We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night,It was awful. I know it was cheap but I did except to be able to sleep, the bed was the most uncomfortable bed that I have "tried" to sleep upon, the owners were unfriendly, more interested in making their chapatis! Too near massage parlours and seedy things, this put. Me out of my comfort zone. Never again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mattvinyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    3
    5
    10
See reviews for
3
3
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What do you expect in a hotel when it's around $55.00 a night 2 miles from the Beach?
Yes, it could have been cleaner, but it was better than I thought it would be. It had a large 42 flat screen TV, with a queen side bed, AC, Heat, refrigerator, microwave oven and again only 2 miles from Hunting Beach Pier. Chris the manager was very nice and professional and did everything for me to make my stay very enjoyable. I would stay there again and again, when every other hotel in the area was twice to 3 times as much... you got to be kidding me.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank 34groj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The pictures of this place are deceiving. First they wouldn't give me a confirmation number for the reservation. The room was disgusting the towels were dirty the beds suck. The lamp shade was missing, holes in the bathroom door, the door knob to the bathroom was broken, the toilet paper was literally tissue paper, it smelled like curry, the wifi didn't work, the toilet seat was broken, the shower was disgusting!!!!! Crayon marks on the doors, the staples on the carpet were out, we went and bought our own sheets,towels and pillow cases we were so disgusted. BEWARE IT'S DISGUSTING

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starlightcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

Indio, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Curse me for not using Trip Advisor when booking this hotel because then I would have known ~ that little restful sleep occurs when sleeping on a poorly covered king box spring ~that a motel in 2012 does NOT provide ANY form of soap ~ that a malfunctioning shower head can and will spray the bathroom, the floor, and the adjoining dressing area in 2.0 seconds ~ that three kinds of bugs (ants, gnats and daddy longlegs) live in hovels in Huntington Beach in November. Beyond that, the door did lock and the taped window kept most of the fog at bay. Glad to leave this one behind. People, please do not make my mistake. Use Trip Advisor EVERY time you leave home.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indio760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Overall a good stay.. Friendly staff and clean rooms but quite far away from the beach and "mainstreet" with all the restaurants and shops.. Really liked Huntington beach itself, awesome beach and lots of great restaurants!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofiabeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We joked about how bad it was... We survived... Most Surrounding Hotels are very expensive... so we were glad to at least have something... The WiFi worked and no extra charge for it.... Old round Tube TV with broken DirecTV - he came and fixed it though. The Kicker - there was pistachio shells all over the mat and the walkway in the front of our room, we asked if they would sweep them up - they swepped up some of them - Hilarious, like - you cant sweep up all of them. We never did get rid of all the pistachio shells at our front entrance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

The outside looked nice/average. They only had 1 room left and it was a smoking room. I don't smoke but he was nice enough to let me look at the room to check it out. I did a quick look just see how bad the smell was and it wasn't that bad. He told me it was going to be 84 but gave it to me for 75.
I really should of took a better look at the room first. But it was a Friday night and everything else around was sold out or close to 200. for the night. They offered free HBO but there was no channels at all. So no t.v
I didn't feel comfortable sleeping there. It felt dirty. The walls looked dirty. The shower curtain was filthy and so was the window curtain. Counter tops and desk looked dirty. The towels looked stained and had hair on them. The window had duck tape around it. The peep hole had toilet paper in it. The bathroom window had no window! Someone could crawl through it if they wanted to. I really don't like leaving bad reviews but I do hope the owner will look at this and actually try to put some effort into making this place better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank floracupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Huntington Beach
Quality Inn & Suites Huntington ...
#15 of 21 in Huntington Beach
247 reviews
4.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Huntington Beach
Extended Stay America - Orange C...
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Inn Motel
Beach Inn Motel
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
13 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#10 of 21 in Huntington Beach
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 18382 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-1311 (Formerly Starlight Inn)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing