We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've Got To Tell You....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
1 review
“I've Got To Tell You....”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The resort was at least a 30 minute drive from the airport (more during busy times) but once you get there you are in a distinct oasis of American opulence. I liked that it was clean, spacious and comfortable. The swimming pool area was especially well done with a couple of good hot tubs, various swimming pools (including one with a sand beach) and more lounge chairs than the pool users could fill! The hotel layout was a little complicated meaning long walks between reception and rooms and everything in between. I found it annoying that there were no stairs to walk down the one flight to get to the floor below in spite of the huge atrium view. Well, there were stairs but one would have needed to walk for 7 minutes to get to them. Elevators weren't all the fast or convenient either. The first staff member I met was not helpful and put us in a King bedroom when we'd requested 2 Queen beds. We waited until she was off the desk and then asked another staff member to sort out the problem. She was VERY helpful and gave us an upgrade to compensate us for the trouble. So, it was a pleasant stay and I wouldn't mind going there again. Palm Springs was a nice surprise in itself with no flashy casino signs or tacky night life. Shopping is plentiful as was hiking in the beautiful mountains all around the town. We chose it in part as it was a direct flight from Chicago and promised sunshine in February!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagEllenMuskoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your recent review and we appreciated the feedback. We strive to provide exemplary service and introduce our new guests to all the wonderful things the Palm Springs area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    430
    140
    70
    50
See reviews for
365
320
39
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We decided last minute to leave the snow of Utah and head to Palm Springs over New Years. We ended up booking the Renaissance Esmeralda Resort and Spa and had a lovely stay. The staff of this hotel was extremely helpful and pleasant to work with. The rooms were large but were average. Since it was around Christmas time, the lobby was tastefully decorated with an amazing 40 foot decorated Christmas tree.

We spent a ton of time at the pool. It was huge and our kids had a great time. There were a few citrus trees and I really enjoyed plucking a few tangerines each morning and eating them fresh (not sure if I was allowed to do this, but couldn't resist).

The rooms were a little tired and just one elevator sometimes created a traffic jam. All in all, we would stay here again and glad we went. I put more details on our blog: www.worldfamilytravellers.blogspot.com

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utahfamilytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed on the 7th floor overlooking the pool- beautiful view, quiet and relaxing- room tastefully decorated, large lanai ( not all rooms have), large bathroom, we also had a small fridge- nice for families..

Loved the pool, the firepits, the sushi bar and the poolside service on 85 degree days.. Family friendly and plenty of shade and sun...
A great getaway- we really didn't ever need to leave the hotel..

Staff was super helpful...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel,next to the IW club (Golf Course)& dare I say it the Hyatt which I've stayed at before. Very nice hotel, convenient for the golf, various bars & restaurants on site, service very good & good looking pool with a man made beach. If I'd knwon it was next to the Hyatt I may have stayed there, subject to price but this is still a very good hotel. The elavators are a single point of falure, apparently cant use stairs which causes congestion in the elavators, this would be my only gripe.

Room Tip: Either pool views or golf course, not pointing towards rte 111 or the front would be my recommendati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrWiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reno
Level Contributor
161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Nice salt water sandy area with gradual incline ino pool area. It is not a sandy bottom pool like at disney resorts, but kids will like soft sand that is buildable like at beach. Great part is ordering drinks and food poolside. Nice CAvA resturant. Corner rooms are ample, 4th floor room that I had face front of hotel away from pool, but was spacious, clean, two queen beds. Shower not spectacular, just a tub n shower head. Decent conditions, I did not see any run down areas, everything was well maintained and updated. Camp oasis for kds on sight, parents can have free time. $125/night, room was great value. Service at front dek checkin could be more informative. Front desk night check in person was apathetic. Free slf parking. valet $25. Platinum gift is usual 500 points bonus or amenity. spa. resort fee is reuced to $13 for platinum then you get free wifi n parking?

Room Tip: corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
We so appreciate your comments and are delighted that you and the family had a great visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for a business meeting. This is a beautiful property in a good location. Hotel staff are pleasant and helpful. Food is good. No need to valet park, as free parking is plentiful and convenient. Pool area is extensive and outstanding. Fitness center is adequate, but may be a little small for a larger group.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesdogs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Va
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel was in one of the most Gorgeous settings I have ever seen. Just driving up to the hotel was amazing and you can sit by the pool or at the restaurant looking at stunning views. The people were also very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Exceptionally comfortable bed. All around great. My only objection also happened at another Renaissance Hotel. Incessant music! Piped in at the entrance and at the pool. Our room was right above the entrance so we had to listen to annoying music all the time. Until late at night even. My husband agreed that it was very annoying. Why can't people be allowed to just plug into music they like when they want it or better yet - QUIET. Why do hotels think you want to listen to the music they choose constantly!

Room Tip: If you like quiet, I guess you could ask for a room to the side - not near front entrance or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florencia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Address: 44400 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, CA 92210-8708 (Formerly Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa California Desert
Indian Wells Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing