We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Dining Experience in Mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastrognome

Gastrognome
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Idyllwild
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Dining Experience in Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Friendly, attentive, unobtrusive service. Beautifully decorated, from the lace curtains to the massive stone fireplace (with candles for summer). Pleasant patio. Something for everyone on the menu (if not, they will make it for you). The food is excellent, from the yummy salads, to the tasty entrees, to the delicious desserts. I felt very comfortable, never rushed (I am a slow eater). Lovely wine list. Have been eating here for many years and it has never disappointed! Pricey but worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank maryandhumphrey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    118
    38
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic and nice dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Food was great! excellent wide variety of food. For this I would pick it over Café Aroma, even though we go there a lot too. It was romantic and the food was excellent. The place has been there for 38 years and the place was full. That tells you something. Make a reservation, just do it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reservations and eat outside if not too hot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Really lovely, quaint restaurant in the heart of Idyllwild. If you know you will be there and want to eat here I recommend reservations but not totally necessary. Place is usually crowded though. Our food and drink were very tasty-I had the steak sandwich which I ate mostly with a fork as it was too messy to pick up but it was delicious. My husband had the french dip. They have a full bar. I will say the only negative was that they allow dogs to dine outside on the patio which I normally don't mind but one was barking constantly. If you don't like dogs right next to you while eating, eat inside.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
474 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“A decent lunch choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After strolling through town we chose this spot for lunch since they offered outdoor seating. We had a short wait but grateful for a nice patio table. The menu provides a good selection of items including salads and sandwiches. The prices were ok, but perhaps a bit on the higher end. I think we enjoyed the view, sunshine and fresh air more than the actual meal itself. It was good but not great or memorable. Service was ok. The inside of this restaurant appears to be somewhat dated and could probably use a remodel but it seemed comfortable enough. They do have a full bar and good wine selection with reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DMHappyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent choice in Idyllwild”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a 7:00 o'clock reservation and arrived early on a Sunday night and we were quickly escorted to a lovely table in the main dining room. The menu provided a great variety of choices. We shared the steamed whole artichoke. It was quite good. My wife had the idaho trout and she said that it was the best trout that she has ever had. I had the top sirloin and it was lean, cooked well and very tasty.The vegetables were well cooked.
The wine list was good too.
The prices were very reasonable and I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertRat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gastrognome also viewed

 

Been to Gastrognome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing