We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little hideaway...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strawberry Creek Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
ChloeeCA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little hideaway...”
Reviewed 29 May 2008

We stayed in the Cottage at Strawberry Creek Inn. Everything was great from the moment we arrived. The Cottage was very romantic, comfortable, and charming. I must admit, shopping for a room online can be a bit risky. The Cottage is just as cute as it is on their website! I cannot describe it … everything was perfect. Enchanting little touches here and there. We paid the additional price to have breakfast at the main house (B&B) … and it was wonderful. Ian did everything to accommodate us as well as all guests. I cannot wait to go back, hopefully in winter!

  • Liked — The Cottage itself
  • Disliked — ...I loved the whole experience!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChloeeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    32
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
85
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
el cajon, ca
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

My husband and I visited Strawberry Creek B&B for a wedding being held at the property. Our room (upstairs) was nicely appointed, but very very small. The heating system left us no choice but to leave our window open the entire time. The lack of closet makes unpacking a nightmare and stowing luggage impossible. Our hosts tried their best, but appeared to be overwhelmed by the wedding party. There clearly were not enough seats to accomadate all the guests for breakfast. Our friends were staying at the cabin on the property and we spent time on their deck. The setting is lovely, but the noise from being right on the main road into town was distracting and not restful at all.
The wedding site was in a state of disrepair and also near the noisy road. The alternative site was a concrete slab between buildings. We spent $300.00 for two nights which we felt was a little excessive.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — noisy location, overheated room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irishis4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strawberry Creek Inn, Owner at Strawberry Creek Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2008
Weddings at B&Bs invariably attract guests who wouldn't normally stay at a B&B. This may be the case for the guest who wrote this review, and we are sorry that what should have been a joyous occassion was not enjoyable for them.
We do, however, feel that we should clarify a couple of points for the benefit of guests who are trying to make the difficult decision of where to stay for their upcoming trips:
1) We don't have a "concrete slab between buildings" or wedding locations that are "in disrepair". For the one wedding we had during the month mentioned in this review, the bride and groom visited our site many times before the wedding date and very carefully chose where they wanted to have the wedding long in advance of any guests arriving. There was no discussion of "alternate sites" once guests arrived, since that decision was already made by the bride and groom before the wedding date.
2) We have enough breakfast seating to very comfortably accommodate the number of guests we are legally allowed to serve (ie, the maximum number of overnight guests staying with us). Any additional guests beyond this number would have been in violation of our agreement with the bride and groom, and of the California health code.
3) While the wedding in question was quite "festive" (one of the guests decided after accidently locking himself out of his room that instead of ringing the doorbell or calling our 24-hour answering service he would simply kick down the door!) we were certainly not "overwhelmed". We actually thought that overall the event was quite beautiful and guests seemed to enjoy themselves.
The only possible explanation we can come up with for the inaccurate statements in this review is that the "door-kicker" thought this was an appropriate way to retaliate for being billed for the destroyed door jamb (he really thought he shouldn't be responsible for it. In his words, "I had to keep my girlfriend warm". I must admit I kind of admire the chivalry, but not enough to justify the destruction of my home and business!
Whatever the motivation, it is unfortunate that our attempts, and those of a beautiful couple starting a new life together, to create a memorable experience ended in disappointment for ANY of the couple's carefully chosen friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2008

This was our first time at the Strawberry Creek Inn. One of our favorite radio stations (KCRW) was doing its drive and offered two nights stay so I grabbed it and used it to spend our 12th anniversary. What a delightful surprise! You can tell they spent time in all the details, the antiques and they definitely thought of everything we might need in our room, like a knife and wine opener, etc... even the bathroom faucet was special. The main house is comfy and decorated with warmth and class. We spent time there looking through photos and listening to someone playing on the piano and looking through the town's restaurant menus and just sitting looking out at the snow.
Linda's care of us was as if we were family, and she cooked delicious gourmet breakfasts and I don't even eat breakast ...I couldn't help myself! Her evening (5:30 on the dot) snacks were exquisite too! She even served shrimp tempura! Linda is the cherry on the cake but what a cherry she is!
The room (autumn) was just right for us and very comfortable and romantic with the daily java log to burn and the delicious choc rasb candle. We are already planning to go back during the spring so we can enjoy the hammocks! Thank you Linda and everyone else that makes the Strawberry Creek Inn the jewel that it is. We loved it!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank SuperGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

I travel about 75 to 100 days a year for my job, so I have had a fair cross section of experiences to draw from to write this review. My wife, 5 year old son and his friend booked for two nights during the Christmas holiday. The experience was disappointing from start to finish.

First, on the morning we were heading out, we received a call from the Strawberry Inn's manager notifying us that they had received bad credit cards from other guests to hold their rooms so he unilaterally decided to charge our card before we arrived for the two nights that morning. On their website, it makes no mention of such a practice. We were going anyway, so we just chalked it up to an "interesting" event.

Upon arrival, the Manager notified us that we were going to have to pay an additional $20 per night for having kids in the room. Again, I spoke to them when I booked to tell them how many of us there were...and called back the day before arrival to confirm we had two queen beds. No mention was made about the additional charge until we checked in. So...we paid the fee and felt a bit "jipped", but kept up our good spirits.

Until...we got to the room. The room was "sparse" to say the least. The worst part was that the heating unit was in the window and had two settings: 1) Off or 2) full blast and HOT . In addition, it is so loud you could hardly talk in the room and watching TV was out of the question. We chose to keep the heat off and bundle up as the heat with the unit on was unbearable.

The first night was so aweful we decided to go home the second night..without a refund of course.

My recommendation...stay away from this place. They are dishonest and their rooms (at least the one we got) make the Motel 6 seem like a luxury resort.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank happytraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc K, Group General Manager at Strawberry Creek Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Please note that as of mid December 2016, the inn is under new ownership and management and undergoing significant investment in improvements, upgrades and revitalization as scheduling permits between guests' stays .

We deeply apologize for your experiences with the prior ownership and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

This was our first time at a B&B and we felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. We received courteous and friendly service from the owners Ian and Rodney. Our room was beautiful and spacious with a fire place, much nicer than I expected. The Inn is nestled in the woods and very quiet and serene. The breakfast was fabulous, very well done. I will definitely be back again very, very soon! Thanks for making this a great experience for us Ian and Rodney!

  • Liked — The rooms were great
  • Disliked — Going up the mountain
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank uscbizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We first found Strawberry Creek Inn 9 years ago but were unable to stay due to other commitments. However we promised ourselves we would return and stay, and we did! Rodney and Ian were very welcoming and Rodneys breakfasts were worth staying for on their own! The rustic charm of this Inn is wonderful and each room is full of treasures to enjoy. The beautiful town of Idyllwild is well worth spending time in. The shops are full of wonderful gifts and momentos. There is a good selection of restaurants which cater to most tastes, even a vegetarian like me! The locals are a very friendly bunch and clearly love their town, and with good reason.
The gardens at Strawberry Creek Inn are full of interesting nooks and crannies with a gazebo, a wild life natural habitat and decking area with hammocks amongst peaceful pine trees One afternoon we spent a couple of hours comfortably snoozing in the double hammock (although getting in and out of the hammock together was less than graceful!) If you stay quiet you will see squirrels, humming birds and woodpeckers.
The ambiance, peace and tranquility of Strawberry Creek Inn was so relaxing. Staying here made a great break from our tour of California. We were glad we eventually made it back.

  • Liked — The peace and tranquility
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchum, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2007

"Our home away from home"
After a half dozen weekend and weekday stays at the Strawberry Creek Inn I felt it time to share our thoughts about this unique and special B&B. After our first disappointing stay in another inn in town we searched around and decided this was the place for us -- quaint, but not overdone -- the owners, professional, but very 'accessible' -- not nosey or gushing and superficial.

Our first stay was perfect from the (surprise!) gourmet breakfasts to the engaging talks with Rodney and Ian. They openly shared their stories and how they ended up as Innkeepers from varied backgrounds and earlier professions -- very bright interesting young men. It all felt just right and we knew this would be our 'home away from home'. We were welcome here and the owner's wanted us to feel like family. Now after many stays, we and many of our friends and extended family have an Idyllwild family.

I would not say Strawberry Creek is a 'typical B&B', but why would one want to stay at a 'typical' anything? Rodney and Ian are warm, interesting, intelligent and engaging. If you want to re-live 'Life with Auntie Myrtle' you will not find it here. They do run a tight ship and they are more than accommodating to their varied clientelle. Some people want prompt service and to be left alone to their vacation adventure, others want to connect with new people. Rodney and Ian allow people to make what they want of their Idyllwild experience. Seems to work. It did for us!

I recommend this B&B heartily.

  • Liked — Warm and friendly inkeepers
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gariety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
24.1 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#2 of 9 in Idyllwild
155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#3 of 13 in Idyllwild
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 13 in Idyllwild
68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 13 in Idyllwild
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Creek Inn

Property: Strawberry Creek Inn
Address: 26370 Scenic Hwy 243, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Region: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil retreat that will rejuvenate your spirit and relax your body, the Strawberry Creek Inn offers peaceful luxuries and simple pleasures. Just two hours or less from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles and San Diego, the San Jacinto Mountains will envelope you in the rustic beauty of Idyllwild, California. * Walk along Strawberry Creek * Savor a homemade breakfast of fresh, organic ingredients * Read in the library * Bask in the summer sun * Snuggle in front of a roaring fire in winter Come visit and rediscover life’s quiet joys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Creek Hotel Idyllwild

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing