We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good breakfast stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of J C's Red Kettle

J C's Red Kettle
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Idyllwild
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you want to go in-town for breakfast that may be easy walking distance from your hotel, this is the stop for you. If you have time to drive up the hill, go to Cafe Aroma. This place was so packed and the waitresses all worked so hard. I think we had five of them doing various things at our table. Like they all pitch it and do what needs to be done. It's a great environment (and was decorated fun for Christmas.) But the food isn't quite as good as Cafe Aroma. However, it is cheaper. We spent $10 less for 2 people for breakfast here over our time at Cafe Aroma, but Cafe Aroma food was better and was worth the drive up the hill. But we enjoyed going to both! And I'm glad we made time for both. Great staff!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikki777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    90
    32
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good, glad we went”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stopped by to get sandwiches to go on the way out of town and they were very good.

Customer service was great.
The reuben and the onion rings were delicious.
Fries 3 out of 5.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsmduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Gem in the Wilderness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We went in for a coffee to warm up while our family was shopping, and the friendly nature of the staff convinced us to round the rest of our party of 5 ( including a 5 year old), and stay for lunch.The food was delicious, and served promptly. Our grandson was treated royally!!
Great place to eat in Idyllwyld!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grace under Fire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Even though it was very busy and our food took a while to arrive, it was worth the wait. Crispy, tasty chx fried steak and good homemade sausage and fluffy pcakes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank janosbuzmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I love this breakfast joint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Homeade Bread, pies, and all kind of pastries. I had the bacon and eggs with the rye bread and it was so country good. The eggs made perfectly, and really fresh fruit. My husband had a mushroom and cheese egg white omelet with fruit and it was good. The coffee is decent not great but it does the job. We have eaten here plenty of times and do not have to go any further. Lunch is also good with a new daily homemade soup and fresh sandwiches....Turkey noodle soup doesn't get any better.....bathroom clean and the food is fresh....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yaisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J C's Red Kettle also viewed

 
Idyllwild, CA
 

Been to J C's Red Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing