We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive up the mountain.....charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fern Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fern Valley Inn
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth the drive up the mountain.....charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Our first day, brought bad weather so the drive up the mountain was not scenic. As Floridians the nail biting drive provided a sparse amount of guard rails, twisty curves and little fog/rain. When we arrived at the Fern Valley Inn, we found it to be quite charming. One of the new owners, Gary was more than happy to start our fireplace in our room (again we are from Florida).

We stayed in the school days themed room. The rustic charming room was decorated nicely and had a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The bathroom is a little small but none the less a full bath.

The little town of Idyllwild has cute little shops, coffee spots and restaurants. We ate at Joan's...."she's back", says the sign. Not sure where she went but the food was good so we are glad she's there.

Our second day there provided much better weather and some hiking. We would recommend this little gem of an Inn and say hi to Gary for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Congress, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We were completely charmed by Idyllwild and especially the Fern Valley Inn. The village is a quintessential California mountain town, but not as touristy. The inn is away from the village center enough to be extremely quiet. And pitch black at night! The stars were amazing. We stayed in the Rose Garden room and loved making a fire at night. Mim and Gary (one of the new owners) made us feel very much at home. They gave us a tour of the property so that we could see all of the cabins and rooms. There are 10, and each is unique. Gary has big plans to keep improving the place. We'll stay in one of the cabins next time. The one with the spiral staircase is really cute, and the one-bedroom unit near the office is also very nice. This is a special place!

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight if you want to walk after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbegross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Mim was friendly and let us choose from a huge variety of videos. She also warned us that our windshield wipers would stick if they weren't lifted up while it was snowing. We were able to take our son and our dog, and they both loved it. We stayed in Casa Romantica, which was near the pool. It would probably be too noisy in the summer, but it was great in the winter. The location is a few minutes from town. You could probably walk if it's warm weather outside. The fireplace and kitchen were great for our family. The stairs to the loft are narrow, so watch your step. We would definitely return. The grounds were especially pretty when it started snowing.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waterwomanRedlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is everything and more that I was hoping for when I came here. The setting is incredible, and the charming Inn is so fitting for the fresh air, trees, quiet, and great hospitality I was picturing. It's close to town - within walking distance to the quaint little coffee shops and galleries, yet just as close to the towering mountain peaks and only a 5 minute drive up the mountain to reach the hiking trails. The bustle of town is fun, but this is truly a relaxing place where you can just rewind and be. And I love the Woodpecker tree and raspberry plants!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guacamayera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

This is the third time we have visited Fern Valley Inn this year. We all love the wonderful hospitality of the owners, their friendly style, family-like setting, their love of pets, free wireless connection everywhere, clean and friendly rooms for lodging etc. My kids especially love the place, in fact they want to move here! I have the best impression of the Inn. I am on travel frequently visiting Europe, Asia among other places. I truly love coming here to relax, have fun, enjoy the outdoors and having wonderful time with friends. An amazing place all around, well worth spending a few days at the Fern Valley Inn in Idyllwild, California.
My son says that this is the best place to stay in Idyllwild and is better than Hawaii !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpsman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed at the Fern Valley Inn the night of 8/28 after enjoying our day at Jazz in the Pines. The owners of the Inn are very friendly and very accomodating. We stayed in the Elderberry cabin and it was very clean and very charming. My only complaint is that the bathroom was a little small, but I will solve that by renting a larger cabin next time. We arrived before the cabin was clean, but that was no problem for the owners. The bed was very comfortable and we slept great. They allowed us to store our luggage and put our groceries in the refrigerator. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idyllwild, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

The Fern Valley Inn is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are adorable, very clean. The setting is so peaceful. Owners are extremely welcoming. Recommend it HIGHLY

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GretchenTaylorDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Idyllwild hotels
1.0 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#7 of 12 in Idyllwild
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#3 of 9 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 12 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.0 mi away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 12 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Valley Inn

Property: Fern Valley Inn
Address: 25240 Fern Valley Road, PO Box 116, Idyllwild, CA 92459
Region: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Fern Valley Hotel Idyllwild

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing