We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We have been going to the desert every year for the last 10 years and have stayed at many hotels, but none compare to the Esmeralda. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating and really make our stay enjoyable.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank Surfrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2008

A good hotel which had good service and was great value for money (£195) for three nights in a excellent room with views of the pool and the mountains. Hotel service was good especially as we followed the Labour Day public holiday. Hotel food was good although there are many good restaurants within 5 or 10 minutes drive of the hotel. If you book in the hotel I would request a top floor over looking the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriscrazycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

I love the clean rooms with comfy beds; sitting outside drinking cocktails in the evening; and, the availability of a babysitter. This year we didn't leave the premises for four days: room service was great and poolside service was quick (although it does need a greater selection). Our ten-year old loves this place as much as her parents do!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SacFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

We took a spontaneous trip to the desert and stayed at the Renaissance Esmeralda Resort after booking through an online bidding site. It was a beautiful resort! Since we were there mid-week it wasn't very crowded, which was nice. The pool area is very nice, but I will agree with others on this site that it was too shallow. It was nice for wading and floating, but if you want to swim laps, then it is not that good. It seemed to be great for kids though. There were lots of lounge chairs to relax in and very friendly pool service. (Margie was our waitress and she was very attentive.) The rooms were very large and well appointed. The beds were comfortable, there was a very large plasma tv, a sitting area, and a small balcony with a nice view of the pool. The bathroom was nice as well with lots of space. I would disagree with one of the earlier posters on this site--the room was very nice and typical of a 4-star resort (not small and dingy at all.) We had brunch at Cava. It was $22 and had pretty much everything you'd want--an omelette bar, fresh fruit, sausages & bacon, waffles, etc. Very tasty! A couple months ago we stayed at the Marriott resort in Palm Desert. That one was much larger and seemed to attract a rowdier crowd. The Esmeralda was more intimate and seemed more family-friendly overall.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank strux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

We stayed here on Labor weekend so the hotel was really busy with families. The hotel is not the best looking from the outside - our taxi driver joked that it looked like a veterans hospital! Inside was nice. Our rooms (on the seventh floor) were huge and luxurious. We had great views to the mountains at sunset. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was great. We ate in the hotel a few times. There is a coffee shop which is great for a caffeine fix or a quick breakfast. We had lunch and dinner (buffet) in the main restaurant. The food was good with a lot of choice and it was also great value. The bar on the Saturday night had a band playing and it was a good fun night. The bar was closed on the Sunday night - we thought this was a bit odd given that it was a holiday weekend.
The pool area was busy which was understandable given it was the holiday weekend. It would be good to have an adult only pool too. They had just opened a new gym which was great (open 24 hours) with good new machines and a sauna and steam room. There is also a spa which looked really nice (but quite pricey).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flightsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My family and I stay at the Renaissance Esmeralda every summer. Just a short drive from Los Angeles, it's the perfect getaway. If you have AAA you can get great summer rates. Our daughter loves the sand area that leads right into the pool. Tons of lounge chairs and umbrellas that surround the various pools. The food by poolside is good. I can't comment on the restaurant because we generally head down the road a bit to eat elsewhere. One of our favorite places to dine is Don Diegos. Located at the Indian Wells Village on 111 highway about 2 miles from the hotel. Great food, great prices, and great margaritas!

Another favorite we love about the hotel are the dive-in movies (generally shown Wednesday nights, but check first with the hotel). Enjoyable family entertainment at night--sitting in the pool or poolside watching a movie. Last year we saw "the Incredibles" and this year was "Everyone's Hero."

The rooms are spacious and clean. I'm picky when it comes to hotel room cleanliness and the rooms are well kept. They've upgraded the televisions to flat screen and while we were there, they were in the process of making all rooms wi-fi. We love coming here and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelElixirBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

My family (2 adults, 3 children- aged 6-12) stayed at the Esmeralda for two nights. We were amazed at the quality of service we received here, as well as the beauty of the resort. We arrived later than we expected and hadn't eaten in several hours, traveling from NY. The hotel restaurant (Cava) was about ot close, yet they fed us well! My kids and husband LOVED the pool! Even during peak hours, you have your own space and everyone we came into contact with was respectful of that space. The waterfall and small pool underneath it is a big hit with kids, as well as the gently sloping "beach" area. They even have "dive-in" movies every other night! Our view was INCREDIBLE!!!! All five of us fit nicely in the double queen room and were not on top of each other. Standing on the private balcony at night is beautiful, especially if you order the strawberries and champagne from the concierge! You will not be disappointed by this place!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelinMommy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Address: 44400 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92210 (Formerly Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range: £159 - £534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the natural beauty of Indian Wells, California from Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa. Our sophisticated hotel resort is a restful sanctuary set agains the backdrop of the beautiful Coachella Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa California Desert
Indian Wells Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing