We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Date Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Have stayed here several times. Don't be discourage by the fleet of construction trucks in the front parking lot in the evening. The drivers are quiet, and they are gone before 8 am every morning. I like Building One, even though there are 3 bldgs, the other 2 are in the process of renovation. Great pool and convenient breakfast. Don't hesitate to ask staff for anything- if the juice, eggs/biscuit areas are low and it's before 9:30 am they are very accommodating. Beds are very comfortable and the hotel is extremely quiet. Won't try any place else when I'm in transit to Arizona or on cross country trips. It is a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank CathyfromSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

CathyfromSLO,

What can we say, Cathy: nothing makes us happier to come in to work and read your review in all of our staff meetings. We love to hear about customer service acumen...as it is something that we pride ourselves in on an everyday basis.

Bottom line is saliently simple: we are in the hospitality industry and our job--and the main one--is to take care of each and every customer. And your review seemed to sum that up in succinct fashion.

We are glad you have stayed with us in the past. And even more: we are thrilled that you are now a loyal Best Western Date Tree guest.

Look forward to seeing you on your next trip out to Indio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I first started coming to this hotel in 1982. More than 30 years ago. I still come back, every couple of years, for a week or two. She is a magnificent lady, the "queen of the desert" and I love her dearly.

What first drew me to this hotel was the pool and the grounds. Absolutely incredible. The largest pool in the desert area (I believe it is Olympic size) Always quiet, clean, never crowded. I can catch some rays on the huge patio, sitting in those terrific chairs, dip in the pool, and never see another person. (It is still off season) Bring the kids. They will never get out. The grounds are beautiful. Golf green lawns, palm trees, cactus, everything spotlessly maintained.

Lobby and staff are friendly and helpful. Check in/out is always quick.

Rooms and buildings have all been renovated and updated. Maid service is efficient and thorough. Beds are comfortable, air conditioning works well - but these are older style air units, and they are a bit noisy. The rooms, hallways etc are all of a size and type that was designed and built 40 years ago. Not the most modern of windows and doors. But everything works. Its clean, comfortable and quiet.

When I first came here 30 years ago, Date Tree was one the first hotels to offer a "continental" breakfast. It was an assortment of white powdered donuts or -- white powdered donuts. No selection at all. Coffee was included. This was a big thing back in the "day". Its come a very long way. Huge selection of cereals, fruits, hot foods.....and donuts. But no white powdered. Very nice. You can seat yourself outside as well.

I love this hotel. I will keep coming back, and I can strongly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Brenda T,

Wow! This review almost seems like a paid advertisement. And so, so, so, so grateful you took the time to share you experiences of staying here over the past 30 plus years. And I feel like changing our marketing campaign, as per your brilliant description of the Date Tree, to the Queen of the Desert.

Classic!

You really did promulgate some key points about our hotel--and some very astute observations. One of the biggest: that we were built 40 years ago so we are MUCH LARGER then the cookie cutter hotels that get built now. And this hotel has a distinctive and hip and Rat Pack-Retro vibe that really seems to fit(at least in many people's mind)the whole ethos of the desert lifestyle. And with our constant room renovations and upgrades we may be 40 years old but the rooms have all the modern amenities.

As for the pool and the grounds: we really do feel this our biggest selling point. There is no hotel in Indio that has a larger pool area--or more seating at the pool. And yes: usually it is very relaxing and peaceful to be out by the pool. And our grounds can be a challenge, as we are so big, but we feel very proud of the desert landscape mixed with the grass area to createa very soothing and salubrious feel.

Or so we hope.

So again: thanks for such a descriptive and from-the-heart review. It means everything to us. And please, next time you are at our hotel give me a call. I want to meet the person who has been coming here for the past 30 years. Heck, we may even name on of Suite Rooms after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here after seeing a concert at the Fantasy Springs Casino. Most of the hotels nearby were completely booked. When we first arrived, the guy at the front desk was so friendly and welcoming! It was so nice to be greeted by a smiling face. He was so informative and gave us all the info we could need for dining nearby. I thought it was a nice touch that they had fresh ice cold lemonade in the lobby for arriving guests. The room was great. Very clean and the air was already on, which was nice. The wifi was easy to connect to and the Internet speed was actually pretty fast. The room had everything we needed, there was no need to request anything more. The hotel also offers a full breakfast in the morning and it was delicious. They had fresh coffee with chilled cream, waffles, eggs, bacon, different breads, yogurts, cereal, biscuits with gravy, pastries, juices, etc. There were plenty of options and I liked that they offered healthy options as well like the yogurt with granola and fresh fruit. Also, their pool and spa are open 24 hours! Although I didn't get a chance to get in, this is the first hotel I stay at where the pool does not close, so that is a plus for me. It looked very clean. Overall, my stay was comfortable and I would highly recommend this Best Western if you are in the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Danigurl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Danigurl13,

What a pleasure to ready your review on TripAdvisor this morning. Our goal, our mantra, our mission statement is to provide JUST the sort of experience you so thoughtfully expatiated in your post on the Best Western Date Tree Hotel.

We know this: it truly is our customer service that sets us far and away ahead of our competition. We truly do have a staff that cares--and even more, a staff that truly takes ownership and pride in what they providing each and every day.

And reading a review like you took the time to write truly inspires us to keep doing what we are doing...and to keep looking for more ways to improve and enhance the the guest experience when staying at our hotel.

Hope the concert you saw was a good one--and we look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Indio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the Best Western in Indio after a Dodgers game in Los Angeles on a Friday night. We didn't get to the hotel until 1:30 a.m. and they were having computer issues. The woman at the front desk could not have been nicer while she tried to work through the problems, and she got just mad enough to let me know that she really cared about getting us in our room. When we got to the room it was clean, and large. The pool was open 24 hours, but I waited until the following morning to us it. We needed a cord for our camera, and the front desk helped us find a Target and Radio Shack, and gave us directions to the best place to get pictures of the Salton Sea. This is really the last nice hotel before you hit a long stretch of nothing on Route 10, so I would stay there again if I am doing the L.A. to Phoenix trip after a Dodgers game in the future............and I hope I will be doing that again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAB40AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Rab40AZ,

My biggest question for you is t his: a Dodger fan and you live in Arizona?! Now that is shocking. That said: we loved hearing your comments about our hotel--and were especially gratified to hear that our staff took care of you when you came to the desk.

All hotels can have glitches at times...and as with the computer issue on that Friday night, it is how the staff responds that will set the tone. Our staff has won numerous awards and have been at the top in all Best Western Survey questions. So it doesn't surprise us that they came through in spades.

Again: I want to thank you for taking the time to fill out the Trip Advisor report. It is something that is shared with the entire staff on a daily basis. We hope to see you on your next trip to Indio--and who knows, maybe when the Dodgers get in the World Series.

One can hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Although it is a bit hard to find the first time (you have to cross over Indio Blvd. and then double back), it is worth it. We stay here when we are heading to the coast or to visit family in California, and we do not want to drive all the way at once. The staff is marvelous, extremely helpful and friendly. They do all they can to accommodate requests. The rooms are being redecorated and are always spotless. The pool is fantastic - huge, open all the time, and separated from the rooms so there is no "pool noise" for people trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Annette M,

Reading a review like yours has us want to bellow out one vociferous refrain: Thank you! You really did, and with succinct and salient clarity, sum up what we are trying to promulgate to each and every guest on a daily basis. That being: superior customer service that is genuine and full of alacrity; clean and spacious rooms that are constantly being upgraded and remodeled; and a grounds and pool area that are truly inviting.

While we are not the "newest" hotel in Indio....we feel we are without question the best hotel in Indio. No hesitation. No ambiguity. No pause. We take great pride in our staff and our rooms--and we are always improving and redecorating the hotel on a yearly basis. And this year saw us put in new carpet in all hallways, new wallpaper on all interior walls, new pillow-top beds, new pool furniture, and new granite vanities in all guest rooms. So yes: we do not sit still--and we will always be looking for ways to make the Best Western Date even more exciting and salubrious to our guests.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor--and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Indio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast is more than what we expected, rooms are clean and quiet (ask for a room towards the backyard), parking is free and lots of spaces available even for trucks - we would recommend this Hotel, if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niklaus_ammann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Niklaus_ammann,

Just wanted to take moment and thank you for taking the time(and effort)to post your thoughts and observations about the Best Western Date Tree Hotel. It really is due to reviews such as these that help us to modify and fine tune our operations.

Bottom line: we want each and every guest to feel that we have exceeded all of their expectations. And we will be passing along your comments to all of our staff members. We hope the rest of your vacation went well--and we look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Indio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We had amazing service and Randy was spot on when he checked us in. He was super personal and engaging. This property could easily get even better scores once they remodel. The carpet in our room was fraying and stained, the bathroom door was warped, and the mattress could use to be replaced. Overall this is a nice property despite these flaws. Breakfast was excellent and the room was Clean!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

jandx,

First and foremost: thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We cannot stress how important this is for us--to see how we are doing in the minds of our customers. And your comments about Randy will be passed along to him. Randy is known for his customer service acumen and alacrity...and we are overflowing with customer comments praising his professionalism and effervescence.

That said: Randy never gets tired(nor do we)of hearing these sort of compliments.

As for the issue on remodeling: we have replaced all of our beds with new pillow top mattresses this summer--and are putting in new granite vanities in all our rooms this summer. We basically renovate every summer--and are never at rest in improving and updating our hotel. That said: I would really appreciate it you could call the hotel directly and speak to me on the issue with your specific rooms. We want to address this ASAP!

Once again, thanks for the review. And for letting us know what we are doing right--and what we dropped the ball on.

We do hope that we will see you on your next trip out to Indio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indio
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Indio
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Indio
Days Inn Indio
#5 of 16 in Indio
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Plaza Inn
Royal Plaza Inn
#10 of 16 in Indio
152 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Date Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Date Tree Hotel

Address: 81909 Indio Blvd, Indio, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92201-2038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Indio
Price Range: £76 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Date Tree Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Date Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indio
Indio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing