We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, Not Chic”
Review of Cedar Lodge

Cedar Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #9 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2007

My husband and I spent a Saturday night in March, as a much-needed break from overwhelming work as a tax preparer and to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We booked a room after an Internet search and were enticed by the photos on the establishment's website.

However, we discovered that the photos, showing rooms which are newly decorated, fresh and clean - are either many years old or were staged. Our room - Thee Cottage - was worn, shabby and somewhat lacking in cleanliness. Throw rugs poorly hid the threadbare places in the carpeting and the bedspread was badly in need of replacement. The front door didn't close and latch properly. The backside of the shower curtain was grundgy and some of the ledges and shelves had accumulated dust. No individual shampoos were supplied - just a full size bottle used by previous guests. Fortunately, we had brought our own.

The bay window has a view - of the cabin behind and the yard between - not of the forest as we had expected. We enjoyed the coziness of a fire in the fireplace, but only a few logs were provided - enough for only one evening - more at additional charge (bring your own supply). There is no gas lighter and, as not enough paper was supplied, we had to tear up an old magazine, to be able to light the fire. The only other heat for the room is a gas wall heater which is hard to regulate and, as it was dusty and linty, was a possible fire hazard. Freeze or burn - what a choice.

The premises also show signs of age and neglect, but the property is nicely located near town shops and restaurants and as our room was in the back, it was peaceful and quiet. It could have been great had it been better maintained. Check-out was early (11 am) for a resort property and they called our room when we hadn't vacated on the dot.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DawnaJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2006

We stayed at the Cedar Street Inn the weekend of 3/26/2006, and several items were not working in the cabin: such as the gas heat and toilets. The cabin itself was OK, but the stay was not acceptable due to the problems. We would not reccommend staying here.

Stayed: March 2006
5  Thank PhoenixDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hemet, California
12
Reviewed 5 March 2006

My Husband and I stayed at the Cedar Street Inn Two Nights. We Had a very nice stay. Our Room was neat and cozy. The Inn Keepers were very freindly upon check in, We were shown to our room and also informed of all accommodations. The Inn is located within walking distance to all shops and resturants. Upon our departure we ran into a little car trouble and The Owner, Herb called a local Tow company for road side assitance. The tow company informed us that a jump would cost $65.00, when Herb was informed about the cost he without hesitant offered his AAA card. We were very greatful. We can't thank him enough and all the Staff who helped us. Its nice to know there are still people who care. We will definitly visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
649
Reviewed 9 February 2006

We would advise you to stay somewhere else. These innkeepers are really only interested in your money and have no desire to interact with the public. They are not friendly, they don't greet you upon arrival, and they don't care how your stay is. They have passive-aggressive signs in the rooms reminding you that virtually everything comes at an additional cost. All this at premium prices. A huge disappointment. Idyllwild is a charming village full of interesting people, shops, and restaurants -- and many nice lodging options. We would never return to the Cedar Street Inn, nor would we ever recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Monica, California
11
Reviewed 29 January 2006

The Cedar Sreet Inn was charming, clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Victoria room with a private deck area, fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The room had a TV, VCR and coffee maker and was a short walk to town. The only problem was not enough hot water to fill the jucuzzi tub. The owners were very helpful but the massage was just average.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2005

Having just returned from a stay at the Cedar Street Inn I was not happy to see the previous review regarding the broken (Lily Rock Suite) spa, two months before our stay, a spa which is still not working. The review was posted on this site after we'd booked our room.

I was notified by telephone the day before our (me and my girlfriend)arrival the spa was broken; however, we were offered a discount on the room. Fortunately, upon arrival we were shown a cheaper, more remote, room (Victoria Suite), and given a choice between the two, and offered use of a new spa room, which we ultimately didn't use. An offer made, I presume, only because the owners were in Hawaii. I feel the manager on site was put in a difficult position by the employers.

Not liking the Lily Rock Suite's proximity to the office and street we chose the Victoria Suite. I also noticed a sign in the Lily Rock Suite stating an additional fee -I think it was twenty dollars -if the captains bed was used. This seemed excessive for what amounts to a small amount of extra laundry.

The new spa room apparently is part of the ownership's plan at creating some sort of resort style vacation getaway, in conjunction with two tacky "Massage" banners posted outside the Inn, one below the spa patio of the aforementioned the Lily Rock Suite, and one on a tree trunk adjacent Cedar Street. Very tacky.

The room and grounds are in need of numerous repairs and upgrades. Perhaps building the new spa has taken funding from expenses better suited to upkeep and repair. The grounds are well lit at night, with some motion sensor lights.

The room itself was clean but the heater adjustment did not work - it was either on or off. There was plenty of coffee on hand and the shower was nice and warm. The vent fan in the bathroom did not work. The bed was great. The t.v., with basic cable, and vcr worked well. Mgt. has a few vhs tapes free for use. The small fridge worked just fine.

Overall we had an enjoyable weekend but will stay elsewhere should we again vacation in
Idyllwild.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Burbank, CA
17
Reviewed 11 October 2005

The service was horrible and management unhelpful or accommadating. We booked the room with the so called private porch and spa tub. The porch was at the entrance of the inn with everyone passing by up and down the wooden stairs. The spa tub did not work and the water only would fill the tub about 5-6 inches and that was all of the hot water. The management left out telling us that they had been having problems with the tub and hot water. We called 3 times before booking the room and he never once mentioned this when 3 other rooms were available at a lesser price. The mattress and box spring were old, lumpy and without support. We did not get one good nights rest all weekend. The radiator either heated up too high or not at all. There were ants in the room when we arrived and the management did nothing. We tried to contact the staff and neither was available and difficult to contact. None of the rooms had duraflame logs, which they sold for $5 each or you could go to the grocery store and buy them. It's an inconvenience and shouldn't this be included? Also, the rooms are not cleaned or made for the entire duration of your stay nor are clean towels given unless requested in addition to the 2 (one small and one larger one) per person. The room was uninviting and cold, not at all a cozy inn. All the management cared about was your money and nothing else. We will never stay there again or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 December 2005

This comment borders on being malicious as it contains a number of completely false statements. First, the couples unit was not located near the entrance of the Inn...in fact it is in a separate building with virtually no foot traffic. Second, we have never sold a Duraflame log for more than $3. Our rates reflect a good value for the traveller and we enjoy a 78% repeat clientelle. Third, the office is staffed from 8 am until 7 pm and, afterward the phone is forwarded to the office manager's home. We certainly are not perfect but the fact is that we are extremely responsive to guest concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Idyllwild hotels
1.2 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Idyllwild
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#3 of 13 in Idyllwild
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 13 in Idyllwild
72 reviews
2.2 mi away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 13 in Idyllwild
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Woods Resort
Pine Woods Resort
#8 of 9 in Idyllwild
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Address: 25870 Cedar Street, Idyllwild, CA 92549 (Formerly Cedar Street Inn & Spa)
Region: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range: £61 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing