We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS HOTEL IS A RIP OFF”
Review of Royal Plaza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Plaza Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Whittier, California
1 review
“THIS HOTEL IS A RIP OFF”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I paid in advance for a 1 nt stay w/friends. Left the rm at 11am. Called & chkd out. The following day they charge my card $110. Their answer, WE NEVER LEFT. Claimed that I still had stuff in the room when checked 3 HOURS after I left. They refuse to refund me my money nor do they care about the situation at hand. When asked for them to review their video the response was we dont have video in that hall. THIS IS A SCAM.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Meranda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    38
    13
    17
    34
See reviews for
24
36
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2011

In January we were playing in the Lacrosse tournament over at the Empire polo grounds and we stayed at Royal Plaza Inn for the first time. Normally we are in one of the brand hotels in Palm Desert. To my surprise Royal Plaza offered us a great low rate despite being the nearest hotel to the Polo fields which resulted in a hugh savings for all the parents and coaches. Also, Both the front desk staff and housekeeping went out of their way to cater for our smallest and sometimes unsual needs. In short, we were treated like one of their family. This makes a big difference over the expensive brand hotels. Despite being an older property the rooms were clean and spacious. We will definitely be there again next year in bigger groups."

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stay at this hotel frequently. My business is usually at the court house in Indio, CA. The court house is only a couple of blocks away. The location is perfect, is on the main, major, street in the desert that crosses all the cities from Indio all the way to Palm Springs. The service that I get is excellent, nothing has change since the first time i stayed here. I've stayed in different rooms and all of them have been confortable. Now that I am a regular, I just call and a room is reserve no matter at what time, the night agent and.or Manager are always available. On several occasions they have allowed me to stay a couple of hours more after check out. I strongly recommend this hotel for its location and the flexibility that the service extends to you when needed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efigs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I thought these types of motels only existed in movies - the terrifying, slasher-type of movies.

When my boss and I arrived, we were greeted at the front desk with a welcoming, "What do you want?" We got our rooms on the first floor with a beautiful view of a barbed-wire covered brick wall with a plastic bag full of dog feces on our back "patio". The sliding glass door would not close all the way and was held in place by a flimsy chain.

The comforter of my bed was splattered with some black substance (possibly blood - by this point, it was completely conceivable) and the floor was coated with a fine layer of crushed animal crackers. The room did not have a coffee maker, although they threatened to charge me for one if it happened to be missing from my room at the end of the stay. There was no control over the heat/cooling system. The front office controlled whether or not the "heat" or the "cool" tube was being fed to your room - archaic. If you happened to get cold, they supplied a small space heater. If you were too warm, you could open the sliding glass door and risk getting shot or raped.

There were three good things about this hotel: 1. It was only two minutes away from the Empire Polo Club where we were working all weekend. 2. It got us out of Indio to explore civilization in the beautiful Palm Desert that's located twenty minutes away, just so we would spend the least amount of time possible in the disgusting hotel. 3. The woman at the reception SMILED at us once! It looked as if it pained her to do it, and it only lasted half of a second, but I'm fairly certain it was a smile!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BexterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Indio hotels

San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My husband booked two rooms for myself and a couple of teenagers for sporting event at the Polo fields up the road, not until we checked in did I read the reviews here on TA. Most were either very good, 5 star or very bad 1 star.... how could this be? Well in a nut shell:
The good: Nice customer service, though the manager obviously has a very strong business personality and I could instantly see how she could rub people the wrong way... aside from that I was greeted with a smile, and even offered late check out when I mentioned the boys needed to shower after their game.
The location is along the main business / restaurant district and there is a ton of places within walking distance, Panda Express, Togos, Starbucks, Donut shop, to just name a few. Right next door is an amazing restaurant named Cactus jacks that is very popular with the locals, packed on Sat. for dinner, and the parking lot was full again for Sunday morning breakfast... I had the entree salad with steak and it was the best salad ever.
My bed was comfortable and I slept great. The room came equipt with a basket full of sample toiletries including toothpaste, shampoos, facial cleansing wipes, and even a
fancy razor.
OK the bad: No getting around it - this place is kinda spooky. A bad version of a 70's style motel six. Our room had a small patio overlooking the side parking lot, complete with barbed wire fencing. The pool was ice cold, but even if it was heated was not inviting. In our hotel room was a polite sign threatening to charge items missing from the room - pillows $25. Clock radio $25- ours had no clock so I had to ask the manager to make sure I wasn't charged. Although the bed was comfy - I like firm, the comforters were old and dingy. The armoire for the tv had a built in fridge that was barely cold, and only held drink cans. Glad I didn't bring any bulky snaks. (It had a Sheraton logo inside the door, second hand furniture).
I can see how the reviews were all over the map. If you stay here - come prepared and set your expectations low so you won't be disappointed, and eat next door Cactus Jacks comfort food to help.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We were looking for a nice clean place to stay in Indio on a budget and the
Royal Plaza Inn fit our bill nicely. They had very comfortable rooms with
the best amenity basket I've ever seen in a motel. The pool and Jacuzzi
was a fun and restaurant was a real treat.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbrown987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1954
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I am am member of Los Medicos Voladores (The Flying Doctors) and have participated in the bi-annual Coachella Valley Unified School District's Health Fair for the past 5 years. I have always stayed at the Royal Plaza Inn, and have had the pleasure of staying in many different rooms; upstairs with a balcony, downstairs near my car, and poolside. Each and every one of these stays was a treat. The rooms are the largest you will find anywhere, with large televisions, refrigerators, hairdryers, and microwaves. There is always a basket of goodies waiting (samples of various toiletries, as well as the usual hair supplies, and a razor!), the rooms are spotless, the pool is clean and the hot tub is hot! The staff is professional and efficient, there is always coffee in the morning, and the restaurant next door serves the best Eggs Benedict on earth! I would stay there any time I am traveling along Highway 10 or in the area for an event. This is the best deal anywhere near Palm Springs, and not far from the Casino! Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rawaybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indio hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Indio
Days Inn Indio
#5 of 16 in Indio
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Date Tree Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Indio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Indio Travelodge
Indio Travelodge
#13 of 16 in Indio
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Indio
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Indio
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Inn

Property: Royal Plaza Inn
Address: 82347 US Highway 111, Indio, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92201-5657
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Plaza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Indio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing