We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect beach surf stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntington Surf Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect beach surf stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great laid back hotel with unique artwork by pro surfers just a 5minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Huntington bars and beaches. You're better off here than the over-priced resort hotels. Free car parking, cool staff and owners!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    94
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
98
95
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

It takes a certain kind of person to appreciate a hotel like this. Everything about it was like you were staying with friends at beach house. Managers are down to earth, the vibe is low key,rooms are clean and location doesn't get any better. I look forward to returning. :)

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 were right next to the hotel deck which was perfect for hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitney u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear whitney u,
Thank you very much for your kind words and your recent stay. You are 1000% right about our place, and we are so grateful for that!
The entire staff of the Inn wants to give our guests the fun beach house experience of the carefree life of Southern California sun, surf, and sand, and to combine that with the best in customer service items like beach gears, Wi-Fi, and parking. Our guests have typically become friends, and your return visits are something we dearly look forward to as the chance to revisit and catch up with each other.
In that thought, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you soon.
Take care,
L. Han
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We would both like to thank Danny and his wife Barbara for being so easy going and super helpful. The hotel was in a great location: just across the street from the beach, a few streets away from Main Street, a 7-11 right there for our morning coffees, a CVS pharmacy a block away where you can get great prices on wine, munchies etc. We rented bikes from Mike (ask Danny) to get us to Newport. The Inn is a rarity as it's still in theme with what I'd expect to find in a surfer town. It's the only one of it's kind. Even if you are used to the cookie cutter model of the chain hotels, you won't be disappointed with this place. It's clean, cute, safe, and we'd love to go back. In fact, we originally only booked two nights so we can check out other places, but loved this place so much that we stayed our entire trip (the other hotels were too much money and/or didn't have the location).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and 9 which both have great views of the ocean. The street is a bit loud, but di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beateandcarmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Beate and Carmelo,
Wow...thank you for your lovely review. Danny and Barbara were honored that you elected to extend your time at the Inn. It was a great compliment to the property and its staff, and you really validated the extra hard work that our managers put in each day!
Our rooms are all unique, but you are right that rooms 1 and 9 are indeed special. They give a good sense of the proximity of the ocean, and certainly accentuate the open air feeling of our Inn.
We truly appreciate your patronage, and look forward to seeing you soon.
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congers, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent little place. Barbara & Danny are friendly & helpful, they are good managers. There are even beach chairs you can borrow and beach towels. The property is super clean and it comes with free wifi. Great location - walk to anything. Each room is so cool - you'll love it.

Room Tip: I was in Room 9 - but each room is a little different (I love that - you don't have that generic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RONICongers_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear RONICongers_NewYork,
Thank you so much for your recent stay and your kind review.
Thank you also for noticing that we do provide guests with items like water, beach towels and beach chairs as part of the TLC you deserve when you stay at the Inn.
Barbara and Danny treat our guests like family. They appreciate your encouraging words, and were thrilled to have had the opportunity to take care of you.
Hope to welcome you back soon!
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great time. Close to beach and shops. Well worth the stay. The manager there when we checked was very helpful and caring on how we were doing. For the price and the view, Absolutely no complaints....


Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Herb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Herb E,
It was indeed our pleasure to have served you and your family.
We appreciate your kind words and certainly will always try to be an affordable and authentic lodging solution for guests traveling to Huntington Beach for a little sun and sand. Over the years, we have continued to add little TLC items to make our guests' visit more memorable, and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Take care,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Cool little motel (8 rooms) on the PCH in Huntington Beach. Very close to the beach and the downtown area. Staff was super helpful and accommodating. Rooms very basic but clean and comfortable. Beach gear (towels, chairs, boogeyboards) provided for guest use. Kind of expensive for a motel, but HB is expensive and you can't beat the location. It is probably a good value in the off-season. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hitchhikernewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I had to find a room new Main Street in Huntington for a quick overnight stay and found the Huntington Surf Inn on a Google Maps search. At over $100 less than the other hotels in the area, it was definitely worth the price! It looks a little divey when your driving past it, but the rooms are super-cute, very clean, and our bed was really comfortable. You get one parking spot with your room, which if you've ever tried to park on PCH near Main Street in downtown Huntington is quite a gift!! The parking lot is actually the lower half of the property, so the spaces may look a little small since you're parking between the support beams holding up the deck and the rooms, but my full size sedan fit without a problem and there were a couple of midsize SUVs parked there when I arrived, so unless you're planning on rolling in a Suburban or something, you should be fine ;-) They'll also let you keep your car there for a couple of hours after you check out in case you want an early run to the beach the day you're leaving, and the girl at the check in counter said they have beach chairs & towels available for guest use although we didn't need to take advantage of them.
Overall, it was a great experience and I will definitely check there first the next time I need to stay in HB and I highly recommend the Huntington Surf Inn to anyone who is considering a stay in that gorgeous little beach town :-)

Room Tip: Room #1 is a king bed with a partial ocean view from the bedroom window due to the condos across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#11 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suite...
#7 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Property: Huntington Surf Inn
Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing