We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red kettle is a tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J C's Red Kettle

J C's Red Kettle
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Idyllwild
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Red kettle is a tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We love the red kettle and have been going for several years. Breakfast and lunch have always been spectacular

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mhilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    90
    32
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent Place, Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We ate there for lunch. Just ordered salads and a quesadilla. Its a little small and the place gets crowded both inside and their small outside patio area. But decent food and average prices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thekansasgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Reminded Me of A Truck Stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Food was average, service a bit sketchy and not very tourist friendly. More of a locals place. Went there for breakfast once and then went elsewhere. Location is right on - in the middle of town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grubstake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good way to start the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Solid breakfast fare done well. Plenty of choices. Chicken fried steak was great. Egg Florentine very tasty. Good local crowd early on followed by hikers.

Helpful?
Thank Keith1R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

JC's Red Kettle was our last stop, before heading back home after a few days in Idyllwild. The burgers are amazing. My daughter had the bacon burger, and she loved the thick pieces of bacon. I had the mushroom cheese burger and was happy to see it overflowing with tender sautéed mushrooms. My husband had the avocado swiss burger, and he said it was delicious. The onion rings and sweet potato fries were on the edge of burnt, but the regular fries were golden, crispy perfection. Service was friendly and fast, but after the meal was served drink service all but disappeared. Overall, we thought it was a nice way to end our stay and will be back again to try breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J C's Red Kettle also viewed

 

Been to J C's Red Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing