We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service, overcrowded and noisy pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“great service, overcrowded and noisy pool”
Reviewed 29 July 2007

The service here is so impeccable that I hate writing anything negative about the hotel. Everyone bent over backwards to see that we wanted for nothing, the service was so phenomenal it was like a 5 star hotel from that perspective. The room and bathroom were lovely and the food better than most hotels at this level. So what is the negative?: The pool.....it was so packed (and this was the middle of summer when it is almost 110 degrees) it was hard to find a chair and the chairs are so close together it was hard to walk. I felt bad for the servers who wove their way in and out. The pool was mediocre (and it's not 5 pools as the website says-its one big pool area broken up with concrete walkways) and not very clean. Clearly a family hotel, it was wall to wall kids with all sorts of things in the pool which made it even more crowded. If you have kids, this would be a great place. If you want to relax, it's a big no....

  • Liked — Service, room
  • Disliked — pool, noisiness, crowded
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinghopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    428
    137
    70
    50
See reviews for
363
316
39
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

We recently returned from a weekend stay at another hotel that was pricier than this one and realized what a wonderful stay we had at the Esmeralda.

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of March. We found this hotel to be extremely kid-friendly from the beginning when our daughter was given a goody bag at check-in.

The room was very comfortable and clean. Since it faced the central open courtyard we thought it would be noisy but it wasn't.

The pool was perfect. Not too deep and quite big. We could always find chairs and there were numerous floating mats to be had. The small beach area was a big hit and they even provided sand toys. We were very impressed with the poolside food service. It was efficient, courteous, and the food was hot on arrival. They also had a number of healthier options!

While we were there, they had a "dive-in" movie which was a big hit with our daughter. She got to watch a movie from the pool and lounge in a pool chair. What a treat!

We were also very impressed by the on-site restaurant. They had a kids eat free policy so we never paid for our daughter's food and they brought her a special dessert for her birthday.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for a quick LA getaway. I think it would be fabulous in the heat of the summer because the rates go down and the pool is great.

  • Liked — Great service and pool
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candyice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2007

This is the best Resort I have stayed at. The Italian Sirocco Rest. was the best I have ever eaten at! The rooms were elegent and the staff very accomodating a friendly.
The pool had a great feel, not the kids that the other review showed? A great stay....

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank walshbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
235 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2007

The Renaissance Esmeralda Resort and Spa is located at the edge of Palm Springs, on extensive grounds and with all of the glitter that you would expect of a five-star Marriott property. The hotel, located half an hour from the airport, is built around a large and airy interior atrium, which opens onto a vast pool area. There is an attached golf course, and the hotel looks geared towards the convention and meeting trade with entry-level shops and starbucks, large lower-level meeting rooms, and spacious executive rooms. The staff is friendly, attentive, and visible: you seldom go anywhere without being greeted with a smile. The restaurants are quick and efficient, and the food is good. ***

Check-in is handled attentively in a separate lobby to the far right of the main entrance: clerks are calling out to help as you enter the lobby. There are large public and promonade spaces leading to the guest elevators, and rooms are arranged around the large atrium and on wings extending around the pool area. The rooms are large and comfortable, outfitted in warm desert tones with firm beds, large working desk, TV, minibar, and a small porch. The bathroom is large, with the toilet in a separate alcove from the main washbasins and shower-tub. The water is slow to warm up and of moderate pressure, they have a large array of toiletries included on the counter. ***

All in all, this should be a 4-star property: however, there are innumerable little things that they just don't get. Coffee in the room was only replaced every couple of days; towels were taken away without being replaced (I had to chase down the maid), At meals, the fish was somewhat dry and there never seemed to be a sauce: we couldn't get the waiter to bring wine for dinner. The pool bar closed at 9 pm one day, 4 pm the next (there is a small and grumpy bar just inside from the pool and a large adult's-only lounge with music and dancing further inside the hotel). Public telephones had been removed from the meeting area; there was a 9.95 per day charge for in-room internet access. The golf course is dug up for rennovation. ***

Unusually, the weekdays and weekend that we were there, the hotel was absolutely filled with small children (<10 y.o.). I love kids, but in this case they completely overwhelmed the pool (they show cartoon movies for an in-pool party each evening), the public areas, and the elevators. Coupled with several large weddings also on the property, the hotel can feel very busy and crowded despite the extensive spaces. ***

It was surprising to find so many small lapses in a property with the infrastructure and staff in place to be so much better: avoid rooms overlooking the pool and plan on having cocktails early...

  • Liked — Facilities, staff
  • Disliked — Internet fees, spotty room service, strange restaurant service
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

I stayed here with my girlfriend over memorial day weekend and I needed a vacation after this vacation. if you are not bringing your children here for a family experience, this is not the place to stay. We had an idea we were in trouble when we checked in and the front desk clerk looked extremely surprised when we informed her that we only needed two wristbands for the pool and had no children with us. When we arrived at the pool, there were no chairs available - not a single one. The hotel workers eventually began bringing additional chairs to the grassy area just outside of the pool gates. However, there were still more people looking for a place to sit than available chairs. When we finally were able to have extra chairs brought out and put ourstuff down, we wanted to go in the pool to avoid the heat since there was no umbrella's for shade. Sitting in the pool was more stressful than a day at work. Kids were everywhere: screaming, throwing toys, crying, yelling, laughing, splashing, jumping, playing, etc. While the parents and their children seemed to be having a good time, there was not a relaxing moment to be found. Additionally, as a previous review stated, they was an very mixed crowd of people and english was definitely the second language being used. This did not bother me at all, it just seemed like we were in another country. Finally, in regards to the guests, the crowded and hot environment led to there being some horrible acting people, I am not sure if they act this way under normal circumstances, but many of the the guests seemed ready to explode at any moment. The pool experience was the same for the 2 days we were there.

The rooms are fine, nothing special, but clean and the beds were comfortable. Parking was easy. The hotel itself is a very nice property. However, if you want a calm and relaxing experience, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYLA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

Checked in recently on Saturday in the afternoon. After settling in the room, we went down to the pool area to relax, what a mistake! The pool area was covered with trash and food floating in the pool. We were unable to get service for refreshment, because of lack of staff. They were working extremely hard but simply not able to keep up with the volume of people, trash pick up was for the same reason.It was quite obvious that for relaxation you should not pick this property on the weekend, just too many kids, its fine for the family with kids. Since renovation, the room was nicely done and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The property claims to have adult pool area, but separation was not clearly defined and it was free for all. Sunday was wonderful, it was like a different hotel.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Dirty pool area and noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bento2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2007

As I live in northern San Diego, I often visit the Palm Springs/Palm Desert/La Quinta area, but only when I can get a bargain deal on a room. I've stayed in most of the nicer hotels in the area, and to me, this one is one of the very best - especially if you can pick it up for a nice rate on Priceline or Hotwire.

The rooms are not large, but very nicely appointed, and the service is excellent. The common areas are beautiful, and the pool, with an artificial beach on one end, and an attractive bar/grill on the other end, is quite nice. It's in the midst of the well regarded Indian Wells Golf resort, but I don't golf, so I can't speak to that. As for the on-site restaurants, I don't have an opinion, because the surrounding area is loaded with great restaurants that offer excellent, varied choices.

  • Liked — Rooms, Pool, Service
  • Disliked — no issues, really
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D1andonlyDman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Address: 44400 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, CA 92210-8708 (Formerly Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa California Desert
Indian Wells Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing