We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Gounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely Gounds”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I'll start with the property, Beautiful! So many conversation areas scattered around the water falls. I enjoyed reading after breakfast outside by the waterfalls. So very peaceful, I even fell asleep one day! Fire pits lit at night. The pools were beautiful. Sand beach area for the children. It was warm the week I was there, so the pools were great. Pools side service was great. Now to my room. I had a corner unit, Jr. suit. View of the golf course. The room was smartly decorated. However, the bed was horrible. I could not get comfortable. My husband hated it. Very clean. The TV, nice flat screen, had limited stations. Bathroom was cool, but the shower faucet was funky and did not work well. Both toilet paper and tissues were like sand paper. Might have been the earth friendly stuff, but it was so scratchy. I went to RiteAid and bought my own box of tissue. Nice little gift shop with Brighton products, Cute little coffee shop. Had a few meals at Cava. Very good service. Food was very good. Room service was quick and good. I did not use the Spa services. I would return again. Hopefully, they will do something about the horrible beds

Room Tip: Corner room if possible. 4th floor or higher. Golf course view is really beautiful. There is a beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgnflyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    438
    143
    76
    52
See reviews for
377
323
40
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
858 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a great time at this hotel- however, despite the name of the room we requested (and paid for), it was not really a golf view room. First, the room itself was nicely decorated, in muted colors. The room was very clean, and bed comfortable. There was a small balcony, which was not that useful, as there were no chairs provided. We wanted a golf view, and chose the corner room for more space...that was probably the mistake. Room 5042 was large, and a corner room, but it looked out over the front of the hotel- the valet area, and any golf course view was across the self parking lot at the practice range. There is no way I would consider this a golf view. It was disappointing. It seems there are rooms that look directly out to the course, so if you really want a golf view, I would call- we tried to move rooms, but by the time we checked in and saw our view, there were no other golf view options. It would be helpful if the website actually had pictures of the typical view from the rooms. The pool was great, the pool bartender was very friendly, and the fire pits on the terrace were wonderful. The property is very clean, and everyone was helpful.

Room Tip: Verify you will actually look out directly onto the golf course if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your resort experience. I’m so pleased to hear that you got a chance to enjoy our outdoor amenities. I’m very sorry that your guest room did not provide the view you had anticipated and that we weren’t able to provide you with an alternative choice due to unavailability of another golf view room. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Coachella Valley one day soon and from all of us at Renaissance Esmeralda, we wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the Esmeralda for just one night on a holiday weekend. We got a 'Corner Room' which i would definitely recommend...for the extra space. The pool is very relaxing and kid friendly - best part about the stay was the pool bartender, TONY - the best service Ever!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowkitty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Got a really good deal on my stay here. Our first night, occupancy seemed pretty low -- not very many other people were around. It was more crowded the second night, since it seemed like there was a wedding or other event at the property. Still, both nights, service was personal and friendly. All employees would smile and say hello.

Overall:
The property itself is not new, but has been renovated and looks really nice. There are several pools (all near each other), and several restaurant options. The gym was well-equipped and not particularly crowded. Self-parking is pretty convenient.

Location:
You're about a half hour from Palm Springs and about an hour from Joshua Tree National Park. We didn't explore Indian Wells or Palm Desert, but the scenery in the area is very nice.

Room:
We had a fairly standard room, but it was well-appointed. It had a small balcony, and the finishes were high-quality (especially in the bathroom).

Dining:
We ended up eating both nights at Cava. Prices at all the restaurants are *high*. However, Cava had a buffet option that was a relatively good value at $30 per person. The first night, it was a seafood buffet. The second night, it was a prime rib buffet. Both nights included dessert, and it was all very delicious. The wait staff at Cava was especially friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience at the resort. We'll be sure to share your accolades with the team which are very much appreciated! We hope you will come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Excellent hotel, only had one night before having to move to the Miramar hotel around the corner. This hotel was definitely better and had nicer rooms and views over the golf course. Great course as well. Really liked the place

Room Tip: Get a view over the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband & I stayed one night at the Esmeralda, wish it could've been longer. The beds we very comfortable and the room was clean. We really enjoyed the poolside bar and was able to watch Sunday football as we relaxed in the pool. Tony was our bartender and he provided top-notch customer service!!! Next time we return we plan on taking the kids so they can enjoy the sandy beach area by the pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapeReality007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice hotel with well-appointed, comfortable rooms. Outside is not very attractive (looks big and institutional), but inside is well done. Pool area is expansive, great for families. Surrounding golf courses are fantastic, definitely a golfer's paradise. Skip the sushi bar.

Room Tip: Corner rooms, higher floors are best. Views of golf course and pool are preferred. Stay away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sybarite4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your guest review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the guest rooms. We are indeed located in a golfer’s paradise and hope you had the opportunity to get in a round or two. Please come back and see us and consider trying the sushi bar again as it sounds like you didn’t have the excellent experience that we strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.3 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Address: 44400 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92210-8708 (Formerly Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa California Desert
Indian Wells Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing