We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to start the day”
Review of J C's Red Kettle

J C's Red Kettle
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Idyllwild
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good way to start the day”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Solid breakfast fare done well. Plenty of choices. Chicken fried steak was great. Egg Florentine very tasty. Good local crowd early on followed by hikers.

Helpful?
Thank Keith1R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    90
    32
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

JC's Red Kettle was our last stop, before heading back home after a few days in Idyllwild. The burgers are amazing. My daughter had the bacon burger, and she loved the thick pieces of bacon. I had the mushroom cheese burger and was happy to see it overflowing with tender sautéed mushrooms. My husband had the avocado swiss burger, and he said it was delicious. The onion rings and sweet potato fries were on the edge of burnt, but the regular fries were golden, crispy perfection. Service was friendly and fast, but after the meal was served drink service all but disappeared. Overall, we thought it was a nice way to end our stay and will be back again to try breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We dropped in here for breakfast by chance, and liked it so much that we came again for both breakfast & lunch. The breakfast are nice & hearty and have that homemade taste. We weren't disappointed with anything we ordered. We look forward to coming back again on our next visit to Idyllwild.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDBOLTMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A lovely little gem one mile high”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Four Snowbirds from Palm Springs made the drive up the torturous road to Idyllwild under cloudless skies and short-sleeve shirt and shorts weather.

Our usual Idyllwild restaurant for the past ten years of visiting Palm Springs for winters, had, as restaurants tend to do, disappeared. however, we spotted the Red Kettle, which is open only from 7am to 2pm and provides, according to the owners, 'comfort food'. As it was lunch we were seeking, we thought we would try it. We are glad we did.

It is a historic properties building and has been the Red Kettle restaurant since 1922.

Our friends both chose the meatless salad, which came with lettuce as a base supporting avocado, hard boiled egg, raisins, bean sprouts and a thousand island dressing. They both found it very tasty and refreshing. The lady was unable to eat all of hers, as the plate held so much.

My wife elected to eat the "Bacon, Avocado, Swiss Burger", which came with (her choice) sweet potato fries. On arrival at the table, she was ecstatic because of the amount of bacon on the burger! She discarded the lid of the burger, but found the rest of it simply delicious.

I chose the Chef's Salad with ham and turkey. It, too, had a bed of lettuce, upon which sat a goodly amount of chopped turkey and ham, shredded beets and red cabbage, raisins, shredded Cheddar cheese, a slice of tomato, and a hard-boiled egg, with (my choice) blue cheese dressing. It was all good, but the dressing seemed to be a little runnier than I would expect.

All in all, it was an excellent choice of restaurant for lunch. While it is not large, perhaps just over twenty tables, it was busy on our arrival, and was more than half full when we left at 12.30pm. The walls are decorated with odd and mostly funny plaques. The staff were friendly and professional. Inside,

Cost: 2x meatless salads $8.75 - $17.50; Chef Salad - $8.75; Bacon Avocado Swiss Burger - $11.25. Total - $$40.50 incl. tax plus I gave $8 gratuity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melville P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
193 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small town atmosphere, good food, great service”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I understand this is the oldest restaurant in Idyllwild. It is clean, good location, good parking, and great service. Friendly and 'homey'. We both had omelettes for lunch, and they were very good. Prices are good and the servings large.
They have a good selection of omelettes, sandwiches, soup, burgers, etc. This was a good find for lunch.
It's a quaint town, visit some of the shops. People are very friendly. About an hour from Palm Desert, Ca. We drove up for a day trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAHLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J C's Red Kettle also viewed

 
Idyllwild, CA
 

Been to J C's Red Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing