We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw it on Amazon Local”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strawberry Creek Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Grand Terrace, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We saw it on Amazon Local”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

and got the reservation (special discount) for a birthday present. The facility is large for a bed and breakfast with a big common area packed with curios, antiques and knick-nacks and a library area. It was fun to look at the fancy chickens out back and eat their fresh eggs. Our stay was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was very well prepared with their own original recipes. The owners were friendly but didn't interact much with the guests. Unfortunately we picked the smallest room out of nine. Nancy's Room. Nancy must have been a small girl. The shower/toilet was a closet. I feel sorry for larger people who make the same mistake we did. Reserve early and get one of the bigger rooms.

Room Tip: Reserve early or during the week and try for one of the larger rooms. They are very busy on the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    32
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
85
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Idyllwild is a beautiful little town nestled in the San Jacinto Mountain Range. Wonderful small artist's colony. A place for active folks of all ages. Excellent hiking. We decided to travel here to escape LA and the daily craziness. We chose the Strawberry Creek Inn due to the reports of the wonderful breakfasts and its proximity to Strawberry Creek and the town.
We stayed their separate cottage located near to the main building. There is a separate driveway entrance to the cottage (right next to the parking area for the Inn). We were booked at the cottage because we were a party of four, as the rooms in the main building are smaller. The main floor of the inn is wonderful. A literary paradise. Many books (fiction, art, history) and knick knacks carefully placed within the dining area and living room. A busy cluttered place given the amount of "things" present. This arrangement keeps the house guests occupied looking at the prints, sculptures, pottery and antiques. Many cozy sitting areas to relax and read. A good selection of DVDs.
The inn was full this weekend. Mainly active elderly couples. We opted for the breakfast service (you can opt out when you reserve the room). Tea and coffee service was available on the main first floor. Breakfast served at 9:00 AM. Although tasty and good, the breakfast was not great. Unless you had specific dietary restrictions (and they do inquire once you arrive, a thoughtful touch), the breakfast was a prepared meal pre-determined by the chef. The first morning, we had a peach cobbler with a chicken sausage and the following morning, an egg frittata, biscuits and a fruit compote.
The cottage accommodates up to four persons. It is lovely and is stacked with antique items and many knick knacks with a Parisian flair. On the first floor, there is a queen-size trundle bed that pulls out from the wall. We had planned for our kids to sleep here; unfortunately, it did not seem to hold any weight and sagged badly at the end. This bed could not be used. There is a bathroom on the first floor with a shower. Shower gel, shampoo, conditioner are from a dispenser on the wall. These items are made from coffee. The brown color and smell are quite odd. There is a placard with information in regard to these products. Initially, we were cautious to use these items, but on the second night found them quite pleasant.
The kitchen looks out to the backyard forested area and is well-stocked with utensils, cooking needs and appliances. There is a separate lovely eating area with table settings for four. This cottage is wonderful for a party who are interested in preparing their meals.
On the second floor, there is a king size bed; however to reach the second floor there is a straight precipitous stairway that leads upward around the corner from the living room and downstairs bathroom. The stairs are small and there is a low ceiling. At the top of the stairs, the room is spacious; however getting there requires a steady, careful gait and a slim body habitus. On this floor is a bathtub with jets (whirlpool) along with a small bathroom.
The cottage was too close to the highway for us. During the day, the traffic noise was easily heard and seemed continuous. At night, the sound was minimal, but in early morning would restart. Cannot not say if there is a noise concern in the main lodge accommodations.
Overall, the cottage was lovely and spacious. it was a bit much for us but it was our only option given the number in our party. It would have served us better if we were planning to prepare our own meals. We had difficulty working the TV but were able to use the DVD player without trouble. The heating and air-conditioning systems were in good order. The cottage was clean. We did not receive housekeeping services this weekend. We did not inquire as to the housekeeping policy while there.
On the grounds, there is chicken coop, bee boxes, a cat. The innkeepers, Ian and Rodney, are kind, but distant. Once you are assigned your lodging, they are absent except during breakfast times. Upon arrival, the introduction to their inn is brief. You have to work out things on your own. Written materials about Idyllwild (for first-time visitors) are available on the main floor.
We will probably try another location next time we visit Idyllwild. Our time there was good, but not great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greenacres_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc K, Group General Manager at Strawberry Creek Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Please note that as of mid December 2016, the inn is under new ownership and management.

We apologize for the disappointing experience you had with the prior ownership and management.

Many enhancements and renovations have been done or are coming spring/summer 2017, with over a quarter million dollars in upgrades and improvements during off-days when guests are not present! We've already completed installation of brand new carpeting throughout, including designer carpeting in the dining room, total renovation of all hardwood floors which now sparkle, and complete repainting and modernizing of the room's wall palette in the main inn house while retaining the historic character.

Our team hopes you'll give us another try this season; we think you'll be pleasantly surprised by all the great improvements and upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Here are the good points: lovely old house, fine furnishings, very clean, friendly & social people, comfy bed, great location in town, easy parking. The flipside: tiny shower, creaky floors, you get to hear all your neighbor's business through thin walls (yep, uh oh!), just OK breakfast, no A/C, and the world's tiniest TV. In some countries this would be a fantastic place, but not for $130 in California. Just my opinion.

Room Tip: We were in Nancy's room. OK size, small bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SCTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc K, Group General Manager at Strawberry Creek Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Please note that as of mid December 2016, the inn is under new ownership and management. We apologize for the disappointing experience you had with the prior ownership and management.

Many enhancements and renovations have been done or are coming spring/summer 2017, with over a quarter million dollars in upgrades and improvements during off-days when guests are not present, including an upgrade to the most ridiculously tiny TVs (we agree!!) We've already completed installation of brand new carpeting throughout, including designer carpeting in the dining room, total renovation of all hardwood floors which now sparkle, and complete repainting and modernizing of the room's wall palette in the main inn house while retaining the historic character.

We hope you'll give us another try soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I live a fast-paced life and my husband, in particular, works 70+ hours a week so getting "away" is a necessity for us. We went to the Strawberry Creek Inn for a weekday get-a-way and fell in absolute love with Strawberry Creek Inn!! I loved the location, I loved the people, I loved the town. The hammocks that were provided were amazing and so relaxing. My FAVORITE part was reading through other people's memories while we had wine. We stayed up and laughed all night long. We loved the experience so much that we are sending his daughter there for a birthday present. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Next time we are trying the cabin! They dont have a fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Would probably try another place next time (if we ever go back to Idyllwild). Place is nice, Santa Fe room was small but pleasant, although you might want to bring your own pillows if you are used to soft & fluffy under your head at night. Bed was also hard and if that was a "queen", then I'm Queen Latifah! Also, maybe not doing laundry in the room right next door at 8 am when the guest is showering would ensure that the guest have the warm water they need to finish off! However, breakfast was charming and a walk along creek in back was relaxing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc K, Group General Manager at Strawberry Creek Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Please note that as of mid December 2016, the inn is under new ownership and management.

We apologize for the disappointing experience you had with the prior ownership and management.

Many enhancements and renovations have been done or are coming spring/summer 2017, with over a quarter million dollars in upgrades and improvements during off-days when guests are not present! We've already completed installation of brand new carpeting throughout, including designer carpeting in the dining room, total renovation of all hardwood floors which now sparkle, and complete repainting and modernizing of the guest room wall palette in the main inn house while retaining the historic character.

Our team hopes you'll give us another try this season; we think you'll be pleasantly surprised by all the great improvements and upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I came to stay a couple nights the night after we got married. We just got home from our getaway and we're still reeling about how perfect this Bed & Breakfast was. It was SO wonderful. From the second you drive up you can feel the energy of this haven pulling you in. The entire property is warm and Ian and Rodney are gracious hosts. The Inn has it's own chickens [so fun to watch] and the breakfast is amazing. We fell in love right away and would recommend ANYONE to stay at this Inn. It was quiet, romantic, and simply lovely.

Room Tip: We loved the Autumn room. Felt like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I attended a writing workshop here and am dying to go back. Rodney and Ian are fabulous hosts who have created this cozy and comfortable Inn in an idyllic setting. The food was fabulous (but don't plan to stick to your diet). My room was simple yet comfortable and homey. I stayed in the Nancy room. The mattress is great, btw. I highly recommend the Strawberry Creek Inn. It's also within walking distance of town and has a trail out back. Oh and the eggs come straight from their own chickens (don't worry, no roosters on the premises). Delicious. You'll love it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moldovakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
11.0 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,889 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#3 of 9 in Idyllwild
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#4 of 13 in Idyllwild
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 13 in Idyllwild
66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 13 in Idyllwild
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Creek Inn

Property: Strawberry Creek Inn
Address: 26370 Scenic Hwy 243, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Region: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil retreat that will rejuvenate your spirit and relax your body, the Strawberry Creek Inn offers peaceful luxuries and simple pleasures. Just two hours or less from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles and San Diego, the San Jacinto Mountains will envelope you in the rustic beauty of Idyllwild, California. * Walk along Strawberry Creek * Savor a homemade breakfast of fresh, organic ingredients * Read in the library * Bask in the summer sun * Snuggle in front of a roaring fire in winter Come visit and rediscover life’s quiet joys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Creek Hotel Idyllwild

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing