We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had lunch and then dinner”
Review of Gastrognome

Gastrognome
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Idyllwild
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Terrace, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We had lunch and then dinner”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

the next day. We sat outside for lunch and had a window seat for the evening meal. Service was wonderful and the food was excellent. It was a little pricey but no more than any top tier restaurant. The atmosphere is great. I would put it right in the same category as Black Angus or the Outback. Quality. Call for reservations on the weekend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    124
    39
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Four thumbs up”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I love this place. It's a bit pricy for dinner but they mitigate that with a Cafe menu that includes a fabulous cheeseburger and fries, vegetable lasagna, chicken & broccoli penne pasta and plenty of other treats. Got out for under $40.00

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JosephEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Ate here on a Friday afternoon. Sat outside to enjoy the nice weather & beautiful scenery. We both ordered salads & they were very good! There was a table of four near us that kept ordering "another round". The more they drank the louder they became. A little hard to ignore, but otherwise it was a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank PamelaH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We've been going to the Gastronome in Idyllwild for many uears and have never been dissappointed. Excellent service, excellent food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very quaint, throw back to those small dark restaurants from the late 1960's and early 1970's. Very good food and service, wished I wasn't stuffed from lunch, or I would have the toranadoes of beef, which are hard to find as a menu item and I LOVE! Very good drinks too

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gastrognome also viewed

 

Been to Gastrognome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing