We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful retreat in the Point Reyes area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inverness Secret Garden Cottage
Ranked #2 of 10 Inverness B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Blissful retreat in the Point Reyes area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful mini-retreat at the Inverness Secret Garden Cottage. The cottage, garden, and the temple-like gazebo were simply magical. We could have sat in the gazebo for hours contemplating the view, the peace, the hooting of nearby owls, and the buzzing of hummingbirds. We enjoyed wandering in the garden, too; It has a delightful variety of plants, and I'm glad we were there while many were in bloom. We hope to return soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fildog, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your unique review; you have discovered the optional activities at the bath house, besides bathing! Great place to experience the calm environment and experience the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
77
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I have never been so awestruck...and saying to myself, "I'm going to stay here"!! I felt as tho I was stepping onto a pallet of art! Not only is it gorgeous but Phil and Patsy gave us privacy & took care that we had everything we needed. I loved being in the woods and yet close to every where we wanted to go. I certainly felt recharged after our stay at "The Secret Garden Cottage" August 14-22, 2013. Phil suggested alot of places to eat and hike. We did all of them and I couldn't be happier...by the way, the food is excellent no matter where you go!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fildog, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
It was a pleasure hosting your 8 day stay - that's almost long enough to be a part-time Inverness resident! We appreciate the care and attention you gave to the cottage. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Phil, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I had the pleasure of spending two nights in the cottage a few weeks back and it was truly a memorable stay. First, Point Reyes is one of my favorite treasures in the Bay Area. The cottage perfectly captures the magic of the environment. It's just a stones throw from Tomales Bay SP (you can even access a hiking trail just up the road from the cottage) and a quick drive to Point Reyes National Seashore. The cottage is embraced in the regions rugged beauty, however, it is fully equipped, tastefully decorated, and run by a wonderful couple. We only had the chance to meet Phil who truly understands hospitality. He is warm and helpful and walked us through everything we needed for our stay in the cottage, and also shared information regarding the area and things to do. There space was also filled with wonderful touches - slippers, cozy robes, breakfast fare (cereal, coffee, fruit), and even an outdoor soaking tub! I should also add the it was immaculate - from the lines to the floor. It is evident that the owners take pride in this space and fully embrace their guests. While the area does boast some nice accommodations, unless I was camping, I can't imagine staying anywhere else! Thank you Phil!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYNY10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fildog, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a comprehensive and well-done review. We do encourage guests to experience the seldom-used Johnston Trail in Tomales Bay State Park, so close and a perfect way to start your day without getting into your car. We look forward to your return visit! Sincerely, Patsy & Phil, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at the Inverness Secret Garden Cottage for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. The cottage, garden, and owners are perfect. The view is expansive and fine.

The cottage is well-designed, well-stocked, and well-kept. It is beautiful. Though the owners, Phil and Patsy, live nearby, it is very quite and serene.

The two acres of garden is fantastic. I wonder how the owners have the energy to maintain it.

The bathhouse is secluded in the garden (there is a regular bathroom in the cottage). A Buddha face is on the fence nearby.

We visited places nearby. It was lovely.

My husband and I plan to return for a visit soon.

Room Tip: There is one room--a large one. The whole cottage includes the sleeping area, the sitting area, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank declectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fildog, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your excellent review! We especially appreciate this review, since you are listed as a TA TOP CONTRIBUTOR with 59 reviews in 25+ cities!! You are obviously a traveler, who gets around. Happy 50th Anniversary!! We look forward to you next visit. Our special anniversary gift to you is an additional 10% discount on you next visit! Sincerely, Phil & Patsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We went back recently for another three-day stay at the ISGC. If possible, it seemed even more enjoyable than last year. The setting is perfect, quiet, up the hill from the main thoroughfare of Inverness, beautiful view of Tomales Bay, eleven minutes from Abbotts Lagoon in one direction, less than a half hour from Limantour Beach in the other direction, and fifteen minutes from Perry's Deli in Inverness Park, a wonderful store for sandwiches, dinners, and produce. Phil and Patsy are perfect hosts, there if you need them, not obtrusive if you do not. Their granola comes stocked in the kitchen, and it's fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnieDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fildog, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We also appreciate your return visit; this time you were very fortunate to have received a x-mas gift lodging certificate from your daughters! What a great gift! We hope to see you again on your next Pt. Reyes trip. Cheers! Phil and Patsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

With gorgeous gardens tended lovingly and expertly by the owners, Phil and Patsy, this is the ideal setting for a peaceful, private stay in West Marin. The views of Tomales Bay from both inside the cottage and out are simply stunning. The cottage itself is well-equipped, charming, and extremely clean. We have stayed here several times and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkkmtnview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fildog, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you! for the special review you have submitted! We really appreciate your return visits and the chance to talk about plants and garden design. Sincerely, Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Honestly, is there a more perfect "hide away" to stay for the ultimate in privacy and relaxation? The lush garden setting atop a hill overlooking Tomales Bay is so tranquil, it really seems surreal....like a magical place you would only find in a romantic movie. The owners have thought of every detail to make your stay trouble free. The soaking tub is ideal for lounging and your favorite bottle of wine. Excellent hiking trails to remote beaches are just at the end of the road. Or take the drive to explore the Point Reyes National Seashore's beaches. Don't miss out dining at the new Saltwater restaurant only about a mile at the bottom of the hill. Or shop at the newly expanded Perry's Deli and bring supper back to your nest. Superb hospitality is abound in Inverness! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fildog, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank You!! Eric! for your excellent and articulate review! You not only have a unique expertise with wine selections, but your perspective on our B&B cottage was very well written. We appreciate your return business and the recommendation you had included on your Wine Consultant newsletter. We look forward to your next visit! Cheers! Phil and Patsy, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
6.9 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
16.6 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ten Inverness Way
Ten Inverness Way
#4 of 10 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.7 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.5 mi away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#4 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverness Secret Garden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverness Secret Garden Cottage

Property: Inverness Secret Garden Cottage
Address: 501 Via de La Vista, Inverness, CA 94937-0725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded, bed and breakfast retreat adjacent to Point Reyes National Seashore and Tomales Bay State Park in Marin County Calif. Village of Inverness; located only 1 hour north of SF. Access numlerous park hiking trails, explore ocean beaches, and view abundant wildlife. Extensive ornamental gardens, private parking and entrance, bay views, fireplace,WiFi, TV/DVD/CD, self-serve continental breakfast, large deck, outdoor claw-foot soaking tub, 1 bdrm, 1 bath studio design with fully equipped kitchen. Rates: $225/nt weekdays; $250/nt Fr,Sa, Sun. Weekly: $1365 ($195/nt),3 night minimum holidays. 10% County hotel tax extra. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverness Secret Garden Cottage California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing