We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Comfort Suites experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Huntington Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Fall City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not a Comfort Suites experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We have stayed at many comfort suites and they are always enjoyable. Not Hilton but clean and safe. We stayed here after booking with Expedia. So here it is. The room we stayed in had a patch in the ceiling from water damage. The floor had a hole under the carpet so as you walked you would fall into a rut. The carpet felt filthy. The bathroom floor was sticky. There were patches on the bathroom door both sides. There was a power strip attatched to the wall that ran the TV, Refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave and it wasn't even a surge protector. There was a power fuse that was exposed on the wall. The TV which was an RCA and we had 2 just like it over the years and when they get hot they just turn off, so after a great day traveling and wanting to relax in the middle of a movie it shut off. We tried moving the power cord nothing worked. But as soon as it cooled down it worked fine. The breakfast was normal Comfort Suites that is the most positive thing I could say about the place and the fact that they let us out of our stay with expedia. They need to fix some things, bad!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikelFallCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    115
    59
    29
    48
See reviews for
116
82
49
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed here one night recently. There was only one clerk at the check in desk with a long line of people waiting to check in. We probably had to wait about 1/2 hour to finally get checked in. The room was generally clean and was a basic hotel room. However, there was no hot water in our room and the window did not close completely so there was a lot of noise from the busy street. I was here with my daughter for a school sports team event, and probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinky1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Well, I've stayed in other Comfort Suites property's and you can tell they are very different given the nature of the ownership I guess. Here is the positives. the room was clean and was not musty or damp. the air worked good and nothing was "broken", I'll stop there. Ok, not so positive aspects. The bed mattress was "lumpy" I didn't even know you could get a mattress to be lumpy in this day and age, unless you stuffed it with straw?, not comfortable at all! The location was noisy, not from traffic, just other guests, the walls were made of paper I think. The TV was old, no big deal, but it must have been hooked up to a coat hanger on the roof. I didn't bother trying the Wi Fi hookup, but I hope it isn't like the TV. The front desk staff, well it appeared to be 2 gentlemen, one I believe was a manager, not sure, but I walked in and received no greeting whatsoever, ok, I don't need a hello, or welcome, I'm not that snobby, but how about a "Are you checking in?", "can I help you?" are you going to rob us??? something, anything other than a blank stare!!! I had to double check and make sure I didn't have a booger hanging out of my nose! So after doing all the intro, the front desk clerk proceeds to draw out my check in process by having a completely unnecessary conversation with his co-worker about some trivial matter that required him to leave what he was doing and show his co-worker something on a clipboard or whatever! Ok, now I am going to get a little snobby, If you work at the front desk at a hotel/Motel here is some good advice(and I have never worked at a Hotel in my life) A. You are the very first impression of any matter to a new guest, other than the outward appearance of the property, you should really try to make a "GOOD" first impression. B. The guest is priority #1 second only to Fire's, earthquakes, somebody getting murdered in the lobby!! and if you do need to interrupt the check in process, there's a little trick, it goes like this "Please excuse me sir, I just need to help my co-worker with a very important matter, my apologies, I will be right back to help you! in which you get a reply, "No problem, thank you!!"

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Seabee1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here in February 2012 with my mother and two children.Great location across road from mall.We stayed only one night after arriving from Australia.The next morning at breakfast I left my handbag in the breakfast room..only to realise I had done so about half hour later.Reception phoned me, and I wish to thank Maria who was working in the breakfast room for handing in my bag.It contained all of our travel documents,money and credit cards!Cannot thanks the staff enough..would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here with my two children, ages 9 and 11 in February of 2012. I wanted something that was inexpensive, and this place was that. Prepaid, I think we spent about $89 per night.

First the good: The hotel is very easy to get to from the 405 freeway and in an area with lots of conveniences: restaurants, shopping, gas, even the hospital is nearby. However, the ocean is NOT in walking distance of the hotel. You will have to drive. Free parking is a definite plus, although the parking in the garage is limited to vehicles 6'3" or lower, but there is a good amount of free parking in the outside lot. I got parking several nights right next to the front doors of the check in office. The free breakfast is a bit more than simply continental, which is a good thing. There was the usual assortment of pastries, with boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, toast, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, apple and orange juices, coffee.

Our room was comfortable as were the bed and sleeper sofa, the air/heat worked really well when we needed it. It also had good lighting. We had the king/sleeper sofa room with the cute little privacy wall between the bed and sleeper sofa. The refrigerator worked really well, as did the microwave. The bathroom was on the large side, but the door had to be closed in order to use all the counter space. Our room was on the back side of the hotel and was very quiet. We had no problems with noise. We did have to request a couple extra blankets for the pull-out sofa. The blankets were good quality and really warm and big. My children said the pull-out was comfy. The king bed was very comfy for me.

The pool was a good size and we were told that it was heated, however, it didn't feel that way to me. The jacuzzi worked fine.

The not so good: These rooms are NOT in any way suites, hence the question mark in my title. They are decent-sized rooms if the sofa bed is in sofa mode, otherwise, they are very cramped. The carpet in our room was old and dirty looking and in need of replacing. We didn't walk around barefoot. The sleeper sofa was fine for my kids, but I noticed that it was only about 6 inches thick, and when sleeping on it, it squeezed down to about 2 or 3 inches. A few of the springs were broken. The lighting in the bathroom is really good, however there is a fan connected with one light, so when you turn on the light, the fan comes on. We were able to determine that the only thing this fan did was make noise. Annoying.

When the maid cleaned the room, she left her cleaning glove in the bathroom, the extra blankets balled up on top of the table in the room one day, and after the second day of not folding the sleeper sofa back into sofa mode, I made the bed and returned it to sleeper mode myself for the duration of our stay.

There is free wifi available, but I was never able to get my iPad to connect. I had to use the one and only computer available for guests. This wasn't a problem when I was able to get on it the one time I needed it. There was one guest who, over the course of two nights that we saw him, was on the computer for a total of about 6 hours. Clearly the sign indicating that the guest usage limit of 15 minutes was a waste of printer ink. On this particular night when I was using the guest computer, which is located very near the check-in desk, one of the desk staff was on the phone with someone who clearly was not a guest. He was very loud and had no intention of shortening his conversation with his friend or keeping his voice down.

The pool, as I stated above, is a good size, however I failed to feel the warmth of it. The fence surrounding pool is in desperate need of replacing as it is completely rotted out at the bottom on one side. The jacuzzi works well, but has grime and algae along the sides of it.

I didn't like the fact that the hotel charges $1.00 per night for the safe included in the room.

The hotel has outside entrances to the rooms, much like a motel, which I don't prefer, but overall, we were safe and comfortable, and in order to save money on food, were thankful for the breakfast provided. But I don't think we'll be staying here again. Many upgrades need to take place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matyglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
413 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The location of this hotel is very convenient to the freeway as well as the ocean. The entry, front desk & breakfast areas are very nice, clean & updated. The rooms are just ok. This is definitely an older hotel. With outside entrances to each room, it is easy to hear night activity and neighbors playing music in nearby homes. There is an elevator which is nice. The only ice machine for the entire hotel is on the 1st floor outdoors and you need your room key to operate it. The king size bed was very comfortable. The interior of the room was ok, small tight space between end of bed & closet, although the bathroom was very roomy & nice. There are many different prices for the rooms so be cautious about what you reserve and pay, the rates seemed to fluctuate daily.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

After driving 400 miles for a hockey tournament with my boyfriend, we were searching on the internet where to stay for 4 nights. All of the pictures of this hotel are beautiful. They showed spacious suites, and a clean pristine pool and spa. When we arrived to get a room, we were very excited that we finally found a great looking hotel in a good location. When we booked the room, we decided that the price point was a little more than we expected, so my boyfriend paid half of the room rate with cash, then I was directed to an ATM across the street at Pavillions, so I can get the other half of the money. When we booked our room, the gentleman told us that we were able to stay one night in a "regular room with a king bed" and in a "suite with champagne and a hot tub bath" the second night, and return to a normal room for the remaining two nights. He claimed that there was nothing else available. We had to pay around 50 dollars more for the suite, which was fine, since we were tired and didn't want to search any longer for a hotel room. Before I went across the street to get cash, the gentleman assured me that our room was BOOKED WITH US and that everything was good to go. No more than ten minutes later we returned. There was a female at the front desk, eating and wouldn't acknowledge us. She shouted to the gentleman that helped us in the back, "THEY'RE BACK" and still said nothing to us. About five minutes later, the man returned. He told us, " I have good news and bad news. You don't have to switch rooms anymore, I decided to book the suite with somebody else. But you HAVE TO PAY THE SAME RATE FOR THE SUITE AS THE REGULAR ROOM" He GAVE AWAY our suite behind our backs AFTER he already booked it. and had us still PAY for the suite!
During our stay, we were located next to about three rooms filled with a dozen 9 year old boys, and several chaperons. It was INCREDIBLY noisy. They were banging on the walls, running up and down the halls all night long. We decided to take a break from the noise and go down the the hot tub. Which was located DIRECTLY behind a Jack-in-the-box drive thru, and right next to a giant telephone pole. (Comfort? I dont think so) All the chaperons decided to take the kids down to the pool as well. They chaperons were all drinking in the corner while a dozen boys were being rowdy, rude, and running around in and around the hot tub. They kept splashing on us, they made all my clothes wet, and they made us generally feel irritated and uncomfortable. My boyfriend went into the lobby to speak with a front desk person. The man at the desk assured us that we were not the only ones complaining about the noise, and that they would do something about it. When we went back into our hotel room, it was STILL noisy. We called the front desk several times after that, and NOTHING HAPPENED.They told us that they might switch us to a new room, or even kick the other party out of the hotel. I could not sleep until three a.m. when the noise finally stopped. The next day they had the children and chaperons switch rooms, but WE COULD STILL HEAR ALL THEIR LOUD NOISE. They would not switch OUR room or do ANYTHING FOR US. we we IGNORED.
We also got AWFUL service the next day when we decided to go back to the hot tub (we finally got our chance to go out there without those rude, loud boys) We ask the front desk person for pool towels, he says he doesn't have any and that he would send some out to us when they were ready. So we proceeded to the hot tub. 45 minutes have passed and still NO TOWELS. and we were ready to get out! Guess what? WE NEVER RECEIVED TOWELS and had to walk back to our room SOAKING WET. When we walked inside, the front desk person was on the phone, and avoided making eye contact with us.

The hotel itself was kept up okay, but these rooms are not "suites" I have had better stays and nicer rooms at a motel 6, for about half the price. Ive never seen such AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE. I work in the service industry, so I know what is expected.
They have a hot water problem, as well. Our showers kept turning cold, and the hot tub wasn't hot a lot of the time.
The ONLY good things about this hotel, are its location, and its breakfast.
I feel for the money, we DEFINITELY did NOT get what we paid for, and I will not be returning to The Comfort Suites.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are cramped and tiny. They say they are "suites" but they definitely are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NicoleP813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#11 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Huntington Beach
Hotel Huntington Beach
#17 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suite...
#7 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Huntington Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Huntington Beach

Property: Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Address: 16301 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647-4102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Huntington Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites hotel is ideally located in the heart of Huntington Beach, close to the Huntington Beach Pier and Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve. This Huntington Beach, CA hotel is minutes from area attractions, including Disneyland Resort, Downtown Disney's Garden Walk, Knott's Berry Farm, Queen Mary, Universal Studios Hollywood, Catalina Island, Anaheim Convention Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, the OC Fair & Event Center, the Orange County Performing Arts center, Bella Terra Shopping Mall, Southcoast Plaza and Block of the Orange Huntington Beach vacation hotels. The Long Beach Airport is 11 miles, the Los Angeles International Airport is 30 miles and the John Wayne Airport is 10 miles from the hotel. There is a wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the area within minimum walking distance. Guests will enjoy many full-service amenities, including the free SAVORY STARTS breakfast which features a rotational menu, free weekday newspaper, free wireless high-speed Internet access, Southern California Hotels fitness center, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. This Huntington Beach, CA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like computer hook-ups, voice mail and access to copy and fax services. Hotel's near Surf City USA. All guest rooms include refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, massage shower head and pillow-top mattress. The Specially designed Theme Suites come equipped with balcony, loveseat and free champagne. Call the hotel direct and ask about Special rates for these elegantly decorated Theme Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Huntington Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Huntington Beach Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing