We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow, it was amazing and cozy.”
other travellers have booked this property
Pine Rock Retreat, private cozy A-Frame studio-style cabin with The Most AMAZING VIEWS on the Hill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pine Rock Retreat, private cozy A-Frame studio-style cabin with The Most AMAZING VIEWS on the Hill
Amazing Views at Pine Rock Retreat Private Cabin, Idyllwild Studio Style Cozy A-Frame Cabin, Pine Rock Retreat, Idyllwil - Pine Cove (New HDTV since this pic)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Pine Rock Retreat, private cozy A-Frame studio-style cabin with The Most AMAZING VIEWS on the Hill
Amazing Views at Pine Rock Retreat Private Cabin, Idyllwild
Studio Style Cozy A-Frame Cabin, Pine Rock Retreat, Idyllwil - Pine Cove (New HDTV since this pic)
Comfy Queen Size Bed on Main Level of this studio style cabin
Cuddle up and get Cozy & Romantic with Thermostat Controlled Cast Iron gas Fireplace
Romantic and Clean Smoke-Free Heater/Gas Fireplace
Save Money & Prepare Meals In This Well Stocked Kitchen with Refrigerator, Stove, Oven & a View!
Comfy Full Size Memory Foam Top Mattress in the Cozy Loft with a View, and a Privacy Curtain
View from the upstairs Loft
Main 3/4 Cozy Bathroom- Shower, Toilet, Sink and a View
Kids' Cave, for 5 yrs or older, with 2 Twin Mattresses, secret trap door, sink and small toilet room
Deck Lounge Chairs to kick back, relax, read a book, watch wildlife, enjoy the view, and star-gaze.
Outdoor deck dining with a view, Grill, Seating for 6
View From the Deck, Living Room, Kitchen
Another View From the Deck
Heavenly View When Clouds Roll In.
Trail view behind our cabin
Private Bench with full valley view, at the back of our property, by the 'Hat Tree' (Ask for info)
Wintertime!  Amazing Views from your own Private Deck, Living Room and Kitchen
Sunrise!!!   If you are an early bird you'll catch this!
Swings For The Kids At Heart
Stellar Jay, one of our resident birds (FREE birdseed for our guests)
Squirrels Abound and Think They Are the Birds
Stellar Blue Jays, Woodpeckers, Mountain Quail, Red tail Hawks and many other birds come here.
Guest submitted photo, from the back deck
Wildlife (FREE bird seed provided) but bring peanuts and its a frenzy!
Lily Rock, via zoom lens from cabin by a guest
When it snows a lot
Serenity and Calm in the snow
Year Around Wildlife
Manzanita grows abundantly here
Humber Park for Hiking.  FREE PARKING with our Adventure Pass
Hiking up behind the peak
5 Minutes to town for Wonderful Restaurants, Shops, Galleries, Groceries and Entertainment
The Fort in town, for fun shops, ceramic painting and more
There's even a movie theatre with current showings and movie rentals
Candy and ice cream shops in town
Enjoy Wine or Beer Tasting in town and Relaxing Atmosphere
Our local little mountain coffee shop, highly recommended, along with local bakeries
Café Aroma (one of many great restaurants we recommend)
Pine Rock Retreat, Idyllwild-Pine Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Idyllwild, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1Surfergi...
San Diego, California
1 review
“Wow, it was amazing and cozy.”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Cheryl and Larry really thought of everything to make our stay at Pine Rock easy and comfortable. The cabin and view is breath taking and way more then I expected.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny E
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
“A vacation that renewed our spirit and filled us with joy!”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This lovely little cabin is a perfect getaway and so close to all of the natural wonders of this very unique and special area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say it was all so wonderful, but the view is spectacular!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ONLY way to experience Idyllwild!”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I can't say enough nice things about this place! I didn't want to leave! Cheryl was so friendly and helpful and made booking a breeze. We were greeted by a welcome basket full of goodies and information on what to do while in Idyllwild. The cabin was cozy, clean and fully stocked. It felt like home from the moment we walked in. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need and more. We spent every day grilling out on the deck and taking in the amazing view and watching the squirrels, birds and chipmunks that came to eat out of the feeder. There was even a great hiking trail right on the property and it is close to a bunch of other trails and the town. I could go on at length but I will sum it up by saying I will never consider staying anywhere else in Idyllwild!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroD231...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Very quaint and welcoming. We loved the deck and the amenities. Very professional! Close to town and restaurants. Great market for supplies. Excellent hiking trails close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian, California
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Y2K2014
Claremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at mountain retreat”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our family had a wonderful time at Pine Rock Retreat. This A-frame charming cabin has an amazing panoramic view (Lily Rock, Taquitz Peak, Idyllwild Valley). The cabin is clean, and it has everything you could possibly need or want during a vacation stay -- including a fully stocked kitchen (it even has things like measuring spoons and tea strainers), paper goods/household supplies, good beds (which I liked but my husband found a little on the soft side), a wide assortment of games, good assortment of DVD/VHS movies, a great loft with a sturdy ladder/stair, and toys (including a great white stuffed cat) in the kids cave. We stayed for a week while my child attended the Multi-Arts program at the Idyllwild Arts Academy. During the day, my husband and I spent time together in the cabin, hiked nearby (Ernie Maxwell Trail, Nature Center), and even did some work -- the cabin has very good wi-fi connection. As a family, we relaxed both inside and on the deck, feeding and watching the birds (you are provided with bird feed), cooking and eating, playing games, watching movies, and seeing the stars (on morning we even got up at 4 am to see the Perseids!). The hosts left us a basket of goodies for us in the cabin (and detergent and coins for the local laundromat because of the length of our stay), which was a nice gesture, and we found hiking info and restaurant menus in the cabin.

This is a wonderful cabin for a small family (although we noticed in the guest book that families of 6 have stayed and loved it too). My daughter was very sad to leave so we'll just have to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanitaGho...
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our first ever experience of staying in a vacation rental. Our stay at Pine Rock Retreat was a real treat that made my Birthday even more special. It seems like there is so much to explore here that we need not even get out of the house. Each nook and corner of this house has been so well designed and maintained that it meets the likings of all of us. I love the attic as well as the Kids' cave. Your collection of childrens' books, games, toys etc. and again the collection of adult books, CDs and many more has left us spell bound. Kitchen is also very well equipped. Perfect place for relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every bit of our stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing