We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but Great Management!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but Great Management!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Overall this is a good hotel if what you are looking for is a beach stay. We are from New England where the hotels are right on the ocean so this was a little different [more on that later]. This hotel is right on the Pacific Coast Highway which will give you the area that you want for a great beach stay. The hotel is quite large with 2 pools and large grounds. My first comment is that if you are looking for ocean front, then just know that the highway, beach parking lot and a 1/4 mile of beach separate you from the ocean. That is important if you don't like noise as you could pick a room overlooking the main pool back in the courtyard that would give you the exact same view without the street noise. Would have been helpful if someone mentioned that to us when booking.

As far as the hotel itself, the grounds are beautiful, but big. Make sure to stay close to the main building if anyone has mobility issues. The room we had was quite large with a sitting area and balcony. The bathroom was large too. We did have some issues with hot water being virtually non-existent in the sinks and the room not being made up a couple of times. Our initial attempt to call about the room not having been cleaned was met with a comment from the front desk, "are you sure"? Clearly the staff needs some training. They said that they would send housekeeping right up and 45 minutes later still nothing. While this was unpleasant, the manager, Daniel Gonzalez, was phenomenal. Even though it was our last night he made sure to listen to the issues and made us leave feeling good about the hotel. We are very seasoned travelers and Hyatt is lucky to have him there as we wouldn't have considered returning without his intervention.

As far as the "beach" itself goes, don't be misled by the term oceanfront as it is a hike through the hotel, across a bridge, through the parking lot and across the beach. While the hotel charges a $35 resort fee per day which does get you chairs, umbrella and towels, these are located at the end of the bridge and you are carrying them yourself to the ocean and setting them up. There was an area down at the beach where a couple of kids from the hotel where doing this for you, but there was an additional $20 up charge. While money is not an issue for us this is just overkill on the hotel's part and left an unpleasant taste in our mouth about the beach experience. Not what you you want your thoughts to be of vacation. Speaking of overkill, you should know that they hit you up for $35 per night for parking and there is nowhere else to go.

The hotel is about a mile from downtown Huntington Beach where there are surf shops and restaurants. We do a lot of walking so no big deal, but if you are looking for food alternatives then just know you are taking about a 2 mile round trip walk or driving. The hotel offers great food and less formal alternative like a pizza/sub shop which is nice so that you don't have to leave the property if you don't want to, but again, that isn't close to the beach. There are 2 beach snack bars fairly close and they were decent. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day and had dinner at Watertable, which was amazing. Ask for Sami as a waiter because he was one of the best that we ever have ever had anywhere.

Overall the property is good, the food is good and the manager was Great!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are on the Pacific Coast Highway since the ocean is across the street. Ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RARPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear RARPhantom,

Thank you for providing such great feedback about your most recent experience at our resort. It was particularly nice to get comments regarding Daniel Gonzalez and his ability to turn a negative experience into a positive one. Please know that all of your input is important to us and helps us make future decisions about the resort and what it has to offer. I will be certain to extend a big thank you to Daniel and will relay your sentiments as well.

With my best regards,

Eron Hodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,255
    762
    213
    80
    53
See reviews for
1,425
680
65
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The room and beds were so comfortable. We also
very much enjoyed the Waterfront Restaurant. The food and service were great. We liked that there were plenty of towels at the spas. The grounds were lovely.
Patricia Jackson



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have stayed at the Huntington Beach Hyatt on several occasions and it never disappoints. Service is second to none and the grounds are beautiful.the new bar and restaurant are also a great improvement.the bartenders are professional and friendly. One of the reasons I keep coming back.Jamie, Camille, and Ray are great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I attended a 5 day business meeting at the Hyatt on Huntington Beach and loved most of the experience.
The facility is magnificent, service perfect, and location deluxe. Food deserves it's own mention as it is absolutely superb! Perfect for our company meeting until those of us who are not necessarily children friendly tried to have a peaceful drink in the bar. Children are allowed to run, walk, climb and yell in outside voices in every venue. Didn't work for me, but highly recommend this property for up-scale family vacation spot. Close to beach and absolutely lovely in every way.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DBW0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

So after 2 weeks on the road, we settled for Hyatt Resort Huntington Beach for our 5 day "chillin" stay.
We had a partial room view - good size for a family of four ( boys 14&11) - two large beds, chair, desk and v large TV.
The food and service I found really nice - from more informal bar/Pete's lounge ( where the chips and salsa were fantastic at $6 and the fish tacos were amazing ) to the more formal Watermark Restaurant which served excellent - if not somewhat expensive food - 4 mains, couple of desserts, some wine and cokes $190 - but v good food (we ate there 3 times - v unusual for me to eat so often at a hotel)
The pool was good - slight busy but we always got four chairs - the beach was a short walk over a purpose built bridge - towels, chairs and umbrella all complimentary a nice touch ( but also expected)
So in summary a really good family resort - our boys pooled in morning/beached in afternoon - we fed ourselves very well - yes slightly pricey but food was very worth it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deso2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel was fantastic, we were visiting for a family wedding and had checked into the Hyatt Regency the weekend of the wedding. The view from the hotel to beach which was just across the road was spectacular. Staff were very friendly and attentive when we checked in. The wedding which was also held at the Hyatt was perfect, perfect settings, perfect view. I don't think I have anything bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiaTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here for a business meeting, so I was at the hotel for a week. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The lock on my door broke one day and the staff figured out what was wrong and had it fixed in a jiffy.

The only downside is if you don't have a car, you have a bit of a walk to get to the downtown area. The hotel does offer a shuttle, but it costs $3 and you have to purchase a coupon at the hotel before you leave in order to get the phone number to call. I bought my ticket, but then walked downtown to get some fresh air. But called for a ride back to the hotel so I wouldn't be walking by myself in the dark.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two Eagle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
289 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,522 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
543 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing