We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love The Fireside Inn And The Owners”
Review of Fireside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fireside Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Our son attends Idyllwild Arts Academy and the Fireside Inn has become a home away from home for us. The owner Larry is very helpful and goes out of his way to make people feel at home. We will be back there again soon. The lodging is relaxed and homey.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mickie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Fireside Inn and Cabins is a great getaway. We are there at least twice a year, in the autumn and winter months.

I have to admit, as a business traveler, it took me a few years to "get it" in Idyllwild. All of the hotels/B&Bs in the city are rustic, cabin-setting style. There are no Hampton Inns up here. I guess for many that goes without saying. But, really, it took me about two years to accept this fact.

Now that said, we've taken several years to find the best of the best of the rustic cabins, and that honor, for us, goes to the Fireside Inn.

The have two properties. The original property, and the Cabins, located on the other side of town. All check-in/check-out is done at the main property, where Larry, the proprietor takes care of the business.

Over the years we have stayed at several of the rooms, and none are "Perfect", each one has pros/cons based on layout, location, noise potential and other factors. Talk to the innkeeper if you have specific needs, and Larry will tell you as much as he can with regard to your query.

As an example, we learned that, at the main property, having the room nearest the main road was a bad idea in wet weather. You heard each and every car drive by with the sound of the wet road. We didn't really sleep as well as we'd have liked that night. Staying in the same room during dry weather was no problems.

Nothing quite as enchanting as a fireplace, and Fireside offers firewood for use in the cabins.

Parking is all very close to the front door of the cabins.

The main property is easy-walking distance to local shopping and restaurants. The Cabin property is not. Plan to use your car for trips into town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

At the end of October with the chill of fall settling in and the leaves holding to yellow, we cozied up at the Fireside Inn for a three-night stay. The “Oak Leaf” featured a stone fireplace, a fully stocked kitchen, knotty-pine paneling on the walls and ceiling, a comfortable bed, and a heat lamp in the bathroom. For the affordable price we paid, we were very pleased with the accommodations. Larry, the owner, was a friendly and welcoming host who went out of his way to ensure that we had a lovely time. He recommended restaurants and movies (the office has a great selection of DVDs) and was genuinely kind and interesting to talk to. The “Oak Leaf” was clean and located close (easy walking distance) to town. Café Aroma, which is just up the road, offers great food, jazz, and a cool ambience. Idyllwild is a beautiful little mountain town that we return to every year for hiking, live music, and relaxation. This year the Fireside Inn made the annual trip a real treat!

Room Tip: The inn's website has detailed photos of each cabin and cottage option, so I recommend looking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I have nothing negative to say about this lovely place. Setting and location are great, about halfway between town center and the Aroma so we could walk to both. The room is spacious and comfortable with sitting area both in front and back, parking right in front of our room, and for me the big plus was that the bathroom had plenty of space to put my STUFF! Host is friendly and accommodating, and we even bought a couple of things at Linda's store Wooleys & took advantage of the discount.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trippi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We rented Blue Jay II after much internet research. The cabin was delightful. The
kitchen was competely stocked, even very nice wine glasses. When we arrived, I was greeted by the family dog. I imediately loved the place, then Pam came in and checked me in. She was a gracious hostess. Meanwhile, my husband was in the car and Larry came to visit. He was also a delightful host. We both felt good about the place before we saw our cabin. We had a BBQ and fixed steaks the second night. I would recommend this place to anyone. We want to go back in September.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend in June with plans to take some long hikes. Check in was painless and our unit was ready. I was a little concerned that the Blue Jay room was closest to the road, but noise was not a problem. This is a perfect base for outdoor activities. With the small kitchen, which was well-equipped, we were able to have early breakfasts and get on the trail. In the afternoons we relaxed in our quiet unit and read, used the internet, napped and watched movies we borrowed from the office. The Fireside Inn is within walking distance of the center of town, market, and also some of the restaurants slightly up the hill from there. The air conditioning was a big plus as it was pretty warm when we were there. There were a couple chairs and small table in a private side yard out the back door of the unit, but it would have taken some cleaning to be able to use it. Everything inside was very clean. They do not offer daily maid service, but we did not find it necessary. You could exchange your towels for clean ones at the office. There seemed to always be someone available in the office for any needs. We would definitely stay here again.
Liked: Location, kitchen facilities, cleanliness, friendly innkeepers
Disliked: Bed could be better. The mattress set probably needs to be replaced as it was soft and somewhat sagging in the middle. Also I don't care for scented softener in the sheets and towels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We appreciated being able to view cabins and cottages online. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Everything is as clean as a whistle and it is QUIET! even though we are close to the road. We would not hesitate coming up to stay here again, and recommend it to friends. Restaurants are within walking distance, and for 2 old timers who need to exercise every day, that's a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosaryfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
10.3 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,584 reviews
10.5 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Idyllwild
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 13 in Idyllwild
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#3 of 13 in Idyllwild
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Address: 54540 N Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Region: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range: £74 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn specializes in restful, relaxing mountain vacations with cottages and cabins ranging from $65 to $195, all but one with fireplaces and kitchens. Our cottages and cabins accommodate from 2 to 10 people each, some with jacuzzi bathtubs. We have two locations, one in the village, and one in a more private, woodsy setting about 10 blocks away. Pet friendly and free WI-FI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing