We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Huntington Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Huntington Beach
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel looks very modern and clean on the outside - especially judging by the website pictures, but the rooms are awful. In particular the bathroom. Really old and dirty. Mini-tiled floor with more grout lines than tiles . . . a harbinger of dirt and germs.

The worst part is the soundproofing. You can hear every single thing from the rooms next door and the corridor outside. The party room/bar downstairs is extremely loud too. It was impossible to sleep. We were woken up at least 8 times throughout the night due to noises.

We booked two nights and only stayed one. When I complained they did not offer a refund or even apologise.

Do NOT stay at this hotel. It was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    50
    57
    43
    62
See reviews for
52
48
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Check the web site and this place looks nice. The rooms however are nothing like what is depicted on the website. When asked, the front desk responds "some rooms are nice, some are not" Not very helpful post check in.
Cons:
very old and dingy rooms
Night shift front desk was unhelpful, unapologetic and borderline rude
High speed internet is .3 Mbps BEST case. Barely useful if you're working.
Very low water pressure.
Again - old rooms - no plugs anywhere!
The back of the hotel looks directly into an office tower and right over the giant AC units.
Beds old and stiff - no blankets in bed except for top sheet and "comforter" NOT what you see in the picture.
No additional linens, pillows, or blankets in the room -

Pros:
Plenty of other hotels nearby. Wouldn't stay here.

Room Tip: Nice sign in the bathroom that says the bath mats are 15 dollars if you take one. Because I want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wavcrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Conveniently located. Good value for southern California. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Facility showing signs of lack of maintenance. Non working ice machine for 4 days on our floor. Lamps in poor condition and need replacing. My pet peeve of low wattage lighting rears its head again. Shower control had slow leak. No major concerns just lack of attention to small problems. These could be easily corrected.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccione, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Lobby and outside area is very nice. It's close to a huge shopping area and right near the 405Fwy. However, the room was just okay--furniture all scratched up, bathrooms are needing to be fixed. I can't stand hotels that have the coffee maker in the bathroom. Who's going to make coffee while you're sitting on the John? Worst of all--Hard bed. It's like sleeping on the ground. I will not be returning to this Hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher D, Manager at Hotel Huntington Beach, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I truly apologize for your disappointing experience during your recent stay with us. We are currently undergoing renovations to our guest rooms and will be replacing the furniture and beds to match the style of our lobby and the rest of the hotel. We currently have 2 floors complete and will be continuing with the renovations to the rest of our guest rooms. I hope that you will give us another chance once our renovations are complete.

Thank you for your understanding.

Management-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Kansas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is in the process of refurbishing the rooms. We were on the 8th floor and our room had new beds and other furniture but was still nothing special. The lobby was attractive and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was nice. It was only a 20 minute drive to Disneyland.

Room Tip: The 8th floor has been redone so ask for a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The lobby and main areas are quite nice and well kept. However, the guest rooms are not nearly as nice. The beds were the worst hotel beds I have ever had and while the room was clean overall it was definitely dated and showed its age, cracked tiles, seperating caulking in the bathroom, older worn carpet.

The pool was OK but too cold and lacked any real anti-skid surface around it making it rather unsafe to walk on when wet. The breakfast was great and service was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwalter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We went to SoCal to celebrate a friend's birthday at the Olde World complex across the street and this property was recommended due to the ease of walking distance and not driving after having a few adult beverages.

Olde World has to be this hotel's saving grace! The rooms (7th floor) are old, dingy and absolutely disgusting from a cleanliness standpoint. The shower head in our room was FILTHY and had probably not seen a cleansing agent in about two years---at least. Very low water pressure, but heck, at least it was hot.

The use of elevators was next to impossible on Saturday evening due the number of guests heading over to Ocktoberfest at the same time. My girlfriend and I decided to use the stairs...BIG MISTAKE! Once we got the ground floor, the "emergency exit" was LOCKED, which is HUGE safety issue. We had to go up one floor and wait for the elevator. We reported the locked door to the Front Desk.

Fortunately the Front Desk heeded the information and had the door fixed, which was great for the hotel, since the HB Fire Department was conducting drills at the building next door. Would not want to be the General Manager or Manager On Duty trying to explain the locked door to a fire marshal.

Didn't/couldn't use the bar area on Saturday, it was blocked for a wedding party. No worries, walked across the street and a multitude of bars and restaurants to choose from.

Do yourself a favor, book another hotel and just get a taxi to Olde World!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafaATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#12 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
5.2 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#11 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Huntington Beach
Extended Stay America - Orange C...
#13 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Huntington Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Huntington Beach

Property: Hotel Huntington Beach
Address: 7667 Center Ave, Huntington Beach, CA 92647-3073
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Huntington Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all Southern California has to offer at Hotel Huntington Beach. Conveniently located near Orange County's top corporate headquarters, shopping centers and beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Huntington Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing