We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tradewinds Airport Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$170
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diamond Inn(Inglewood)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
6
20
27
17
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
20
27
17
112
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS PLACE IF YOU CARE ANYTHING AT ALL ABOUT YOURSELF. JumpReno's review was dead on. I wish I had read it before going. I had booked this hotel on Expedia.com based on location, pictures, and price. We got into L.A. very late at night and had a really hard time finding the place because it was not at 4229 W Century Blvd. Down the street at 4300 W Century Blvd. we found a place that read "Trade Winds Adventurer --- Backpacker's Paradise Hostel". Check out my uploaded photos. We prayed this place wasn't it, but when we went in and showed them our itinerary they said it was, that they'd moved and it hadn't been changed on Expedia's website. The place was filled with drifters and backpackers. The overall general feeling was very dark, and though they put us in a "suite", the crack around the door was anywhere from a half inch to two inches depending on the place. The parking was totally inadequate. They put our car in a private lot that was four deep and four across, with our car at the front. When we checked out, five days early, it took them forty-five minutes to move all the cars to let us out. As we were waiting, a clerk at the desk was talking to two young European girls. He was trying to persuade them to stay on longer. It sounded like kids backpacking across the country stop here and clean rooms in exchange for their room. They are not regular employees and pay no taxes nor have local addresses. Who can trust that their belongings are going to be in the room when they get back at the end of the day? I called Expedia and told them what had happened that very day and they said they'd cancel the charges, but it showed up on my credit card anyway. Apparently, the general manager claims that we stayed the full six days, the liar, even though I have a receipt showing that we did check out. The whole thing has been a nightmare experience from the moment we laid eyes on the place. DON'T EVER STAY HERE! SLEEP IN YOUR CAR INSTEAD!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Let see, like most we were only trying to get a few hours of sleep before heading to LAX. We booked it through Expedia (not sure if they like there reputation too much, but this place will ruin them) and booked a single Queen room. When we got there, it was to say the least scary. The lobby looked like something out of the movies from 1970.

Well, like dumb dumbs we decided it easier to stay than to go somewhere else. Our first room was a double room with two queens. The bathroom window was broke and allowed night air in and whatever else wanted in. The room was discusting, and the mattresses were both broke down beyond belief.

We asked for a refund, and they refused. Probably because they would have no guests then. They gave us another room. The clerk called it a bungelow. That was a hoot, it was just as bad, only bigger. So I called Expedia. They called the hotel, and they told Expedia the General Manager would have to make any refund decisions. He or she was conveniently not available. Back to square one. The gave us "The Honeymoon Suite". It looked like a room out of a cheap porno film from the 70's. Roaches on the refrigerator, round bed with no pillows except for the decor pillows, timer on the heater etc. We heard incoming and departing planes to LAX and sirens. (probably gang shootings).

THIS PLACE WAS STRAIGHT OUT OF THE PROJECTS OR THE HOOD. IF YOU WANT TO FEEL LIKE A PORN STAR STRUGGLING TO SURVIVE IN THE STREETS OF LA YOU WILL LOVE IT. OTHERWISE, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. HORRIFIC!!!!!!!!

The staff was also a joke.

We ended up leaving and went somewhere else. The Motel 6 just west towards the 405 was not too bad for $59.00.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thacker1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The hotel room was nice, but the staff indicated that the room we booked for and payed for were not really the same. We booked through booking.com and found the hotel priceworthy and close to LAX.

Free shuttle is a plus.

This is not a family-kind-of-Hotel, put priceworthy to travelers with a finite wallet. Preferably younger people.

Compared to the other cheap hotels we tried in LA, SF and SLC this one was a really nice one. One bad thing with this hotel is that it is far to walk to the subway and finding bus stops and time tables are not as easy as in Europe. LA public transports are however, much nicer than expected.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedalAsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Stayed for three nights in early October 2010. The staff were rude and obnoxious, tried to charge us $67 USD for a double room, after we booked online for $50USD. Eventually we were granted the online rate of $50USD after much negotiation. The next day when we went to move to the hotel next door, we were offered $45USD for a double room, which is the same price as 2 dorm beds ($22 USD PP). For ease, we decided to remain at the Tradewinds, in room 210.

After the second night, although my girlfriend managed to escape, I was riddled with bedbug bite, we found bloody patches all through our bed and a swarm of remaining bed bugs. In the following few days, my underarm, chest and back swelled up into welts. We moved rooms to room number 208.

We received no further bites in room 208, however we are unsure whether room 210 has been fumigated? With the exception of the housekeeping manager, the staff were really nasty and unhelpful. They even accused us of causing the infestation?

As a result of the bites, Ihreceived permanent scarring on my chest, underarm and back. This hotel is expensive and the living environment is unhealty.

I would recommend that travellers ring the hotel reception and request a shuttle pickup from LAX to Tradewinds, to take advantage of the free shuttle to West Century Boulevard. Then visit Tradewind's reception to laugh at the surly and incompetent reception staff, Finally walk down the road and get a private hotel room. This is only recommended during daylight hours, as West Century Boulevard isn't really that safe after dark.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petja220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

When we arrived in our hotel we expect a clean bathroom.... nothing was further from the truth!!! There were still some hairs on the bath tub and on the toilet! When we informed the reception about this and asked if they could check this with housekeeping their aswer was: "When haven't left the reception yet today. We don't know if it has been cleaned." We could look for the housekeeping ourselves!

At night it was very difficult to sleep as there were airplanes flying over every 10minutes or so... you really need earplugs to have a good night rest. But it is ideal if you need to get to the airport fast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityTripGirL_RoX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews