We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We recently spent two nights at this resort and enjoyed it very much. The grounds are spectacular. There is a huge pool area for lounging including a sandy beach and a pool bar.
There were a lot of families with children in the resort and the children were loving it.
We read reviews before we booked and asked to be in a higher floor room facing the pool. You would not want a room facing the highway at the back.
The front desk was very accommodating and we had an excellent, large and airy room with a king bed. There is a resort fee, which is becoming common I think, but there were a lot of amenities included so it was fair. Be aware that you can book this through Priceline and get a very good rate, even during Christmas holidays and at the last minute. I would return here in a minute. It is well located for seeing the sights and near many golf courses for golfers.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or mountain view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimmerlinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    418
    132
    69
    48
See reviews for
353
307
37
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

visited the hotel for business reasons, was a back-up for main location where the conference was held, shuttle service was ok, but renaissance looked far away, hotel room was located in the most remote area of the building (looked like a one mile walk), swimming pool outdoor was good, nobody there at 7h00 am

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marnix V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this great kid friendly hotel. We have a 15 month old, just turned 3 and 6 year old and all 3 could literally play in the pool and go in and out into the sand and pool while we sat on shore observing with our pool side drinks and amazing view. Priceless! My daughter kept saying-this is just like Hawaii! We stayed at the kauai marriott beach resort recently (also awesome for young kids) so she was comparing. The pool needs updating but it's still nice. The restaurants are fine but expensive. 24 for Buffett breakfast but the kids always found something they loved. We often did sushi for dinner and ordered food pool side during the day. We just went the week before Xmas and the hotel had amazing kid activities all week! Besides pool side fun, we had free horse carriage rides, cooking decorating, toy making, s'mores by the awesome fire pits and caroling. My kids never tired of the pool and sandy beach. We originally got a standard room but moved to a larger corner room which was huge with big windows and great views. It was quite a walk to the pool so ask for a room near the pool and the view of it is neat. Other tips? If you want something-ask for it! Like sand toys-they will bring out a huge tub of toys if you ask. This place is really near the living desert zoo-awesome and we also enjoyed going to shields date farm. Really our only complaints were food prices (which are typical resort prices) and that the pool area could use some updating.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the resort. We are so pleased that you could join us during our holiday festival, 12 Days of Esmeralda, and are delighted to know that the whole family got to partake in our fun activities. Wishing you and your family all the best in 2014 and hoping we get the pleasure of serving you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed the weekend of December7th, and while the corner room I had was lovely and spacious, it overlooked the tennis courts and back parkade entrance by the event center. On Saturday at 6:30 am, a maintenance worker felt that was a great time to use his leaf blowing machine to clean the cement areas directly below that corner of the hotel. The noise was unbelievably loud and continued for over half an hour. On Sunday morning, the noise began at 7:30 am. I'm all for getting up early to enjoy the amenities of the hotel, but to be so rudely awakened on the weekend was totally uncalled for. I did call down to the front desk on Sunday and was assured that security would be notified, however the noise continued for over half an hour. Upon checkout, I was not asked how my stay was, so I mentioned this very loud annoyance to the desk clerk and was offered a shrug and sympathetic look in response. I was going to book a few nights for my family to return to the resort in a few weeks, but based on this experience and the lack of concern, I will be booking elsewhere. Otherwise lovely hotel and great bar. The cleanliness of the room and attention to detail by the housekeepers was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CADTraveller154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and appreciate your kind words about our housekeeper department. We are however, so sorry about the noise caused by our landscapers at such an early hour and disappointed that our front desk team member did not extend more of an apology to you. Please know that we have addressed this with our team as your total comfort and happiness are our success. We would really love the opportunity of having you back and hope you will reconsider and bring the family. Wishing you the happiest of holidays from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had stayed at this resort about 7 years ago and enjoyed. But had to go out to the area last month for family issue.
We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Marriott had renovated the resort recently and the place was just amazing and beautiful.
They now offer food from a couple of different venues, from Sushi to American to local Mexican influence. All delicious. We happened to get one of the most requested rooms (per the bellman, which we really needed at the time) in the resort with a top floor view, full balcony, overlooking the entire pool area. At night when it was all lit up with all the lights, it was just beautiful. I would recommend staying at the Renaissance without any questions. It may be a little pricey, but was Definitely worth every dollar spent.
The staff, and I mean everyone, were so nice and friendly, and willing to answer any question or meet any of our needs. Just a pleasant experience without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that have a full balcony (about 10 ft. x 12 ft.) overlooking the pool when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Ford_949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordyce, Arkansas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This property has a nice location, but if you want to stay here, make sure you stay in the main tower and not on the east wing. If you are in the east wing, you could have a three minute walk to your room. The east wing is adjacent to the parking garage, which could be convenient, except the east wing elevator was out of service about half the time. One if our party had sewage bubble up from his shower drain. My television did not work. Service was good, and prices were not outrageous, but too many issues for more than a three star review.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank santhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please know that our elevator is back to working order and we are very sorry that it was out of service during your stay. We would very much appreciate if you could email Dilly.Perera@renaissancehotels.com<mailto:Dilly.Perera@renaissancehotels.com> with your reservation information so that we can make sure everything is in excellent order with all guest rooms. We hope you will change your mind and come back and visit us soon so that we can provide an unparalleled Indian Wells getaway experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at the hotel on 11-20-3014 and the front desk staff made a $300 error on my bill which I did not discover until I checked by statement. (I was charged for part of another guest's stay). I left 2 messages with the person in charge of accounting and my calls were never returned. I then called the front desk manager who said she would correct the error and never did. Now calling for the 4th time. I don't have time for this kind of back and forth and furious at the poor level of service. Will not be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwright586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We apologize for any billing errors and would very much like to discuss and resolve for you as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, we have no way of researching this on our end without your contact information. Could you please email EsmeraldaBilling@renaissancehotels.com in attention to "Controller" and we will rectify any inaccuracies. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.1 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Address: 44400 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, CA 92210-8708 (Formerly Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa California Desert
Indian Wells Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing