We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get-away ~”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend get-away ~”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The wife & I rode out bicycles down the Santa Ana River Trail from Corona and wanted a place to stay Saturday night. Room #9 was GREAT--!!! Big Shower, very clean room - comfortable settings with an ocean view... We locked our bikes up down stairs with no problems, we felt very safe. Highly recommended-!!!

Room Tip: Room 9 is the best view - big room - big shower -
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Mark H,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
Room 9 is indeed a good beginning for a nature trip like yours. The reclaimed wood decor is the first step to the enjoyment of the green culture of southern California and Huntington Beach.
We are grateful for your visit, and hope to host you again soon. Next time perhaps you will have the opportunity to explore other amazing bike trails in the beautiful sea scapes and nature preserves of our town.
Please take care,

L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    98
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
104
103
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The place is pretty good. BUT at 11 am sharp management comes knocking and yelling at every door that it's checkout and to get going. Very rude very unprofessional no class. For this reason alone I will never stay again or recommend. My wife and I were blown away that they did that, same with some of the other guests.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nice people clean rooms. Just a short walk from everything you would possibly want to do. The beach pier and Main St only steps away. Amazingly Beautiful view of the morning beach from room #9. We will see you again soon HSI!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is close to everything! A great staff and home like expierence! I was little late getting in and i got a call to make sure everything was ok. Very clean and the pictures are just what you get. It's a small not chain unique hotel. MUST Stay and check it out.

Room Tip: Pick what room looks fun as small hotel and all different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Tammy J,
Time has indeed flown by since your family has stayed with us.
The entire staff of the Inn want you to know that we appreciate your very kind review and for pointing out that our pictures are quite accurate in depicting the rooms. No Photoshop that's for sure!
As a tiny lodging in a popular tourist destination the Inn has to double the effort to compete with the national chains that dominate the business. You and your family's encouragement are the fuel that propel us forward indeed.
Thank you once again, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you soon.
L Han
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We only stayed 1 night so did not get to enjoy the Surf Inn I was looking forward to. Major construction going on and they probably should not have been receiving guest. We were not informed of construction until the day before our arrival. Change of room (no big deal to us). Except the next morning the sawing began at 800 am and we could literally open our room door and touch the saw without leaving the room. The room they gave us looked just like the picture except they were not the standard queen size beds 60 inches x 80 that we were use to. Maybe doubles? I woke up in the middle of the night and was cold. Could not figure out how to get the heat on (air condition was not on) so finally put on a sweatshirt and sweatpants to stay warm. Due to the size of the beds probably would not return although may recommend to someone who does not mind a basic no frills room. Location was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JettaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear JettaSeattle,
Thank you for taking the time to contribute your review.
We are a small, intimate property and are certainly trying to remodel and improve to serve our guests better this year. We are sorry that your stay was affected by aspects of this effort. The measurement you gave were correct for your queen beds, and our mattresses from Ikea have queen or king certification.
One of the advantages of a small inn is that we are easily available to help you if you have any questions about the operation of devices in your room. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future.
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

located on the beach, the owners will help you to appreciate the city and the history, not only the beach to visit. the rooms are on the way to be renewed and the surfing style is very nice. I would go back very soon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francois_France2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Francois,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your patience with us during our recent efforts to make the Inn an even better place for all of our guests. Your next stay will be a fantastic experience with great fun and great value, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel had everything we were looking for... price, cleanliness, close to the beach, shopping and eating and something with a local feel. The Surf Inn is very unique and close to all attractions. We didn't use our rental car one time after we checked in. Owners are very sweet and helpful. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Look at the pics and choose your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 702daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear 702daniel,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
You are right in that we are blessed to be so close to all the main attractions of Huntington Beach. With our free parking, our guests don't have to worry about in/out privileges or the extra cost of leaving the cars in parking lots while they enjoy a day at the beach or at other establishments like restaurants or shops.
We hope that you will have the opportunity to revisit, especially after our recent remodel.
Please take care!
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#12 of 21 in Huntington Beach
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
543 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#10 of 21 in Huntington Beach
546 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Property: Huntington Surf Inn
Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing