We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No so pleased” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Plaza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Plaza Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Indio
las Vegas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No so pleased”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

After arriving in our room, I noticed a sign notifying guest of charges for items in the room if missing. Included on the list were an alarm clock, iron and coffee maker. (I was disappointed not to have those items) I was very disturbed at the charges since these items were not in the room. I called and was told, oh no, don't worry about those items. The sink and toilet did not drain very well and only luke warm water in the shower were dislikes. Also, the towels were very low quality, small and rough. I do not feel this hotel is worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    38
    13
    17
    30
See reviews for
22
35
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked this based on their web page, pictures and comments. Greatly disappointed! The room was dirty, the door had a large gap all the way around it, we didn't think the door would stay locked. The chair had mysterious stains on it, as did the ottoman, there was no closet, no hangers, the shower didn't work well, and some of the people hanging about outside drinking beer made us nervous. Would not stay here again and suggested they update their website. We left early the next morning still tired and weary. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthagor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Indio hotels

Columbia,IL
Level Contributor
626 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

David was the agent at our check in and he was great!. Recommendation on where to eat and visit Shields Date Farm. Room reasonable and for the price we went to sleep happy. The location off the path added to the quiet location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollinsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Location is perfect for the Desert,They have the best restaurant and bar in town,it's very close to the polo club and other sports activities. My room was big with all the necessary kitchen equipments and with a great mountains view. Ben.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I had an unexpected delay on a trip and needed to spend the night in Indio. It was Friday after New Year's and understandably a busy time. I was happy to get a room for a reasonable rate. The front desk staff was nice.

The room available was upstairs, no elevator. I went to pick up something to eat and when I returned there was NO parking. I drove through the lot a couple of times hoping someone would leave. I finally parked in front of the office and asked about parking. The desk clerk said people would be leaving the restaurant next door by 10 pm. I told him I was tired and didn't want to wait that long to move my car and there was no where to put it in the meantime. He told me I could park next to the curb just ahead of the office. That was convenient for lugging my bags upstairs, but to be on the safe side I put my steering wheel lock on and set the alarm.

Finally settled in my room and ready to eat my salad, I discovered there was no hand soap. I called the front desk and was told there was some there if I could come down. Sadly, there was no soap available there, but I was given more shampoo.

The air conditioning worked well, which was a plus. The place could use a face lift. it's pretty dated and worn.

At least it was somewhat convenient to my destination.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingADream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed there one night as we were traveling along I-10. It is off the beaten path and therefore quiet. The room was clean and the price was reasonable. No complaints. The staff was accommodating although we didn't interact with them very much as we arrived late and left early. I was attracted to the "no fee for cancellation" policy although we didn't use it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank arizonawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
268 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Went to Indio for a square dance weekend and stayed at the Royal Plaza. Third visit to Indio for dancing and definitely recommend this property for lodging. The staff is awesome! Price is reasonable with the square dance discount and you get a free hot breakfast each day. The breakfast bar has many choices and the food is from Cactus Jacks restaurant hot and fresh every morning.

Walking distance to several eating establishments and even a grocery store to stock the in room refrigerator with.

Property is a bit old and worn, but is maintained well.

Overall great value for the stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs facing the pool seems to be the quietest area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indio hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Indio
Days Inn Indio
#5 of 16 in Indio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Indio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Indio Travelodge
Indio Travelodge
#11 of 16 in Indio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 16 in Indio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Indian Palms Vacation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Inn

Property: Royal Plaza Inn
Address: 82347 US Highway 111, Indio, CA 92201-5657
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Indio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Plaza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Indio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing