We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tripadvisor commercial has it spot on...visit "Tripadvisor Idyllwild"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Idyllwild Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited Tripadvisor to find accommodations for our brief stay in Idyllwild in late July 2014. There weren't many vacancies with the graduation events at the music academy. The Grand Idyllwild Lodge had one room for one night, and was rated highly by the website. We wanted 2 nights, but the lodge looked very nice so we booked Thursday and hoped for a Friday cancellation. Alas, no room came available for Friday so we moved on to another hotel. We were so sorry to leave, especially after checking into the next accommodation, which was disappointing (we cancelled that booking-it was that bad-and found a third hotel that turned out fine).

The Owners of The Grand Idyllwild Lodge have put there heart and soul into this spectacular new lodging. Mountain craftsman style architecture and decor, a variety of cozy sitting rooms and patios with dramatic views of the mountains, quality craftsmanship throughout, very comfortable rooms, the kind of bathroom you take pictures of to go home and remodel your own, close to town and closer to a couple of the better restaurants, and of particular note, courteous and friendly hands-on service by the owners, all at a great value. We'll definitely make the Grand Idyllwild Lodge our lodging of choice when we return to Idyllwild this winter. This time we'll plan ahead!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We came to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Brad and Jacki are not only the Innkeepers of the Grand Idyllwild Lodge they are also the designers, builders and decorators! They spared no expense in their endeavor and through their hard work and perseverance managed to make this the best Bed and Breakfast in Idyllwild. We've been coming to Idyllwild for years and have stayed in many Bed and Breakfast Inns here. This gem surpasses them all. We chose Harmony as our room because of the private balcony with a view of Tahquitz Rock. The view is spectacular. One of the highlights of our stay was relaxing in the library perusing the books in their vast library all while enjoying the mountain views from a very comfortable window seat. Even though the inn was almost full it felt like we were the only ones there. It was always so peaceful and quiet. From check in to check out our anniversary stay was awesome!!!!

Room Tip: Harmony is an awesome room because of the private balcony with a view of Tahquitz
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I have visited Idyllwild for hiking and climbing since 2003. We usually stuck to day trips or camped because none of the lodging options (including small rentals) appealed to us and our "upscale yet comfortable" taste. I discovered the Grand Idyllwild Lodge had recently opened and met a major market void. We stayed over my birthday weekend, and it exceeded our expectations. Our only regret is we couldn't stay longer.

We stayed in Suite Dream, a very large corner unit on the main floor. It has an exterior entrance (through the French doors pictured) and two additional large windows facing the front of the property. The wrap-around deck is not private but didn't see much traffic (only 2 passing parties during our stay). You can get to the Suite without even entering the Lodge if you wish. The bed is very luxurious and comfy. The shower was dark (due to no overhead light fixture); and due to the beautiful hardwood floors, you can hear walking from the Suite above you, but those are honestly the only very minor issues we had. It is as beautiful as pictured on the website. Everything was spotless!

The main house/common areas are exquisite. We enjoyed a glass of wine at the evening reception (served 6-7 pm Saturday) before walking to dinner at Café Aroma (about 2 minutes walk--easy!). The breakfast (served 9-10 am Sunday) was fabulous, and we enjoyed it on the outdoor patio. We had plenty of time to enjoy a short walk to town center to shop about before checking out at Noon. There is enough common-area space for guests to find their own nooks to visit if they choose, and two fabulous decks. You won't feel "forced" to mingle with other guests like at traditional B&Bs, unless you wish. We look forward to coming back in colder weather so we can enjoy the fireplaces!

From arrival to departure, the owners and the nice young lady on staff made us feel welcome and at home yet were unobtrusive, and our suite allowed us all the private time we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReesCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I came up to celebrate our 11th wedding anniversary, and this place made it magical for us! We stayed in the Harmony room, which has it's own private balcony, which we loved to hang out there and have some wine! This Inn is absolutely beautiful and comfortable. The beds were awesome and with the air in the mountains and these comfy beds we slept very well. Great breakfast each morning, and wine and munchies in early evening. Jackie and Brad are fantastic hosts, they are both so talented at what they do. Brad did a great job building and designing this place. Jackie did all the decorating and cooking.
We will definitely be back to this memorable and inviting Inn. Luckily we live close so we can plan a trip often. Book this, you will NOT be disappointed in the least bit.

Room Tip: Harmony room has a better view of the Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We traveled from Ohio to meet up with relatives from California that were camping at the State Park in Idyllwild ... we were only a mile away from the campsite and MUCH more comfortable than our cousins who were sleeping in tents!

The Grand Idyllwild has a relaxing atmosphere and the breakfasts were great ... the lounge areas were great from down-time and our son enjoyed using the telescope on the 2nd floor deck.

We recommended this lodge to our California cousins for a great couples get-away any time of the year.

Room Tip: any room would be a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davegingrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We loved this Lodge. The couple that own it are so nice and friendly. We stayed in the Tranquility room. The Lodge at this time has 6 available rooms and each is beautiful. Ours was small but we had a balcony and could watch the squirrels and birds at play. Jacquie is so nice and made us feel right at home, more like friends than clients. Brad was always working but took the time to show us around. Can't say enough about the beauty of the property. They have just completed a couples massage area. There is a room to work out too. We went out earlier than the reception time, but Brad left the wine out for us, so when we got back we could just help ourselves. Idyllwild is lucky to have such a beautiful place tor travelers. The peace and quiet of the surrounding area was beautiful too. The mornings were cool and wonderful, the nights were full of stars and just love their views in all directions

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful. I like having a balcony so you might want to stay in the room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank auntie9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This gracious bed and breakfast is a treasure in the mountains of Idyllwild. It’s owned and run by an exceptionally conscientious young couple who have poured their energy and love into this nine-month-old inn, that could easily be featured in Architectural Digest. Brad built the inn from the ground up, including the tile, rock formations, and water feature. The inside is just as beautiful, especially the dramatic windows that capture the gorgeous outdoors from so many directions. There are only 5 spacious suites, each with its own name and uniquely, luxurious rustic style. Jacki decorated each room with class! The enthusiastic couple is justifiably proud of creating such a first class retreat!

It felt like home (a gorgeous one) when we’d return at the end of the day, with the warm welcome we got from the owners and the enthusiasm from the guests, who were all as thrilled as we were with the inn. Jacki cooks healthy, delicious gourmet breakfasts on the weekends (with Brad's help) and “continental breakfasts” (more options than anticipated) during the week.

While this is designed as a retreat, there’s free wifi and Directv for those who want to keep in touch. We’ve been to some great getaways, but this inn was a standout!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DesertRat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
10.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
735 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,601 reviews
10.2 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
10.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 75 in Palm Springs
898 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Idyllwild
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Idyllwild Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Idyllwild Lodge

Address: 54820 Pine Crest Road, PO Box 4216, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range: £185 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Idyllwild Lodge is an unforgettable boutique luxury lodge nestled among the trees on over two acres of land. Located at the "top of the town," this breathtaking lodge features panoramic views of the pristine, idyllic San Jacinto Mountains, including a majestic backdrop of the monoliths Lily Rock and Tahquitz Peak. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing