We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good option.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inglewood Plaza Inn
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Inglewood
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Not a good option.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a noisy hotel. The next building is arms length away and has dogs that bark continually if the owner is not home, I presume, because it can go on for hours and hours and then stops. There is also airplane noise which I expected, but the street noise even in back comes right through.

Main complaint is the internet didn't work AT ALL!!! I don't carry a smart phone so to me having a hotel with internet you can actually use is SO important. The guy at lobby window did let me sit in the side room to use internet which was nice but having it when you need it and in your room is worth paying extra for elsewhere.

I spent a lot of time at McDonalds after that so I could use internet.

The hotel seems to harbor mostly longer term boarders. Marijuana smoke drifted out of the room nearest mine. I never once saw anyone come or go that looked like a regular traveler-yet im sure they have some. I just didn't see one.

I found the bed to be fine for this price range hotel. The room was large. A waste basket in the bathroom or area of sink though would be helpful. The only one is at the entry to the room.

I was concerned the small lot would fill up if I left later for dinner but the lady at the desk said don't worry! She was right. It does have free parking. Some hotels charge! They have a service that stops by for the airport at $10, but I had a car.

There is no elevator. You carry your bags up steps. 42 steps up to my floor....yea I counted them 4 x 8 and then a 10! Some people with health issues or of advanced years could have real trouble here.

Some peoples reviews here said unsafe. I didn't see anyone lurking though that looked like a danger inside the hotel property. The area is heavily Mexican/Salvadoran so you have some good eating options out there too for those willing to go beyond the average American comfort zone. Some of the taco trucks on Inglewood Blvd are highly rated on here and they had quite a crowd. I didn't try them as it was cold, and dark, but next time Im going to the trucks!

I don't know if they put out breakfast or not. Usually they tell you something on checkin as to hours and location. He said nothing, but I later saw a set up when I used the internet there. So maybe they do. However with no internet I was off to McD to eat where I could use internet.

The manager told me they were working on their internet, ETHOSTREAM to get it working right then...but nothing ever changed. Still didn't work the next day either.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    19
    17
    38
See reviews for
21
25
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed here in late October this year for a single night on layover after arriving from Australia.
The room was very clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. However, the room light was motion activated, it seems and would randomly turn on during the night and wake me up.

The staff were wonderfully accommodating, even allowing me to check in at around 9 am. The taxi fare from LAX to the airport is around $20 from the airport and $15 to the airport.

The hotel has free wifi, which was sadly horrible. Would drop out constantly and the speeds were just as bad. I literally had faster internet speeds in Australia back in 2000. I would suggest that they invest in some better wifi repeater hardware. If the hotel management wants to reach out to me, I could suggest some alternatives.

The breakfast was quite spartan, with danishes and coffee with some sort of whitening powder. We don't have "creamer" in Australia, so I found it quite terrible. For the love of god guys, please supply real milk for the coffee.

On the flip side, there are several places where you can get decent takeaway food for dinner, as well as a Target a few blocks past the casino, as well as many other stores for whatever you need in the immediate vicinity.

Overall, I was quite happy with my stay and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelziBhaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Firstly we stood in reception ringing the bell for nearly 15 minutes, had to ring the phone in the end, a dirty scruffy man came out hardly said two words to me, even when I said we had been
standing there for ages. As for the room not very clean and very shabby. bedding needs a good
wash, I would not use the blankets. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cludasdulac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timesh_p, General Manager at Inglewood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
First and foremost I would like to apologize for the experience you encountered while visiting my hotel we have been working very hard to maintain a clean and comfortable hotel for all our guest. This issue will be taken seriously and I would like to take this time to offer you a discounted stay in the future and you will see the problems have been addressed.


Best regards,

Tim patel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed here recently--needed a place near LAX for an early morning flight, and I had some Choice Hotel points I could use. Well...I should have just payed for a decent hotel rather than waste my points on this "hole". It's probably the least kept-up hotel I've ever stayed at. There were holes in the drywall; no hot water, the receptionist was behind a barrier so as not to get robbed or shot (I suppose), the airport shuttle consisted of the 2nd receptionist taking me to the terminal in his old Camero. I suppose this place could be worth the stay if the cost was, say, $10/night. Look elsewhere!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timesh_p, General Manager at Inglewood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Joel

I want to first apologize for the stay you experienced at my property we are currently undergoing management changes and will make sure no one will ever endure an experience like the one you had. You have my word these issues will ALL be addressed the next time you are in the area call the hotel ask for Tim and I guarantee you will have experience the service you deserve and we will exceed your expectations.

Tim,
General Manager.
(310) 672-7285
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had a flight in the morning and decided we should stay as close to the airport as we can get within choice hotels options. The breakfast, indeed as the previous reviewer called, spartan, was quick and coffee was the finest addition. We used their printer and staff was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romulus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timesh_p, General Manager at Inglewood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us, Im glad to hear my staff was helpful but your thoughts are very important for running a great hotel so we will address the breakfast. Next time you visit La please come by ask for Tim I will gladly make sure your stay will exceed your expectations.

Tim
General Manager
(310) 672-7285
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I) HONEST CANCELLATION POLICY (a/o May 18, 2013...)

Originally, I wanted to stay at the Comfort Suites or at the Best Western Suites, which are closer from the airport and have a free shuttle. This would have given me an extra stay at either of my loyalty programs for the 2014 qualification.

Unfortunately, both of them have a very dishonest cancellation policy because they want you to cancel 24 hours before the arrival day, or you lose your money!

Dishonest, indeed, because every time that one of my flights has been cancelled (which happens more and more often nowadays!) it has never happened one day before, but always at the very last minute!

Unfortunately, more and more hotels are now adopting this utterly dishonest cancellation policy of one day (and even more in some places!) before the arrival date.

They get away with it simply because people accept it, until their flight is cancelled at the last minute; they lose their money and learn the hard way that they should never accept such a lion to monkey deal!

A few years ago, as I was checking in a hotel in San Luis Obispo (California), I witnessed a phone conversation between the hotel manager and an unfortunate passenger to whom this had just happened, and I heard the manager say that it was not the hotel's fault and that he couldn't do anything about it!

If everybody refused to accept this horrendous policy, as I always do systematically, those merchants would have to return to an HONEST DAY OF ARRIVAL CANCELLATION POLICY as at this Econo Lodge (BUT WARNING: only 4 pm the day of arrival, and not 6 or even 7 pm, as in Ibis or Best Western hotels in Europe!) or go out of business!

As a matter of fact, I am currently holding several reservations for Ibis hotels in Madrid (Spain), Salzburg and Vienna (in Austria, of course!) for June 2013 on a "courtesy hold basis", without giving any credit card number, the way it used to be just a few years ago!

II) GOOD VALUE AT $49.46 + tax

ROOM 321, that I got on Friday, May 18, 2013, for $49.46 plus tax including a small, Spartan breakfast, is an ordinary Econo Lodge one: half the size of room 735 at the Sheraton Four Points LAX and twice as big as my usual room at the "Lux Hotel" in Paris, where I pay twice as much without breakfast, but where I keep returning simply because it's the best value for money in Paris!

This Econo room 321 has a Queen bed with one nice big side table (three times as big as the ones I have in Paris) on each side.

It also has a nice round table with two (not very soft...) assorted club chairs that you will never find in France or England at less than $200 a night!, another assorted furniture with three drawers and an old style TV with front Composite connectors. There is also a folding luggage rack (nothing in common with the fancy wood luggage rack of the "Florida Norte Hotel" in Madrid, for which I posted a review already in TA) and plenty of space left to do your morning exercises, as it was the case in Madrid, but not in Paris!

This room 321 didn't have a refrigerator, but since my reservation said "queen room with refrigerator", I complained at the front desk and the night clerk brought it when I returned from the airport at 7 pm.

It would be a euphemism to say that the BATHTUB could suffer a deep cleaning... In fact, it is black and white, like the one of the apartment that I rent in Miami Beach was when I moved in ten years ago. However, after I scrubbed it two or three days a week and poured a couple of bottles of Clorox in it during several weeks, it eventually became white again. The same medicine would produce the same result on this BW tub... In the meantime, you may just keep your rubber beach slippers to get into it, holding the hand rail so that you don't slip.

We are here at the antipodes of the coconut white tub I had in room 353 at the Best Western "Hôtel de France" in Bourg-en-Bresse (France), for which I posted a review during my last trip there in June 2012: the best value for money in this famous gastronomic French little town, where I will return next month to celebrate my seventieth birthday with a good meal, hoping that they will give me the same room that I had last June.

When I returned the following week to this Econo Lodge LAX, I got room 307, which is much better because it is bigger, with a king bed, and has a HUUUGE BATHROOM. The biggest bathroom I've ever seen anywhere, including the double bathroom of my favorite suite at the Sheraton Four Points in Montevideo, where you have a Jacuzzi in one side and a big shower in the other. Well, this bath is even bigger, although without the Jacuzzi, naturally, and with another BLACK AND WHITE TUB...

Also, room 307 has a wide open view towards the West (LAX) because it is higher than all other buildings in the area.

BUT CAUTION: room 306, right next door, has a wall in front of the window!

III) FAIRLY GOOD LOCATION

This place is on CENTURY Boulevard between LA BREA & PRAIRIE.

Although it is farther from the airport than the Comfort Suites as I said, it still has a good location. It is true that it would be a euphemism to say that it's NOT a fancy neighborhood...

A FREE PUBLIC SHUTTLE will take you from the airport (all terminals) TO LAX BUS TERMINAL, where you can TAKE BUS 117 that will drop you virtually at the door; all you have to do then is cross Century Boulevard.

Get off at the first stop right after La Brea/Hawthorne Boulevards (Century divides both of them and you'll see a CVS at the corner of La Brea & Century). If you are a senior, you will only pay 25 cents to get there and 25 more to return to the airport.

To go back to LAX, 117 stops a few yards from the door of this Econo Lodge and will put you into the bus terminal in about fifteen minutes, where you take the FREE PUBLIC SHUTTLE "C" to all airport terminals.

Another ten or fifteen minutes and you are having your porn picture taken at the airport Security; unless you prefer to have a "love padding", or unless you are a "TSA Pre Screened", in which case you will avoid both...

That's what I did myself, because I preferred to pay 25 cents (as a senior, between 9 am and 3 pm and after 7 pm, and all day on weekends and holidays) rather than paying "mucho money" ($10 per trip!) for the private shuttle proposed by this Econo Lodge in their website.

On my first trip there, after I dropped my luggage in the room, I walked back to the bus terminal and took the shuttle to the airport, in order to get my boarding card for the next day. I returned the same way, just for the pleasure of the exercise. But it is true that I am already 69 years young. Many of my young FIU students could hardly follow...

This only took me a couple of hours each way, with a technical stopover to drink (and undrink) at a McDonald’s in front of the Holiday Inn, about half way, in each direction.

SEVERAL EATERIES open their doors, either on La Brea (where there is a CVS), or on Prairie, all within a walking distance.

Jack in the Box is only half a block away, towards Prairie, and you will find a McDonald’s, a Church’s and a Taco Bell fast food eateries less than two blocks from this Econo Lodge, at the corner of Century and Prairie.

There is also what seems to be a real restaurant right at the corner, on the other side of the street, at a cheap, all suites hotel called "Los Angeles Adventurer" (4200 W Century), where I would like to go but where I have never been because they also have a dishonest cancellation policy of one day before the day of arrival. Without that policy, I would have certainly tried that suite hotel already.

And if you take bus 117 towards the east, you will see a big shopping complex on both sides of Century, around the 3400s. That’s around the corner…

Unless you prefer to walk, as I did on Memorial Day and, as I was entering the complex twenty minutes later, the bus was still a couple of blocks away.

In this big shopping, you will see a HUUUGE BUFFET in a place called “Royal Buffet” for which I also posted a review here.

IN SHORT, this Econo Lodge is very far from fancier places BUT it is CHEAP and fairly well maintained. Except for the black and white tub (which could become all white after falling on four legs and scrubbing, scrubbing, scrubbing with lots and lots of Clorox...) I have no complaints about the rest.

EXCEPT that, unlike Motel 6 or the Sheraton Four Points, it has a BAD NOISE INSULATION. This means that it is NOISY DAY AND NIGHT, and you will hear all sorts of noises, from birds singing at 4 am to people TALKING and WALKING on the hall outside the room or going down the stairs (right next to room 321), to ambulances blowing their SIRENS 24 hours a day, and PLANES landing or taking off.

Here, also, we are at the antipodes of the IBIS LHR (London Heathrow airport), where I didn't hear the slightest noise from planes landing one block away from my window. If you are going to London, you may want to read my review, posted here in March 2013.

WARNING! As I have already noticed in several hotels in California, there are ROOMS WITH A WALL 5 feet from the window, as I wrote already!!!

I therefore suggest that you SEE the room BEFORE checking in and opening your skinny wallet.

Skinny wallet, indeed, because if it was fat..., you wouldn't be reading this review!

Room Tip: WARNING: several rooms like x06 have a WALL IN FRONT of the window. Rooms 307, 308 and 309 have a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efrin_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timesh_p, Owner at Inglewood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
hello,

I want to thank you for taking the time to leave your input about your stay and I am delighted to here you enjoyed your stay, however I also see you experience a few things that fell below your standards and for that I apologize we are undergoing new management and operations and next time you visit La come stay with us I will personally make sure to exceed your expectations.

Tim Patel
General Manager/owner
(310) 672-7285
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I just needed to stay the night, my flight was getting in at 11 PM and I needed to leave early in the morning anyways, so I wasn't particularly picky about what I booked, so I just went for the cheapest thing available. But for the money ($55 with tax), I have seen better hotels. I know the area is expensive, but this Econo Lodge was below-par in my book - the location is rather "sketchy", I didn't feel safe (the hallways, parking area are poorly lit). The building itself is rather old and run down, the rooms were clean, however the TV was extremely old and the bed wasn't all too comfortable. In the morning I went to get breakfast, all they had were bananas, apples, something like hot pockets, and coffee. Not a very filling breakfast.

Anyways, bottom line: not thrilled, but it got me through the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timesh_p, Manager at Inglewood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
hello,

I would like to apologize for the bad experience you had while staying at my hotel, we are now undergoing new management and will address all the issues you faced. Next time you visit our property you will be very impressed with the changes call me personally and I will make sure you get taken care of.

Tim Patel
General Manager
(310) 672-7285
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inglewood hotels
0.8 mi away
Value Inn Worldwide
Value Inn Worldwide
#9 of 32 in Inglewood
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Inn Suites & Spas - LAX
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#14 of 32 in Inglewood
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hollywood Inn Express LAX
Hollywood Inn Express LAX
#16 of 32 in Inglewood
166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Los Angeles Airport - LAX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Plaza Inn

Property: Inglewood Plaza Inn
Address: 4123 W Century Blvd, Inglewood, CA 90304-1619 (Formerly Econo Lodge Near LAX)
Region: United States > California > Inglewood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Inglewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Inglewood Plaza Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inglewood Plaza Inn Near LAX is conveniently located just minutes from the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), and next door to The newly renovated Great western Forum. This Inglewood, CA hotel is just minutes from all Los Angeles beaches, such as Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach, Santa Monica Beach, the Santa Monica Pier, Manhattan Beach, Marina del Rayand King Harbor Marina . Just a short drive away, one will find Grauman's Chinese Theatre, theHollywood Walk of Fame, Griffith Observatory, the J. Paul Getty Museum, Universal Studios Hollywood, Knott's Berry Farm and Disneyland. Pepperdine University, the University of California, Los Angeles and the University of Southern California are all just minutes away.The Inglewood Plaza Inn near LAX, an Inglewood Hotel in california offers convenient access to area shopping malls, a variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges. Theaters, entertainment and nightlife are minutes away. Visitors will also enjoy shopping at the nearby Del Amo Mall and the Third Street Promenade in downtown Santa Monica.Guests of the Inglewood Plaza Inn Los Angeles International Airport Hotel in Inglewood, CA will enjoy a 24-hour airport transportation, free breakfast, free parking and standard amenities like hair dryers, refrigerators, irons and ironing boards. Handicap accessibleand non-smoking rooms are also available. Our business travelers will appreciate High speed internet access and access to printing and fax machines. So whether your traveling for business or pleasure, Our around the clock staff is dedicated to making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The Inglewood Plaza Inn Near LAX is the perfect location for anyone visiting the Inglewood area. Experience world-class hospitality when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inglewood Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Near Lax Hotel Inglewood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing