nearby, but the cost $1.50 per hour and meters are active 5am-midnight, including Sunday and the police actively enforce violators.

Room service costs seem high (especially for breakfast) but not totally unreasonable and there is a daily resort charge of $25. The resort fee includes bottled water, wi-fi, beach amenities and half price bicycle rental and a daily newspaper.

Other than the valet staff, we had only excellent service from the front desk staff, concierge, restaurant and shop personnel and beach and pool-side staff. Everyone was helpful and friendly.
We would definitely return to this hotel, but would try to find some alternative parking arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solperros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
289 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,523 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
543 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,513 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing